We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous setting and exceptional service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #11 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our experience with this property began at the Cape Town airport, where we were greeted by the driver the hotel had sent to meet us. Little did we know that this was going to be our personal driver for the duration of our stay, but in light of the fact that he was very personable and very knowledgable about the city and surrounding areas, it proved to be the first of many excellent encounters with the staff. The reception staff was very welcoming and efficient, giving us a tour of the facilities along the way to our room. The room we chose when we booked had a view of Table Mountain, which was very beautiful to see first thing in the morning with the sun's early rays shining on it. Our room was in the older section of the hotel, yet was very spacious and well appointed. The concierge staff did a wonderful job of arranging the tours in which we were interested, and depsite several changes of plans, they never flinched, and all went without a hitch. Our driver took us wine tasting in Stellenbosch, down to Cape Point, and to various other venues -- keeping us totally entertained with history lessons and other interesting facts and stories along the way. The concierge arranged dinners for us at the restaurants we had picked through research on the Internet -- providing a few alternate suggestions where she felt we may have missed the mark. Her suggestions were always right on target with our likes. The breakfast buffet was extensive, and the hot breakfasts were all delicious as well. Afternoon tea is an event not to be missed. All in all, our stay at the Mount Nelson was one of best ever. Job very well done!!!! Definitely this will be our home away from home when we return to Cape Town!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GarSueNBTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,072 - 1,078 of 1,608 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

have to book early for this experience,the place was packed.
great ambience, quite posh.
tons of old character charm. very regal.
food was average.
this is a must if you are into teas and cake.
millions of tea options.
one of those have to do activities to get the T shirt.
can be a nice way to while away an afternoon with great company or things to do, like a book, iPhone. iPad.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank TravelFeetZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Located at the foots of the table Mountain in the heart of Cape Town, one of the oldest properties in the city, mount Nelson is a beautiful place to stay. beautiful gardens surround the property and its away from the noise of the waterfront. Take a higher floor room and you will have a nice view of the harbour as well. Great breakfast which we enjoyed throughly.

Room Tip: The newly renovated rooms on the top floor are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is one of the best, if not the best 'large' (ie. non-boutique) hotel I have ever stayed in. The reason for this is simple: the service is impeccable. We were upgraded to a superior room, which defnitely got the trip off to a great start. This is the kind of thing ALL hotels should do. Why not go the extra mile to impress your guests at no extra cost, giving them a room that is not booked anyways? In any case. Amazing. The beds are pure heaven. I actually wanted to inquire about purchasing the pillows and linens, but had no room to pack them for the rest of the trip. The courtesy car they have can take you the Waterfront, Table Mountain and a few other places for no charge. An amazing added bonus. The food is fantastic, with a great breakfast in the spectacular gardens. The concierge was flawless, booking us a rental car, securing Springbox tickets, anything we asked. Always professional and timely.
The grounds are lovely and quiet. Very secluded and we never heard any noise at all. There is really nothing I have to say that is negative other than the temperature in the room which was a bit warm, but this was easily solved by opening our patio and spending some time staring at Table Mountain.
Far superior to the V&A Waterfront, which is touristy and unauthentic. You can always hop a cab down there for dinner or shopping, but much better to stay at the MN. Also had dinner at The Planet, which was excellent.
Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlg092012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Given that I was the Public Relations Manager of this iconic pink hotel from 2008 to 2010, this review may appear to be somewhat biased. I must say though that despite my strong ties to the hotel, and despite having been fortunate enough to stay at and review luxury hotels around the world, Mount Nelson still never fails to surprise and delight me. My boyfriend and I celebrated the eve of his 30th birthday at the hotel this week. We arrived on a sunny winter afternoon and spent the afternoon playing Bananagram (a word game similar to Scrabble) and taking Afternoon Tea - a pastime the hotel is famous for (Afternoon Tea that is, not Bananagram). We sat on the verandah that leads off from the lounge - close enough to the tea table to keep our plates well-stocked with Executive Chef Rudi Liebenberg's more-ish mushroom empanadas, cucumber sandwiches and other tasty indulgences. Before we knew it the sun had started to dip below Signal Hill, so we pulled on jumpers and comfy shoes and set out to explore the neighbourhood on foot. With it's lush garden setting it's easy to forget that the hotel is located in the city centre. A hop across Orange Street and you're in Cape Town's green lung - the Company's Garden - and a short stroll down Government Avenue, links the hotel to the city's main streets for shopping and sightseeing. We perused Long Street and dodged the throng of customers spilling out from its bars and cafes onto the street and felt like tourists in our hometown. After having walked off our tea, we decided to indulge again, this time on pizza and pasta at Nona Lina - a low-key Italian eatery just round the corner from the hotel. We walked back to the hotel along Kloof Street and lingered in the hotel garden, under the clear starlit sky. Boyfriend's birthday hour was drawing near so we reclined on a couch by the fireplace at Planet Bar with nightcaps, and later moved outside onto the terrace to share a Montecristo No.5 under the stars. We retired to our suite in the main hotel building, overlooking the garden with its central fountain and fairy-lit palm trees. The recently refurbished junior suite felt exceptionally roomy and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious enough for me to take a bubble bath while the boyfriend showered, and we both loved the scent of the Plantation amenities, and their generous size. Boyfriend loved the convenient floor-lights in the bathroom and under the bedside table. We slept with the door to the juliet balcony open to the night sky and the tranquil fountain below lulling us to sleep. Breakfast was served in the lounge the next morning due to the Oasis wing and it's breakfast room being totally overhauled (the renovation is expected to be complete this October). We slept late and arrived as the breakfast spread was being cleared. The gracious staff let us fill our plates with the likes of bircher muesli topped with raspberry coulis, freshly baked pastries, fruit and cheese. We slowly sipped our tea and soaked up the sunshine on the terrace. Our time at Mount Nelson was brief but we departed feeling like we'd had a holiday. I'm often shocked to discover that many Capetonians have never set foot in the hotel grounds - a great shame since it's an institution that has played a great part in the city's history. It's not an everyday sort of place, but an occasional Afternoon Tea or a drink at Planet is reasonably accessible and so worth it to experience the beautiful setting and indulge one's nostalgia for a time when the highlife was all about elegance and refinement. In an age when provenance is the one ingredient that flash new hotels and eateries just cannot create or compete with, Mount Nelson is the real deal. For an experience you'll never forget: think pink.

Room Tip: The Garden Cottages are a great option for honeymooners and couples wanting a little more privacy. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benitakursan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

So there are a few things I need to point out first: I live in Cape Town and my house is about a 10 minute drive from the Mount Nelson yet I still make a point to stay there for a little R&R , mainly on special occasions.

My parents had taken me to the Nellie on quite a few occasions growing up for a Sunday lunch and then when I was older they would meet me there for a cocktail at the bar. I always loved the hotel, even declared at the age of 8 that I would live there when I grew up, but thought it was expensive and that I would not be able to afford it if my parents weren't treating.

My husband ( he was a boyfriend back then ) had recently become a fan of all those cooking shows ( think Ramsey, heston blumenthal, etc ) and I was subjected to watch all the shows with him. One evening we were watching a episode of Gorden's Ramseys where he talked about the chefs table he had at most of his restaurants and how great it was for the guests to experience a working restaurant. I was immediately inspired and decided that for my husbands 30th birthday I would organise a chef's table experience.

The next day I started looking at options and found that a chef's table, specially in Cape Town, is a rare find. On a last minute effort I emailed the Mount Nelson and received a prompt response saying that they do in fact have a chefs table and they would be able to create a special evening for the two of us. And this they did.

The cleared out the normal large table they have and put in a smaller more intimate one and we then had a evening I'll never forget. We had a chef, Colin, dedicated to cooking for only us for the evening along with our own waitron and a somilier for the evening. It was amazing! Think over 11 courses all paired with special wines.

It was so good that I booked the chefs table for the following month on my Dad's birthday and took the whole family. It has since become a tradition. We go , to the now planet restaurant, on every special occasion ( birthdays, anniversaries, celebrations, etc..). We don't only go to the Chef's table but also the main restaurant itself which is truly beautiful. The service is not lost and the staff are amazing.

Generally people think that the Nellie will cost a fortune but it is extremely reasonable. They have an amazing special on Mondays at the moment - R330 pp for 5 courses with wine pairing. I spend more than that at a Saints around the corner on burgers and a few cocktails!

There is no pretension from other guests or staff either which most people oddly assume you would get here.

We have been going to Planet bar and restaurant now for a few years and have gotten to know the staff quite well. They are an extraordinary group of individuals who take pride in what they do and make you feel welcome every time.

I've also stayed at the Nellie on a few occasions after my planned diners, best not to drink and drive even when I live so close, and the rooms are elegant and simply perfect.

If you are looking for anything special or just want to know you are getting quality and fantastic service - then go to the Nellie, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 312659HayleyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

8 nights at the Mount Nelson--all fantastic. The staff was professional yet friendly along all lines of work. The concierge assisted with multiple day trips over the course of our stay. We enjoyed afternoon tea (a must! especially the Bee Sting cake) several times while taking in the beautiful property sites. Both restaurants provided outstanding meal service during our stay but the Planet Restaurant was definitely an "over the top" experience. Great location to walk to local sights. Absolutely amazing room with phenomenal views of Table Mountain . . . highly recommend the Mount Nelson Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerSG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.6 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,098 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,660 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,785 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,325 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#41 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $398 - $759 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing