We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous in Every Way!”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #6 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2010

This must be one of the best hotels in the world. Everything about it was first class. The rooms were fabulous, laid out well, every amenity you could possibly want or think of, well lit (especially in the bathroom) and a wonderful view of the waterfront. The staff were terrific as well; friendly, smiling and exceedingly helpful. The concierge was able to get our luggage repaired within the day. The included breakfast was complete and very delicious. The one dinner we had there was also wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank my-stoffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,756 - 1,762 of 2,106 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2010

From check in to check out the service was impeccable. Nothing was too much trouble. The front desk staffs were all delightful and keen to help with booking tours etc.
The use of the hotel cars and chauffeurs was an absolute bonus, timed perfectly and available to take you anywhere within the city. The drivers were always punctual, courteous and very knowledgeable.
Can not fault this perfect hotel and will return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneCotswoldCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

We stayed at the Cape Grace for three nights on the final leg of our South African honeymoon. Immediately upon arrival, the staff was extremely courteous and helpful. They upgraded us to the penthouse suite, which was amazing. The hotel itself and the common areas are beautiful, but the rooms are gorgeous. The details are just perfect and you can see they paid attention to literally everything. Throughout our stay, the staff was fantastic in helping us make the best of our three days in Cape Town. They sent us to amazing restaurants, made complimentary cars available to take us to and from various spots in the city, etc. I really cannot speak highly enough of this hotel, and it is located in the Waterfront which we found to be an excellent place to stay during our trip (it is very easy to get to almost everything from there). Thank you to everyone at the Cape Grace for making our stay in Cape Town so special and memorable!

A couple quick notes about what we actually did in Cape Town that we enjoyed...first, we self-drove a lot of places...a little tricky driving on the opposite side of the road, but we managed and it was a good decision for us. On Saturday am, we went to the market at the Old Biscuit Mill which was super fun and a great place to just eat, drink and hang out and feel some of the local culture. Saturday evening, we ate at Jardine, and had an absolutely wonderful meal there (comparable quality to some of the best restaurants in NYC). We also dined at Constantia Uitzig (a winery) and also had lunch on the patio at Delair in Stellenbosch - great food and GORGEOUS views. We did the drive down to the Cape of Good Hope, making stops along the way in some of the beach towns and at the Penguin colony, and on the way home, ate dinner in Camps Bay during sunset, which was great. The drive from the Cape of Good Hope along the eastern coast is one of the most beautiful scenic drives I have ever taken - well worth doing!! Cape Town is extremely easy to navigate, so if you are considering renting a car it is very easy to make your way around the city, out to wine country, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amznyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Stayed at Cape Grace for one night before our African / Caribbean cruise with Regent, who had booked the hotel on our behalf. Excellent standard room, with it's view over the marina and Table Mountain. Hotel staff very fiendly and helpful. As a bonus, the Hotel was very well located being close to the V&A waterfront and it's many restaurants. Very restful start to our spring vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

I stayed at the Cape Grace with my parents and two sisters (16 and 21) over Christmas holiday for two nights in a 3-bedroom family room. Though we only stayed for such a short while, it was clear that the Cape Grace is a hotel of very high caliber.

The breakfast was delicious, and the restaurant in which it is served is also very nice. The seafood (and all other food) at the restaurant was very fresh and well-prepared. We also ordered room service for one meal, and all of our food was wonderful. It was a very nice touch to have pitchers of ice water with fruit in them at the pool. My sisters also very much enjoyed the 'Sugar Bar' mini-buffet of little desserts in the library.

The staff were very helpful and efficient, including being able to get us reservations at very exclusive restaurants at short notice, despite what a busy time of year it was. All of their recommendations were excellent. i also went for a massage at the spa, which was very nice (and the therapist listened to my requests and modified accordingly, so wasn't just following the same pattern for all guests).

As we ate breakfast at the restaurant both days and weren't in the area for much of the rest of the time, we didn't have a chance to try any of the nearby restaurants around the marina, but they all looked very nice. The views of that marina visible from Cape Grace and all its rooms was very beautiful (and not noisy). We had a wonderful time and I would certainly stay at the Cape Grace again were I to return to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkdaniela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

The Cape Grace could not be in a better location! You are in the heart of the V & A Waterfront, walking distance to shops, bars and restarurants. The Cape Grace is on it's own private quay, allowing for amazing views of the waterfront and Table Mountain.
Right form the second you walk in, it's luxury all the way! The reception area is small and personal, with amazing chandeliers, large couchs and antiques everywhere. My room (standard, entry level room) was very large with a dressing area and giant bathroom. I had views of Table Mountain and the harbour, overlooking a number of large yachts!
The Signal dining room where I had breakfast each morning (probably the best omlet I have ever eaten) was cozy and filled with decorative lighting. Great attention was paid to detail.
All of the staff was super friendly, from the doorman to the front desk to housekeeping! I would highly recommend this hotel for people that have a high budget and are looking for a smaller hotel feel and want to be in the heart of the city!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgoway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

As other reviewers have said, this hotel is faultless. Magnificent location, the best hotel we've ever stayed in. The staff are fantastic,attentive but unobtrusive,helpful beyond all expectation. Rooms are very spacious with amazing views. I could go on but stay there and experience it yourself.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Headhunter1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,681 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,353 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $508 - $1,684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing