We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fine hotel with great restaurant and very pleasnt staff”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
236 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“fine hotel with great restaurant and very pleasnt staff”
Reviewed May 29, 2007

Cape Grace Hotel has clean, comfortable rooms, a great restaurant and one of the most friendly staffs of any hotel I've stayed in. The manager and assistant manager will seek you out to say hello, the restaurant hosts remember your name, and the hotel car will be offered for local transportation.

The front desk made arrangements for tours of the winelands and the peninsula with restaurant reservations that were top notch.

The waterfront location is clean, safe and offers easy access to shops, restaurants and boat tours.

Our only complaint is that the front desk can get backed up and make service slow. Once they forgot to pass on our restaurant reservation.

  • Liked — restaurant
  • Disliked — occasionally overburdened front desk
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barely alive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,747
    153
    46
    10
    17
See reviews for
349
1,079
68
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2007

We stayed at the Cape Grace for 5 nights on our first trip to South Africa and boy what a hotel this is! We flew in on an overnight flight from London and arrived at the hotel at around 9 a.m. We had not expected to be able to check in so early and so were delighted that we were taken straight to our room (after introductions from the reception staff and indeed the Manager, Andrew)

Our room was a basic luxury room, but had every amenity, including french windows which had fantastic views of the marina and Table Mountain

Breakfast every day was great - everything you could possibly need, including champagne!

We selected a couple of tours with a great company - Hylton Ross and the hotel arranged both tours for us

The staff were always helpful in our sometimes unusual requests which included asking them to find out if any of the bars on the Waterfront were showing the first play off match for our team (Blackpool FC); and also posting back an extremely large giraffe back home after discovering that it would not fit in our case

The pool and sun terrace were nice although the pool was a little cold, but even so we still managed a swim on 3 days

We tried both the Bascule bar and also the restaurant and enjoyed both immensely

We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, and when we return to Cape Town we will definitely stay there again

  • Liked — Location, quality of room and friendliness of all staff
  • Disliked — There was nothing to dislike
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Tangerines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2007

We stayed at the Cape Grace for four nights in May 2007. This is an expensive hotel but worth the price. The rooms are good sized. We chose a top floor loft room with a terrace. The staff was usually right on the spot except at check in. We arrived around 6am in the Cape Grace car and they could not find anyone from reception to actually check us in to the room.

My only complaint was the mattress. Very hard! I prefer a softer mattress. The Bascule bar staff was really great. Ge tdown there for a drink. Ask for a good whisky. They have a huge supply.

In summary. It is a great location with a nice view and a fun responsive staff. It is indeed expensive but worth the extra dollars.

  • Liked — location was perfect
  • Disliked — very firm mattresses
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JP3CHICAGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2007

We stayed here in January 2006. I have just realised I did not post a review.

Cape grace is a beautiful, understated hotel in a superb location.

Service is faultless throughout. Upon arrival the manager introduced himself. Within a day of arriving, staff knew our names.

The reason for the trip was to celebrate my partner’s birthday. I had been in contact with the concierge prior to arrival and arranged some surprises, including a dinner and a trip to the wine lands on his birthday.

Unknown to me, he approached the concierge after arrival and asked for some suggestions for his birthday. They gave him a list of restaurants etc but did not tell him of my surprise. They were so discrete that he was not even aware until the day itself that alterative plans had been made. (Special thanks to Sabine who worked tirelessly to make it all perfect)

The spa is wonderful. The treatments are well priced for a hotel of this calibre.

The restaurant is very good and again, reasonably priced.

The Bascule Bar is very nice if a little dark. Perhaps it does not make the most of its fantastic location.

I cannot fault this hotel, its service or location. This is the way all hotels should be.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — nothing - it was all perfect.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brum74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2007

My wife and I just finished 4 nights at the Cape Grace to end our africa trip.

The hotel was 5 star but the service was even better.

We were fortunate enough to get upgraded by a room category and had a large beautiful room overlooking the marina and Table Mountain.

The staff was amazing. They took care of things we didn't even request including complimentary transfers in the hotel BMW's to and from dinner.

We stay in a number of very nice places and still think this hotel is outstanding.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyc53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2007

Really cannot fault this hotel. Stayed for 3 nights and had a truely memorable time. There are lots of hotel staff and they were all so attentive..they'll remember all the guests names and cater to all your needs..we were recommended a different restaurant every night and they reserved a table for us where ever we went. A real personal service and truely amazing hotel.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ch0ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing