We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Beautiful hotel right next to the V&A Waterfront. Our room was very comfortable and well-located overlooking expensive yachts in the harbor. The huge breakfast buffet was first class as was the service.
How incredible it was to have BMW 7 series cars available to take us wherever we wanted to go. The concierge desk was very helpful too. A all-around great experience!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LosAngelesRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,806 - 1,812 of 2,149 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2010

The Cape Grace is that type of hotels where you feel at home. We stayed at the Cape Grace several times and each time it was excellent. The location of the hotel is perfect: in walking distance to the Waterfront, the Conference Centre and interesting downtown areas.
The room size is ok, separate drerssing room and most of all a really comfortable bath room. Depending on the room: spectacular Table Mountain view. Great service - multi-ligual staff. Breakfast and restaurant quality is really exquisite - try the oysters. The Bar - we think it is the most beautiful in town.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CH_FreqTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

I took my mother to Africa for her 51st birthday, and our first stop was at the Cape Grace. The Cape Grace is a beautiful hotel situated in the heart of the wharf area of Cape Town. Even though the hotel is quite large, the feel is of a boutique hotel. From the moment you walk in the door, you are greeted with impeccable service; the staff accommodated our every need and even suggested things we did not even know we wanted, such as a wine tasting and tutorial on the history of the wine industry in South Africa. In addition, Signal restaurant (located in the hotel) was the best food we ate in South Africa. Absolutely fabulous!

Stayed: September 2009
Thank DaniJ_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

I recently was in Cape Town on Business and Stayed at the Cape Grace Hotel. The hotel has the best location and is beautifully and tastefully decorated. It has a understated elegance. The service is very good, I just found it a bit stale, it lacks real warmth. Food is good but nothing to write home about, as you can eat much better at Cape Towns array of great restaurants. A person would expect better from this class of hotel. Rooms are great with lovely views over the harbour.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunworshipper036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Our room had awesome direct views of Table Mountain and the marina. Great location, two minute walk to the waterfront with tons of rest.'s, shopping, ect... Just a classy hotel. Great food and whisky bar dwonstairs with nice collection of cigars. The staff really make you feel at home and if you need something arranged they will do it for you.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryguy22x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

This is without doubt the best hotel in South Africa I have stayed at to date.
The staff is friendly, well trained, well groomed and helpfull. The location at Cape Town Waterfront makes this a perfect base for shopping, eating out and experiencing Cape Towns buzz.
The rooms are beyond clean, the decor unique, the personal touches unbelievable.
You won't want to leave the pampered cozyness of The Cape Grace.
Wish I could return someday!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nac0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

i dont think i expected such wonderful service and such fantastic facilities. I really think that this hotel is one in a million. you must visit it!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aly55010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,737 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,441 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,614 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,863 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $627 - $1,469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing