We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Stayed at the Cape Grace for 4 days at the start of our trip to South Africa. From the minute we arrived at the hotel it was a fantastic experience. It ranks as one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The team at Guest Relations are very helpful in arranging tours or restaurant recommendations. (Special mention to Sheba!). The breakfasts were of an extremely high quality with an excellent selection. The rooms and general decor of the hotel is extremely classy whilst being very cosy and welcoming. The pool area is a bit on the small side but was never busy during our stay and the pool staff couldn't do enough for you. We made good use of the hotel's BMW 7 Series to ferry us around the city, it's complimentary and you do need to book in advance. The hotel is certainly not cheap but we also didn't feel it was poor value either. The old addage you get what you pay for certainly applies at the Cape Grace.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gusfenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,055)
There are newer reviews for Cape Grace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,753 - 1,759 of 2,055 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2010

after three flights this hotel couldn't be more inviting. Centrally located to many restaurants so you dont need a taxi.

Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
Thank ATLhomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Cape Grace sits among the top hotels I have ever stayed at (along with Four Seasons Hong Kong, Four Seasons des Bergues in Geneva and the Park Hyatt Tokyo).

The rooms are spacious, and feel completely new and clean. They all offer views of either the harbour or Table mountain. Beds are very comfortable and sheets are crisp.

Bathrooms are also very luxurious and clean. Our room had a huge shower that could fit two.

Overall, the furniture feels new yet comfortable and homy. The service was irreproachable (concierge/reception were always quick to satisfy our demands and make recommendations for dinner).

The location of the hotel is perfect for tourism. It is also pretty close to the World Cup stadium (probably a 20-minute walk).

The hotel restaurant was also excellent. We had dinner there our last evening and it offers a great selection of seafood from the region.

All the amenities and service level of this hotel make it a sure 5-star by any international standard.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank mahme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

I write this review only as a tribute to everything that you read in all of the other reviews which rates this hotel as 5-stars. Our stay was wonderful, service was outstanding and the understated elegance of the hotel is very, very elegant. There are some things that can be improved: I also wished the sauna and steam area was a little more private. Food was not great, but we ate out on most occasions, so our expectation wasn't out of whack with the experience. We went for service, as we stayed at Twelve Apostles earlier in the year and were terribly disappointed. We got everything we dreamed and asked for. Great Hotel

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicmac_houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

This hotel is just wonderful, great location, very secure, the food is fantastic, decor beautiful, but what sets it apart from most others was the loveliness of all the people who work there. Firstly, there seem to be hundreds of them (and it's not a big hotel). But most importantly, from the housekeeping staff to reception to the restaurant to the door to the pool, every single one greets you with a pleasant, sincere and warm smile and you get the impression they genuinely want you to have just the best stay possible there. They certainly succeeded with us! The rooms are pricey but the food and drink in the hotel is really reasonable, I suppose it's just the location that dictates the room prices.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gem6401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

You really could n't ask for more this has to be the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff were amazing. The Locations was fantastic, rooms out of this world. What more could you ask for! If you are looking for somewhere special look no further.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kainic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

I would go back every week if I could.

The location is fabulous - right on the V&A waterfront; the rooms are spacious and stylish with great amenities; great dining options and outstanding service.

We went with our extended family for a long weekend and the hotel accomodated an age range of 5 to 70. Very kid friendly with afternoon drop-off (!) story hour and/or gingerbread decorating time, (so mom & dad can hit the bar), DVD rental complete with popcorn and some kind of goodie delivered to the room nightly.

There's also a whiskey bar in the hotel with the largest collection of whiskies in the southern hemisphere (or so they say), decent restaurant with a nice breakfast service and pool. My only gripe would that the pool was a bit chilly. But again, what service - evian and fruit plus the staff pulled out the pool toys for our daughter.

We received an upgrade and a complementary picnic basket - nice touch.

I really can't rave enough about this place - just lovely.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,631 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,248 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,736 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,513 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $519 - $1,707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing