We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hotel”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2006

Privileged to stay at the Cape Grace. From the moment you are collected in their BMW at the airport you are bathed in luxury.
Nothing is too much trouble for the concierge staff, who are all so helpful, and knowledgeable.
We asked about a gym, and although not on the premises, they offered complimentary membership, and to chauffeur drive us to a nearby gym. When we said we couldn't be bothered, they asked what equipment we required, and promptly delivered it to our room. What service!
Food at One Waterfront is excellent, (if a little pretentious) and the Whisky bar is superb. Ask about the whisky tastings, conducted by the sommelier. Well worth it if you like whisky.
Wouldn't hesitate to return, in fact, wouldn't stay anywhere else.
Brilliant.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank annieabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,930 - 1,936 of 2,129 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2006

Everything a 5 star hotel should be and more!! The
Cape Grace with its position just off the busiest part of the Waterfront is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in anywhere in the world, due in no small part to the quite superb staff who seem to have
taken care of every request before it has even been
made - no snooty front of house staff here just quiet competance and big smiles. It was a pleasure to stay here as my introduction to Sth Africa and, in fact, I returned for another stay before leaving for the next leg of my trip.

17  Thank shabbychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2006

We loved everything about this hotel - the room was lovely, the service and dining were excellent at all times. The concierge was very helpful and obliging. We really appreciated the provision of hotel transport within the locality. We hugely enjoyed our trip to Cape Town and will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Oxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2005

We deliberated about hotels for ages and plumped for Cape Grace for 5 nights this October - no regrets!

Great central location, fantastic service, great rooms and facilities, and beautiful breakfasts. One of the real value add features is the free car service - they have 2 or 3 brand new BMW 750i on hand, which you book and they take you within a 10k radius for free. Be warned, outside the radius, even by 1km and you pay big-style. Any taxi they book for you is also very expensive.

Other options like Table Bay and 12 Apostles fall down on location for me - you will need a hire car if you stay there and want to get around. Didn't make it to the Nellie, so can't comment.

Would definitely stay here again.

18  Thank scuba445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London, England
233
Reviewed October 31, 2005

Touring around South Africa we had the pleasure of staying at the Cape Grace for 4 nights during september 2005. It proved to be in a good central location, right by the Victoria and Albert docks(to the front) and very close to Table mountain(behind the hotel). Our check-in was extremely efficient and quick and we were pleased that our rooms were ready as we arrived at 7:30 in the morning. The room was lovely and very well equipped. Tea and coffee making facilities. Lots of space. I appreciated little touches like an iron and full size ironing board. A retractable washing line in the bathroom and also complementry clothes washing soap.

The food was excellent, we had breakfast at the hotel each day and ate there in the evening once and also lunches. The whiskey collection is amazing. There are also lots of very good local restaurants to try and at reception they were more than happy to book tables for us and reccommend places to try. The concierge was very knowledgeable and helpful and helped us to arrange all our excersions with ease.

A complementry chauffeur was available for hotel users for use within a 10mile radius. Although the driver couldn't be available for everyone all the time, he tried very hard to accomodate all requests. We found all the staff frendly, everyone greeted us with a smile and a welcome. We booked a trip diving with the great white sharks and someone was even waiting for us in reception before we left at 5am with a bundle of towels for us to take. We are returning to South Africa in December this year and have booked to stay at the Cape Grace again.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2005

Stayed 4 nights in a Loft Luxury Room with a view of Table Mountain. As you would expect, service is extremely attentive and we loved everything from the location to the complimentary car service and the picnic baskets.
Breakfast was included in our rates and, with the exception of a slightly nasty hollandaise on the eggs benedict, it was a great way to start the day. Also dined in One Waterfront - food was great if a little fussy and self-indulgent (two of my courses came with instructions). 11 rand to the pound makes dining out cheap too.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2005

We just returned from South Africa and stayed at this wonderful hotel for 8 nights. We don't understand or agree with ANY of the FEW negative comments on earlier reviews. This lovely hotel has everything to offer for anyone. We were with two young children and the staff catered to them daily-including gingerbread cookies, milk and bedtime stories on their pillows nightly. The location of this hotel is ideal and in a very safe location for walking even at night. The waterfront mall, restaurants, movies. Robben Island ferry are all within a short walk. The rooms were very luxurious and spacious. The food is great. The BMW that drove us to local destinations (included in nightly rate) was so convenient and available to us whenever we needed it. The staff set up numerous tours for us and arranged for a rental car to be brought to the hotel. How easy is that? Sign the papers in the lobby and drive off. When you return, leave your keys at the desk and the rental company picks up the car for you. You can get a light menu in the very comfortable and beautiful library. Great laundry service. Lots of cute sea lions and seals right out of your hotel on the docks. Loved waking up to the sounds of the fishing boats getting ready for the day. The other side of the hotel did have construction across the water but looked at luxury yachts. We enjoyed our view of the fishing boats and waterfront. We will definitely only stay at the Cape Grace the next time we are in Cape Town and so should you!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank debrald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,707 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,393 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,843 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,820 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#22 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $633 - $2,388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing