We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel...as long as your room is in the right position...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel...as long as your room is in the right position...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2009

The Cape Grace was exactly what we wanted from our Cape Town hotel - fantastic position, beautiful rooms, excellent concierge and a fantastic car service which saves you getting taxis and makes negotiating Cape Town so much easier. But, you have to make sure when you book the hotel that your room is located on the Table Mountain side and not the other. We were initially facing the other way and there are shipping trawlers outside which absolutely stink! We couldn't bear to go on to our balcony and had to ask for a change of rooms which the hotel was happy to oblige with.

Also we found the pool service very poor. No one ever offered us food or drink and the towels from the last people were never removed. In a 5 star hotel, it shouldnt be a 'do it yourself' job. On the upside though, when we did complain, the staff were incredibly courteous and dealt with the problem immediately.

So despite our few problems, we really did enjoy our stay and would return.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NNGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,699
    148
    45
    10
    17
See reviews for
341
1,044
68
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2009

We had two nights in the Cape Grace at the start of our holiday in Cape Town before we went off on our wine tour. It is an excellent 5 star hotel with friendly and efficient staff. We had a luxury roof top room with great views of Table Mountain and Signal Hill. The room was very well appointed with everything you could possibly want. We enjoyed the pool and had lunch in the restaurant which was great. We were a little disappointed with the breakfast, the cooked selection we had could have been better. The car service is excellent and took us to the cable car for Table Mountain, they even supplied tickets so we didn't have to queue. The location of the Cape Grace couldn't be better right next to the V&A Waterfront with plenty of restaurants and shops to choose. Everything about the Cape Grace was excellent except that it is a little pricey!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janner05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Cape Grace during out honeymoon in July of 2008...The hotel is in a great locations on a quay close to the center of the V&A waterfront...It is surrounded by the water and has great views of the mountains that surround Capetown...The hotel is designed in an elegant colonial/nautical fashion...Since it was our honeymoon, the hotel upgraded us...Little did we know that we got upgraded to the Penthouse Suite...The room was huge...Probably about 1200 square feet with a huge terrace (with hot tub) and large living room...The complimentary mini bar was fully stocked...When going to dinner the hotel provided us with a free transfer in a luxury car when it was available...The staff was very helpful (although we did run into an occasional staff member who was not as knowledgeable as we would have expected)...Although our experience was clearly skewed by our amazing room, the hotel was still great...During our stay we went to the Table Bay hotel (not as personal or elegant as the Cape Grace), Twelve Apostles hotel (not as refined or professional but with a great view) and the Mount Nelson (very stuffy and didn't benefit from the waterfront location) and the Cape Grace was definitely the best hotel in town...Cape Town itself was amazing...There were a lot of attractions around town (Botanical Gardens, Cape Point, Table Mountain and the vineyards) and magnificent restaurants (Jardine was our favorite)...In my opinion it is only topped by Sydney in terms of my favorite cities in the world.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2009

Loved this hotel!

Fantastic service, great food and one of the nicest suites we have ever seen!

If you are travelling with children this hotel is great they make them feel very welcome here! They even give them a gift when you arrive which they love!!

And the breakfast is amazing!!!

Stay you will love it!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLondon095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2009

We stayed at the Cape Grace in 2007 and have been itching to get back! We weren't disappointed - the hotel is still the most fabulous place to stay. The staff are utterly wonderful, the rooms are perfect, and the Bascule bar is THE place to be! We have never stayed in a hotel that is so welcoming - nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Everyone is so cheerful and friendly and so proud to be working for such a terrific hotel. The bmw courtesy cars are just fab. Add all this to the fact that you're on the V&A waterfront.......perfect! We shall be back (in a couple of years, when we've recovered from the flights!) Jane and Chris, UK.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janeymaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2009

We went to south Africa on our honeymoon and spent 5 nights in The Cape Grace. Reading everything about it we had high expectations and all those were exceeded. It is a deserved 5 star international hotel. Excellent bedroom with all you would need and more. The attention to detail was superb and the decor was very elegant and relaxing.

Mini bar was good value which is a nice change in a hotel. Housekeeping was excellent and really flexible. The concierge was excellent and really could not do enough for you especially Natascha (I Think).

Breakfast was excellent and can be served throughout the hotel. The same policy applies to lunch and dinner i.e it is the one menu that can be served whereever, whenever. It really is all about the customer. Did not have dinner only light bites but all were excellent and good value.

The Bascule bar is also a nice chilled out spot for a coffee or tipple. Tahiir was very kind.

The real bonus in The cape Grace is The car Service which drops you off/picks you up at various points. Ricky was our principle driver and he was excellent. Courteous, prompt, informative. A real credit to The Hotel and made our excellent stay better.

Geoff was also a great guy who was always there to help out with the smaller things. It is also a great location in The V&A but not too close. Overall The V&A is a little touristy but seems very safe anfd you can walk everywhere. In terms of restaurants balthazars in The V&A is great for steak and pretty straightforward casual dining. we also ate in jardin and Aubergine which are meant to be Cape Towns best. While both very good I think that there must be better.

There is good jazz in the Green Dolphin. Overall a great city and The Cape Grace is the spot.

  • Liked — The Staff & The car Service
  • Disliked — We had to leave
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2009

Absolutely perfect hotel. Great location by the V&A Waterfront, where the best shops are and from where you get the ferry to Robben Island. Newly refurbished in an up-to-date and stylish manner. Rooms gorgeous - we had Rooftop Terrace ones with a view of Table Mountain. There were sealions in the marina just below the hotel. The hotel is the best I have ever stayed in. The breakfast was excellent. They give you fresh milk in your room for your tea/coffee-making facility. It's all the little extras that make this hotel so special. The evening downturn service even positioned the television so that it faced the bed - and, no, there is no design fault with the television. I found it easy to change its position and it would stay in place. Everything was wonderful about the hotel, but the best was the service. The Concierge would do anything for you. They even managed to get us a table for lunch at La Colombe restaurant at Costantia Uistig (fabulous food and wine) which gets very booked up.

  • Liked — Absolutely everything.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JaneLondon04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,032 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing