We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Grace and elegance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
559 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Grace and elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

A charming hotel on the waterfront that is incredibly comfortable and artistically designed. Staff are all helpful and friendly. The Conceirge helped us with the dinner reservations very efficiently. They even offer a free driver service that requires pre-booking.
Rooms are spacious and immaculately serviced twice a day.
Our rooms faced the Harbourfront and this is highly recommended. We were greeted with a double rainbow on our day of arrival. Spectacular view! We had a two bedroom suite and the common sitting room, dining room and kitchenette were very well appointed with a lovely balcony too.
Breakfast is semi buffet with a hot selection in the lovely Signals Restaurant. Great spread and excellent quality.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank nsl115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,585
    141
    42
    9
    16
See reviews for
324
960
64
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

I recently booked at Cape Grace Hotel for 4 nights with my family. It was really great, our rooms were neatly done. I mostly loved the signal restaurant, the food was excellently served, and I should compliment one of the waiters there, Blessing. This guy is very humble and also doing his work properly, he really served us well and made sure we had the best service. Thanks Cape Grace, you are wonderful!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I recently spent four nights at Cape Grace in Cape Town and it was wonderful! The staff was incredibly friendly from check-in to check-out and truly made an effort to accommodate us in every way possible. They have a great restaurant, delicious food and a really unique whiskey bar for cocktails at night (or during the day). The hotel also offers a 7-series BMW that will take you anywhere you need to go in the city at no charge, which was so nice for dinner reservations and pick ups after we had been out exploring. You can just call them at any time and a driver comes to pick you up! Much better than finding a taxi in a foreign city...

The spa was under construction on our visit but we still got massages and they were fantastic! Even though the spa was being renovated they had setup spa rooms in guest suites that were very tranquil...if I hadn't known any better I would've thought it was the spa. Which goes to show how above and beyond they go for their guests to have a good experience.

Cape Grace was in a great location as well, we were able to walk to the V&A Waterfront area which had tons of shops and restaurants. We were a short drive to Camp's Bay and a short drive to Kloof and Long streets.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at Cape Grace, it is a beautiful hotel and we are so glad it was recommended to us through &Beyond, the best safari planning company around!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with Table Mountain view, it overlooks a Marina with the Mountain in the backgroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had a wonderful three nights at the Cape Grace. The accommodations were lovely and the breakfast delicious. We had dinner in the dining room one night and it was one of the best I have ever had. The hotel is on the waterfront and in walking distance to the aquarium, a craft market, restaurants and a large mall (just in case you forgot to pack something)

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandcastleSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

You could write for an hour about this Hotel, such are the qualities.
It is well located, oozes majestic charm from a bygone era and has staff that cannot do enough to make your stay an unforgettable experience.
We had 6 nights at The Cape Grace and within that period we were part of their extensive family. From Edward the driver to the breakfast and hotel staff we were made special from check in to check out.
Make use of their local knowledge and appreciate the love and sincere care they provide on a daily basis.
Thank you Cape Grace you made a beautiful city even more memorable.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WJW61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Cape Grace is ideally situated in Capetown, on waterfront. very classy, fantastic service.
great views. excellent bar and restaurant. one of the greatest hotels I have ever experienced. I would recommend to anybody visiting CT.

Room Tip: ask for room with View on waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Everything was perfect. Our room was beautiful - it looked out over the harbor. The hotel staff were friendly and new our names by the second day. We ate breakfast in the hotel every morning - delicious. We walked to different restaurants each night. Cape Town is a beautiful city. Make sure to visit the wineries and make the trip to Cape Horn. Make sure you find the whiskey bar in the hotel. It is somewhat hidden.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#8 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing