We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We stayed here at the start of our honeymoon before travelling on to Mauritius. The hotel is amazing. It's in a great location and the staff are excellent. The room was spotless and the bathroom massive. I just have nothin bad to say about the place and we are already thinking about returning.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank grobson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,748
    153
    46
    10
    17
See reviews for
349
1,080
68
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg SA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2008

Have stayed at this hotel before.-, and eaten at the restaurant on many previous occasions. This has all changed. They have slid down the rating ladder from 'good' to 'shockingly bad'. Their set up is all about 'window dressing' - greeting guests by name, does not offer good solid value, and food to match. The restaurant is currently being renovated, and at present housed in their rather tired and shabby library offering lesser than mediocre food at RIP OFF prices. The portions are skimpy and unacceptable for the prices charged. Compared with the Ambassador Hotel's Salt restaurant (not 5 star), the Showroom Restaurant, 95 Keerom, The Vineyard Hotel and restaurants, and many others, the Cape Grace rates as a 'disgrace'. Priced to rip off foreign tourists - offering no value whatsoever, the hotel is dingy and tired, guest relationship is all just window dressing, 'talk' but no action.
If you want value for your money, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
10 Thank LOlaMJohannesburgSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Cape Grace for three nights prior to leaving for safari in Singita. Our very early morning check-in was accommodated with a beautiful large room overlooking the marina and Table Mountain. It is in a great safe area convenient to shopping and restuarants. The car and driver were easily available and made going out to dinner or Table Mountain very easy. The entire staff is very professional and friendly. We would definately return. The on-going renovations were never an issue for us.

  • Liked — location, views, and rooms
  • Disliked — northing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sunvalleySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
204 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2008

We started our South Africa Holiday in August 2008 by staying in the Cape Grace for 3 nights before going to Singita Lebombo (see seperate review). We found the Cape Grace to be a beautiful deluxe boutique hotel in a great location with stunning views across the Marina on one side and the working harbour on the other. We generally had lunch and dinner out exploring the culinary delights of Cape Town, but the breakfast in One Waterfront was truely exceptional and we liked to sit in the Conservatory enjoying the view of the pool and Signal Mountain. A great way to start the day!

The staff we always very helpful. We made use of the complimentary BMW car and driver on a number of occassions and used the Hotel to arrange for us a helicopter charter that took us around Cape Town & Robin Island, down to the Cape of Good Hope, whale & dolphin watching in False Bay then up to the Wine Country for a winery tour and lunch and then lastly a few minutes hovering over the ground to see the Springbooks play the All Blacks. Basically all of the family's apparently conflicting demands were achieved in one master stroke.

The Hotel managed our early morning arrvals with aplomb, my daughters flying into Cape Town from London, whilst my wife and I flew in from Hong Kong. They also bubblewrapped our handicraft purchases fo us when we left. There were hotel renovations on going but we were never aware of them.

The Cape Grace is a place that I would be happy to return to.

  • Liked — Very large rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveHK_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

Comfortable luxury on the Cape Town waterfront. Easy walking distance to V&A Waterfront shopping & restaurants. Great "extras" available, too, including local driver, wine tasting at 6 pm each night (sign up at concierge desk).
Hotel is undergoing upgrading, but work is only done between 10 and 4 and did not interfere w/stay.

  • Liked — quality & location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank seattle1299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

It does what it says on the tin. A lovely, elegant hotel in a perfect location on the waterfront. Charming, friendly (without being familiar) staff. Beautiful room overlooking the harbour. Personal chauffeur incuded was a real bonus, and on a long drive back from the wine country, our chauffeur ( after a little probing!) provided a fascinating insight into life in SA today for a black resident. It's all about the next generation apparently, and I sincerely hope he is right.

Only slight disappointement was dinner at OneWaterfront; it wasn't bad by any description, however we had been so spoilt this time by other meals ( in particular, La Colombe at Uitsig in Constantia...oh wow!) OW didin't quite live up to expectations.

Neverthless a fantastic hotel, thoroughly recommmended.

  • Liked — location and service
  • Disliked — restaurant didn't live up to expectations
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KJHlincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, Calif.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We spent a night in Cape Town at this hotel and had a wonderful time. The location is perfect for visiting the waterfront and all the activities. The Hotel sevice is impeccable and the hotel is by far the best in Cape Town. We will stay their again next year when we visit. Thank you so much Nigel for your hospitality.

Bob & Linda

  • Liked — Great Service And Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank granitebaynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing