We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We did a lot of research before we decided on Cape Grace having stayed in Cape Town twice before. Overall the standards were high and the level of service high. All the staff were very friendly and professional and the hotel has an old school charm about it excellently located near the Waterfront. However at these premium prices it's the small things that make a difference.
We asked for a table luxury room with a view. We were given a room on the ground floor overlooking the Marina with a boardwalk outside which was noisy. There is also a bar which was very busy but open to the public so as guests there's no priority in terms of seats.
The hotel seemed focused on Corporate events rather than as individuals -it didn't feel we were particularly valued. Seems to cater for U.S guests largely , who tend to be the majority.
We were celebrating an anniversary but the hotel did not acknowledge this which was slightly disappointing.
Breakfast was very good and the front desk and concierge exceptional.
Overall a good hotel, busy and well located. Very professional staff but feel it's going through the motions in terms of individual guests v corporate business guests which is where the focus seemed to be.
Nothing overly wrong just didn't have the wow factor we were expecting and the room was disappointing.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SK1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,722
    152
    45
    10
    16
See reviews for
343
1,061
68
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey,England
Level Contributor
124 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for the fourth time for two nights at the end of our holiday to South Africa, having stayed for the first time at Cape Grace in 1998, when the Waterfront area was a rather different place.
Having done our adventurous travelling we just wanted some quality downtime prior to our return home. The Cape Grace provided this in full. The service we received was outstanding from all departments, in particular the front door team, concierge service and room services. Fortunately for us,although the pool area is small, it never got very crowded as most guests disappeared for their day's out leaving us to enjoy the location and poolside service.
We did however manage to stir ourselves sufficiently to wander around the Waterside complex which is within the secure area and feels very safe, even late in the evening.
We did not eat in the restaurant, apart from breakfast so can make no comment.
We prefer the rooms overlooking the marina and Table Mountain; they are worth the extra money. Sitting on the balcony in the late afternoon looking across the marina and City to the mountain top, with or without its tablecloth, is a wonderful experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spencer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Spent a wk at the grace. From the concierge to the girls at the front desk everyone went out of their way to make our stay wonderful.

Being in the V&A Waterfront we could walk out at any time and feel safe. This meant that one could stroll to the many restaurants and saunter back late at night. Jacque gave us leads for some great dining and even arranged a reservation at very short notice. Now thats pretty cool.

Our suite was overlooking the waterfront with views of table mountain too and feel this is the nicer side (if you had to choose). The balcony was a fantastic place to read a book and watch the world go by.

While service was great, this is at the expensive end of the spectrum so one would expect nothing less.

Could not get a reservation for our trip back thru cape town at the same rate which I found interesting. Hence 4 stars.

Room Tip: ASk for room facing the waterfront with a view of table mountain as well. Slightly more expensive bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We had the most amazing time in Cape Town and our stay at The Cape Grace had much to do with it. From the moment we arrived we were looked after so well. I had requested an upgrade as our trip was to celebrate my husband's 60th and were told nothing was available, then we were shown to our room - which was an upgrade with champagne, and a celebration plate of petit fours waiting for us - the receptionist had fooled us. The room was lovely and every little detail was thought of down to sun tan lotion and insect repellent. There was even a POWERFUL hairdryer - the first time I haven't had to use my own.

The chauffeur service was so useful and readily available if you book up on arrival. The staff couldn't do enough for us. All in all a very memorable stay - hopefully to be repeated in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Mountain facing rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Last night in SA. Where to stay? Let's spoil ourselves------ let's stay at Cape Grace. What a treat. The sort of five star experience that you would expect in any of the major capitals of the world. Great hospitality, luxurious bedrooms/ bathroom/ wonderful view of the waterfront. Heaven. The breakfast choices were huge and the dining room a delight. They used every space to enhance the entrance/ corridors eg mirrors and encased artifacts. Just lovely.
One small gripe we tried our best, as residents, to book a meal there at any time, but to no avail. Most residents have precedence in my experience. Never mind. Next time.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank johnpfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
224 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Wonderful 5 day stay at the end of our holiday touring South Africa. We had a roof terrace room on the 4th floor which was spacious and just lovely. The staff were all exceptional, from concierge, doormen, drivers, waiters, fantastic staff. We had dinner one evening which was delicious, as were the breakfasts. The location is perfect, literally 2-3 minute walk to the waterfront. A really great extra is the car facility, which we used to go to Table Mountain. Book at the concierge desk. The pool is nice with a number of loungers in the sun and shade, not loads though so I'm guessing there may be times that you could struggle to get a lounger, not that we stayed in much. I have 1 gripe which is - on our final evening we decided not to go straight to the waterfront, but to have a drink beforehand in the bar. We had been given a voucher by Ecco tours to have a bottle of wine there on our stay so we saved this until our last evening. When we walked outside (we wanted to sit outside as it was a lovely evening.) There was a large hen party around 20 girls which were all very loud and a group of young men sitting near to them. We sat down and within 2 minutes of us doing so one of the men was so very drunk he got up and fell flat on his face. The men helped him up, the girls helped too all laughing and he fell again. A few tables of people started to move away as did we. I'd have thought a fine establishment like CG should probably have not continued to serve alcohol to someone who was so clearly extremely drunk. Whilst I appreciate young ladies wanting to go on a hen party, I was disappointed that they were so very very loud completely dominating the bar such so that a few guests including us just couldn't bear it and had to leave. Such a pity as this hotel is truly outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaychicLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

So wonderful I love it and love the town.i and my husband spent our honeymoon there and it was amazing trip beginning with this beautiful town ,everything was excellent the stuff, the rooms .The service everything I wish if we repeat this trip again

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,500 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#21 of 106 in Cape Town Central
2,065 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,653 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,469 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing