We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cape Grace
Nearby Hotels
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
$193
$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
$150
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$137
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$330
$308
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
$719
$670
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The PortsWood(Cape Town Central)
$204
$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$76
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$211
$198
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$240
$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$152
$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,188)
Filter reviews
2,188 results
Traveler rating
1,945
162
54
10
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,945
162
54
10
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignal restaurantbascule barwelcome homewhiskey bartable mountaincomplimentary car servicechauffeur serviceoverlooking the marinadressing areabeautiful hotelour honeymoonevery member of staffluxury roomperfect locationbottle of champagnewaterfront areafive star hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,189 - 1,194 of 2,188 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2014

What a wonderful hotel. Expensive it may be but boy does it deliver (although the food and drink reflect how inexpensive Cape Town and South Africa are; first 5 star hotel where I've felt comfortable about not taking out a mortgage when opening the mini-bar!). Delicious rooms and wonderful food. Staff that our public service could only dream about. All without being pretentious or snobby...and a special mention for the wonderful barman and the proper concierge desk. Its location is simply the cherry on top.

Room Tip: All good from what I can ascertain
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed here for about 6 days and it was by far the best experience I've ever had at any hotel! The service was incredible - staff members were not only friendly but very helpful. This was our first time in South Africa and we felt very well taken care of. We had a standard room, which was well sized for the two of us with a separate walk-in closet/vanity room and large bathroom. The breakfast was wonderful with a lot of variety - yogurt, breads, cheeses, hot meals, cold meats, etc. I also loved the décor in the hotel! The location was convenient, sitting right in the middle of the V&A waterfront. The hotel also provides a car service to most places so you don't feel the need to have a car. We also went for dinner at Signal (located in the hotel) one night and it was delicious. Overall, it was a memorable experience. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naveen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed two nights during the Cape Argus cycle tour. The hotel staff was able to anticipate our every need both as cyclists and as holiday makers. The rooms are quite a bit more spacious than other similar hotels in Cape Town. Location is great and you don't need to have a car when you are staying at the Grace. The Waterfront is a one minute stroll and for anything further afield they arrange suitable transport.

While it is located in a working port you are not at all disturbed but the ongoing harbor activities.

We will definitely return.

Room Tip: The rooms either face the marina with the fancy super yachts or on the other side the old working fishing vessels. Take your pick on view...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColdAvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We really enjoyed our 4 nights at the hotel both the accommodation and the location. From checking in to the moment we left the service was very personal and friendly. The hotel sits on its own quay, so the parking is on site and very convenient. We had a standard room, which was fine - a large main room with comfortable bed and a separate bathroom, closets and storage area. The bathroom itself is large enough for a separate shower, a tub and a toilet enclosure.

The breakfasts included a buffet style set up with lots of variety - fresh juices, fruits, yoghurts, cheeses, cold meats and breads plus hot dishes which could be ordered from a menu. The concierge - Jacques was excellent and made a variety of tour and restaurant arrangements which really worked nicely for us. Ate at the main hotel restaurant for dinner one evening and we both enjoyed our meals. The hotel has a car service which we used to go to the Kirstenbosch Gardens and the cable car to Table Mountain, which was very convenient as the hotel car also picked us up. The service is truly excellent and the staff are always friendly, helpful and courteous - they seem to be enjoying themselves.

The location is in the centre of the V and A Docks which has many fine restaurants, takeout and sit down, bars and several hundred shops. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the ferry to Robben Island. There are also a variety of boat tours on the docks close to the hotel. Would happily stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allyurwishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We spent a couple of nights here when attending a concert and were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a penthouse - thank you, Cape Grace! Beautiful as that room was, it was the service that really impressed. Not only excellent in every way, it was intimate and personal in a way that gave credence to their opening line upon arrival: "Welcome home."

As a side note, everything was well set up to cater for my needs as a disabled person. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank veethree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews