We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights in this fantastic hotel and cannot find a single fault with it. Elegant comfortable and stylish with fantastic food and the best most friendliest staff ever. The rooms are lovely with silky bed linen big fluffy towels and comfy Queen size beds and free Wifi. Located on the V and A waterfront it is close to lots or really good restaurants and the location is very safe and patrolled by security guards. There was always lots going on. If you want to go in to the city the hotel provides a free taxi and you can then get your own back from wherever you are. Every member of staff from the cleaner to the most senior manager is friendly and welcoming and really genuine. They really do work as a team to provide you with the best possible service. The breakfast is wonderful as is the food in the evening. I strongly recommend this hotel and we are going back next year. We loved it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ptuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,770
    155
    46
    10
    17
See reviews for
354
1,094
70
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

You could not want for better service at any hotel in the world. The staff at all levels are fantastic. Excellent location in the V&A Waterfront. The food is lovely (my favourite is breakfast) and the views towards Signal Hill and Table Mountain breathtaking. This was our 2nd visit and we can't wait for the 3rd and 4th.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank suzieNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed here for the first few days of our honeymoon and it was such a great way to start our trip. This is a beautiful, classic hotel with exceptional service. It is located steps away from the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront but separated enough where it is still nice and quiet. You have a view of Table Mountain and the waterfront. There is so much to do right around the hotel - great restaurants, bars, stores and most importantly sites (the ferry to Robben Island, aquarium). The service at the hotel was terrific - they helped us make reservations for restaurants, for Table Mountain, to confirm our already arranged tours and even set up complimentary chauffeur service (just arrange in advance when you arrive). We loved ending our days by relaxing at the pool and enjoying a drink. There were always nice, little gifts left in our room like strawberries and cream, bath salts/bubbles, etc. which was a very nice touch for our Honeymoon. The included breakfast each morning was delicious with such a variety of options. We would highly recommend and would definitely love to stay here again if/when we get to return to Cape Town!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Our three night stay at the Cape Grace was the perfect start to our holiday. We loved the elegant, spacious room with French doors looking out onto the marina and a stunning view of Table Mountain: the seals cavorting in the harbour provided an unexpected cabaret. The service was unobtrusive and first rate from all staff. We enjoyed the restaurant so much that we went back for a second meal: impeccable food and a good wine list. The Cape Grace was conveniently placed for all we wanted to do, and an extremely comfortable base to return to for relaxation after sight-seeing. Possibly my favourite hotel in the world, we shall come back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jules L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over New Year as part of our honeymoon. The staff were fantastic and we had a lovely view of the harbour and table mountain from our hotel balcony. Staff booked all of our trips and arranged free transport too. A great location to enjoy the V and A waterfront.What really stood out for us was our little gifts each day. It was fantastic coming back each day finding a new card and present to help us celebrate our honeymoon. Thank you.We will certainly be back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Searleandgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Outstanding hotel. Nice decor and amenities and wonderful, friendly and efficient service. Excellent breakfast included in the price. Quite busy but still manage a personal service. The Rand is quite weak now so it's not too expensive. One of the nicest hotels I've ever been to.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollidsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The central location and setting on the harbor is truly a great perk in the CG. Many activities are in walking distance and set a sense of being involved in a more local scene. Truly 5 star luxury service from all departments. Great doormen and concierge service that helped coordinate a perfectly timed visit up Tabletop (and timing can be very important for viewing) and sent us out for 2 wonderful meals. We took a harbor tabletop view room that I highly recommend especially if this will be your only visit to CT. Waking up to sunrise and watching sunset on the balcony with these as the backdrop will create memories for a lifetime. The room was very large and well furnished with a huge beautiful marble bath. The most memorable part of our stay was an Outstanding meal in the dining room the evening after a daylong exhausting tour in the wine country as we wanted to stay in house. We started in the bar with the sommelier present tasting different South African wines. Then we moved to the dining room to have the most wonderful meal of wild game along with stunning wine pairings per sommelier including the wine of the year, a chenin blanc that would compete with any Montrachet. Easily the best meal Ive ever had in Africa. We truly did not want to leave Cape Town-Grace for our safari that was the purpose of our trip. HIGHLY recommend

Room Tip: top 2 floors Tabletop-Harbor view......definitely worth it (did not hear boats as someone else menti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welltravelled75219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,554 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing