We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful stay”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beautiful stay”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed here in nov 2013 on a little getaway with my husband. It is one of the best hotels I've stayed in throughout all my years of travelling ... and I cannot say enough about the impeccable service offered at this hotel. The front desk staff all know you by name and never fail to make sure that everything is perfect for you...the room is always immaculately cleaned no matter how messy we've left the room. This hotel also probably serves the BEST breakfast I've had in any hotel...the warm breakfast options are amazing. This hotel is absolutely charming, elegant and indulgent with restraint. It has an awesome location to boot....being situated in the waterfront, it is just a 5 min walk to the V&A waterfront.

Room Tip: We had a table mountain view room which was situated in the corner and was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trav3lmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,770
    155
    46
    10
    17
See reviews for
354
1,094
70
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wailea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This hotel deserves its rating as one of the very best in the world. Everything about it is impeccable, and nothing is a problem for the staff. We loved sitting on our balcony overlooking the marina, with sleek yachts moored below and majestic Table Mountain towering behind it. When the marina lights start twinkling in the evening it is truly a magical scene. We enjoyed the hotel's complimentary limousine that takes guests to nearby locations and even to beautiful Kirstenbosch Gardens much further away. For two trips to the top of Table Mountain the driver courteously took us to the lower cable station and picked us up there again, all at our chosen times. During this Christmas season guests were treated to slices of delicious fruit cake and fruit mince pies under glass domes, with small plates and napkins next to it, in many spots around the hotel - a nice touch! Staying here may be a splurge, but the memories will make you smile.

Room Tip: Choose a mountain-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This hotel is not only situated in the best place in the world but also in the best location for stunning views. It is also only a stroll away from the Victoria Alfred Waterfront. The service has never disappoint and the quality of the food is excellent. You can sip on a G&T overlooking the marina or enjoy tea in the library just off the main entrance.
As locals we return to this hotel regularly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGJJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stay here all the time we are in Capetown. The decor, the ambiance, the staff are over the top and do EVERYTHING in their power to make sure we are happy. The one morning we had left for breakfast and a lady from laundry came and found us to ask how we wanted our clothed pressed and what time to deliver them. They found us where we were for the smallest detail!!! Jacques, the night manager is AWESOME!! He is so perfect for the job and remembered us both by name and the second time we stayed there and said to us, "welcome home!" then it became like home. We had stayed at the Table Bay Exec suite but after Cape Grace we have ALWAYS gone back for their great service and views. The suites and the terrace rooms are awesome!!! Everything is personalized to your liking and the turn down service comes with nice classy expensive chocolate and great linens.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the Table mountain view and have breakfast in your balcony! You have both the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mufarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
441 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We popped in for high tea, initial impressions were very good, the salon we were showed into was very luxurious - our order was taken was taken very quickly, the cakes and the sandwiches were very pleasant.

However, we struggled to find anyone to ask for more tea and surprisingly (and certainly a first for any high tea I've had) we were charged extra for more tea.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roodeberglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Cape Grace was an absolutely gorgeous hotel, the rooms were spectacular with beautiful views. We were staying for our honeymoon and each day we would arrive to our room to a little gift left by the hotel, strawberries & cream, sparkling wine, dessert platters, a very nice touch. The pool area is gorgeous, with delicious cocktails, the breakfasts were absolutely spectacular, with the most amazing buffet. The concierge service to resturants was also fabulous and took the hassel out of travelling to the beautiful resturants in Cape Town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent four luxurious nights at the Cape Grace. On arrival we were told that we had been given a complementary room upgrade. That already made my day! Our views were of the Marina/Harbor as well as Table Mountain. We dined at Signal Restaurant and were not disappointed. The pool side area was pleasant with water and fruit available at all times. Also enjoyed the Bascule Bar for drinks. This is truly a spectacular hotel and would recommend it to all travelers to the Western Cape. The staff were wonderful and friendly. We will definitely be back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LorraineLK71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,554 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing