We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless Execution, Best Hotel In The World”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #6 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Once again, a magnificent, flawlessly executed stay at the best hotel in the world. Delicious food, outstanding service, gorgeous accommodation, brilliant for families & business alike - but most importantly, warm & hospitable. It's like coming home every time! Loved every minute. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim2619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,239 - 1,245 of 2,106 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I have traveled the world and I have to say that this city and especially the Cape Grace Hotel has been one of our top 3! IT was absolutely the best. The staff from the moment we stepped our of our luxurious car and driver to moment we left for the airport. For a week during our stay we were constantly greeted by our name and everyone from the housekeeping staff to the reception to the table waitstaff were so professional and just so friendly and accommodating. I've never stayed in a hotel where we literally felt like family! The spa was one of the finest and they were able to book us in for whatever treatment we desired on whatever day we had available. It was truly the perfect hotel!! And the location couldn't be better just a short enjoyable walk to lots of wonderful shopping and some of the best restaurants the Mother City has to offer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggiefwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

How could a person not like the Cape Grace? This was one of the best (if not the best) hotels we ever stayed at anywhere! It is attractive, rooms are spacious and comfortable, and staff are just exceptional. The food at Signals (breakfasts and some dinners we chose to eat there) was lovely. We tried the wine tasting menu one night and truly enjoyed it. We were so comfy and used the hotel as a base to explore Cape Town and area. It was a treat to come back to each night after sight seeing. The planning of the room and dressing room / bath area was brilliant with nothing forgotten.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OttawaCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here for three nights on our honeymoon and were overwhelmed by the luxury of both the hotel and the staff. The hotel is perfectly located and decorated with extreme elegance and style. There is simply no aspect of this hotel that isn't excellent, from the check in, to the concierge to the hotel. They do everything exceptionally.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Omer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were in a large group touring SA and this hotel was recommended to me by several friends as the only place to stay in Cape Town. Well the service was excellent and the hotel is very luxurious, I have stayed in many 5 * hotels around the world but this hotel I have to say is one of the best. The spa was also very good a must if you want an amazing massage, the hairdresser is also very good.

The only negative thing I have to say is the restaurant service is a bit slow and it shouldn't be, we waited about 30 minutes to get a menu and after ordering about 1hr to actually get the food and it wasn't busy.

Room Tip: The harbour side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillyB371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent 5 wonderful nights at this hotel in a luxury room (108) looking directly onto the marina with views of Table Mountain to the side. The hotel overall was elegant and tastefully decorated, the majority of staff made you very welcome, especially from the door staff who greeted you each time with, "welcome home". We ate at the hotel's Signal Restaurant 3 nights, the venue is a formal setting, with excellent service, a varied menu catering for all tastes, the food itself exceptional and by far the best during our whole holiday in South Africa.

Set in the heart of the V & A Waterfront giving easy access to the vibrant and cosmopolitan part of Cape Town. Street entertainers lift your spirits in such a way that is unforgettable. Watch out for seals swimming in the marina and resting on the marina boardwalks at night.

Top tips, if you can see the top of Table Mountain and the weather is good, don't put of your visit. During our stay it was only visible on 2 days out of 5. If we hadn't had to change our plans due to the cancellation of a tour to Robben Island we would not have been able to see the amazing views from the top.

To get your bearings in Cape Town and a really useful introduction to the area, we recommend doing the Red Bus route on day one of your holiday.

The Blue bus route also informative and travels around the other side of table mountain, shows exceptional scenic views and offers opportunity to visit Kirstenbosch Botanical gardens, a township or wine tour. Would not recommend Hout Bay unless you wish to visit the seal island by boat.

Both buses are hop on, hop off at anytime during the day.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ThePresident1067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed every moment. We were impressed at our arrival by the view of the Marina and Table mountain. We felt like VIPs because we were welcomed in our spacious Superior room with a gift for my 8 year old child and a fluffy child size bath robe with matching embroidered slippers. There was lots of storage place and room allowing to pack all your shoppings from the mall that happens to be only 5 minutes walking away. The concierge was very efficient for arranging a last minute private transportation and reservation at the Aquila Game reserve. The service is really excellent. When we walked out, the valet offered us to take a nice big wooden umbrella to shield us from the drizzle. For our 6AM departure the morning crew prepared a complimentary boxed breakfast with freshly brewed cappuccino and juice. There was so much attention to details and the staff really thought about everything what is possible to ensure our stay is the most memorable and comfortable ! We would highly recommend to experience Cape Grace.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,683 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,353 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,799 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,815 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $508 - $1,684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing