We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is there such a thing as six stars?”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the Cape grace Hotels in early September for three days. The hotel is located in the waterfront area and the views from our roof top terrace room were beautiful. We faced the marina where we could occassionally hear seal lions barking in the harbor and Table Mountain formed and impressive backdrop.

Check in service was fast and well executed which was important to two worn out travelers from the US. Our room was large with a big bath. Because it was our 25th anniversary complimentary hand-made chocolates and champagne on ice was waiting for us in our room one afternoon.

We only used the dining room for breakfast during our stay. Both the food and service were always very good and the buffet had a great selection that my wife loved. This hotel is a must if you are planning a visit to Capetown.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of Table Mountain.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,055)
There are newer reviews for Cape Grace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,224 - 1,230 of 2,055 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent four nights here after two plus weeks on safari. The hotel is top rate without creating a snooty atmosphere. The staff could not have been nicer, more accommodating, or helpful. The rooms are lovely....we were upgraded to one overlooking Table Mountain. The breakfast buffet was wonderful! We had dinner one evening in the restaurant, and the food was exceptional and very reasonably priced. The six of us made it a point to stop in the Library before and some nights after dinner for a glass of wine or a beer. The staff in the Library were so very nice!! The hotel is within walking distance of the shops and restaurants along the harbor. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at Cape Grace on our honeymoon in Sep 2013. The Hotel has many charming features not found in more standard 5* and although I normally opt for more contemporary hotels (such as the one and only around the corner) I am very glad I didn't. Situated perfectly on the waterfront, Cape Grace rooms are well kept and well decorated (fresh flowers every day), the food (Cignal Restuarant) is outstanding and the service excellent. There is also the added bonus of having a private driver who will take you / pick you up within a 10km radius which, was extremely useful. Special mention to Q who looked after us at breakfast who was very helpful throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gallivanter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Absolutely five star hotel! Service was exceptional and the food was incredible! We stayed in a one bedroom luxury suite looking over the harbor. Large terrace, great bed and very large living and dining area.huge bathroom with a separate shower and tub

Room Tip: Luxury one bedrooms are worth the extra money
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martinj911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I had heard many wonderful stories from friends who have stayed here and I was quite excited to be staying here.
The check in process was seamless, the luggage duly arrived and the room was superb overlooking the marina. The bathroom is huge and I just loved the separate dressing room with heaps of wardrobe space.
I sent some laundry out and of all the Hotels we have stayed in around the world no other Hotel irons clothes like the Cape Grace, everything was pressed beyond perfect.
The Concierge was spot on with restaurant recommendations and they have the most wonderful touch - the Hotel BMW will, if available will drive you to the restaurant and return about 2.5 hours later and pick you up. Absolute luxury!
Why haven't I given them a ten? The breakfast and their breakfast staff let them down. From burnt hash brown - inedible to stewed coffee,to eggs benedict swimming in hollandaise sauce that could have come straight out of a bottle to coffee spilled in the saucer to the casual here it is and don't ask for anything attitude from the staff. It is such a shame I really wanted to give them a ten.Notwithstanding this issue I would still stay with them again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sallymay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had the most wonderful stay at the Cape Grace, the staff were so friendly, couldn't do enough for you and what a fabulous reception for our 15 month old son, we had everything we needed for him and felt he was really looked after, we will be returning again soon

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
1  Thank Hazel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Cape Grace Hotel is worthy of all praise that it earns. The staff is impeccable and the attention to detail is almost startling. The rooms are beautifully appointed and each one has some nuance that sets it apart. We spent three glorious days prior to leaving on African safari and we couldn't have been happier. Quinton in guest relations is a true gentleman and if ever in Cape Town there isn't another hotel I would even consider. This is a true masterpiece.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors overlooking Table Mountain and the wharf.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,633 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,248 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,737 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,513 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $519 - $1,707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing