We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay in Cape Town”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We recently stayed 4 nights at this hotel as part of a Tauck tour of South Africa. The rooms were very nicely appointed and the beds were so comfortable. It is also located in an ideal spot in the V&A waterfront area with a great view of Table Mountain. Staff was courteous and very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,055)
There are newer reviews for Cape Grace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,299 - 1,305 of 2,055 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had been told by a friend that we must go to see the Cape Grace but found we had been booked in there by African Travel which arranged the details of our Southern African trip.
We were delighted with every aspect of the hotel, the room and bathroom, the dining room , the amenities and most of all, the warm, caring and efficient staff.

Breakfasts were excellent, almost beyond belief, and after each full day of touring, we were very pleased to use the dining room for dinner.

The waterfront location of the hotel was very convenient. For any return we will surely stay at the Cape Grace.

Room Tip: Both front and back have views of water and docks but front is more active yet we noticed no signifi...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in April with wife and daughters. Check in was formal and slow but helpful, interconnecting rooms were provided as requested but then you wait for the interconnecting doors to be unlocked. Rooms are luxurious and comfortable with very good amenities and facilities. Breakfast buffet is small but good quality and all hot food is "a la carte", so no such thing as a quick breakfast and we frequently had to wait for a table to become available. Concierge staff were extremely knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. Gym was small with an inadequate number of cardio machines to meet the demand. Spa looked very nice but we didn't use it. Pool was clean and private but no attendants to help get sunbeds or umbrellas etc. The hotel is on the edge of The Waterfront so just a 5 minute walk to shops, restaurants, cinema etc and even the street facing rooms are quiet at night. In summary, a very nice 5 star hotel but not the best in the world.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDE260767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Even the rain in Cape Town could not dampen our spirits arriving at the first stop on our South African vacation. The Cape Grace décor is without doubt unique. Cocktails in the library in the evening looking out over the harbor with Table Mountain in the distance (once the clouds lifted) was breathtaking. A wonderful experience. Room was very large. Service and food excellent. I could not stop looking at the décor around the entire property - just wonderful without being "over the top", creating an experience for everyone who walks through the doors that could not be matched. Great location, great views, just perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our family of five stayed in a 2room suite, perhaps the largest suite I have ever seen. Each of my young children was given a gift package, and slippers and robes in their size!

The furnishings, decor, and bedding were excellent.

The hotel's room service and dining were 5 star. A total pleasure in every respect. The hotel also booked all our drivers and tours. My kids loved the pool, the marina, and the little drawbridge!

We visited 4 years ago in April.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6ContinentsNCounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were stunned by this ''new hotel'' that can absolutely measure itself with hotels with more history (like for example the Mount Nelson or The Bay). The location on the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront is very handy, you walk out of your hotel and you're in the middle of bars, restaurants, shops...great! The pool is too small and there are not enough day beds, so that people have to wait sometimes for an hour to catch a free bed.The food is gorgeous, breakfast is top, the salads at the pool are just lovely and the ''à la carte menu'' for dinner was just fantastic. we had our New Year's eve-dinner at the Cape Grace that I can highly recommend.As we travelled as a family with 2 children, aged 8 and 10, we had to book 2 interconnecting rooms, both rooms were very nice decorated, everything was perfect.It is one of the best palaces worldwide that we have stayed in!

Room Tip: All the rooms are different from each other, all are beautiful. Maybe try to book a room with a view...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nischicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We arrived very early in the morning and were greeted by friendly staff. Whilst we waited a very short time for our room, we were served with tea and cake in a lovely seating area. Then we were upgraded to a magnificent suite, it was wonderful. Absolutely beautifully decorated and stunning views of the harbour area from all three sides of the suite. Great balcony also! We had a room service breakfast one morning, wow what a spread on the dining table! The hotel was in a great location and they supplied us with umbrellas as we left the hotel each morning. The staff were friendly, helpful and so professional. A wonderful first stop on our honeymoon, many thanks.


The only negative thing we have to say is unfortunately I left a one of a kind pearl and multi stone ring (a very expensive and sentimental ring of my grandmothers, which can never be replaced) on the side in the room on the morning that we left. We rang from the airport to see if they could fetch it and then post it back to the UK but it had already gone. Obviously it was my fault that I left the ring, however I would expect in a hotel of this quality to be able to get the ring back from a room I had vacated just an hour earlier.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite overlooking the harbour - stunning sunrise and sunset pictures! Such a treat!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klee_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,632 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,248 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,737 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,513 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $519 - $1,707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing