We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel is absolutely wonderful, the staff are super friendly and attentive, the room was larger than most a spotless, could not fault anything about this hotel, we ate in the restaurant and the food and service were spot on, the location is good on the V & A waterfront, would probably stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheffgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,784
    155
    46
    10
    17
See reviews for
358
1,102
70
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
miketheredfan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in the Cape Grace hotel for 5 nights in January 2013,and our biggest regret was we were not able to stay longer.From the first minute we arrived we were made welcome from the staff at reception to Hoone at the concierge and Lance our driver and not forgetting the lads at the front door who always made a point of saying "you are welcome home"every time we returned to the hotel.I would like to make special mention to the manager of the breakfast room Quanita(or Q to her friends)she loves her country with a passion and every morning she would spend time with us recommending places we should see.
The food in the hotel is just incredible from breakfast,afternoon tea,to diner the choice is fantastic and the service was very efficient.
Would i recommend this hotel?The answer is absolutely.For us it was 5 star all the way.

Room Tip: We requested a room looking out at the marina,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miketheredfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel is beautiful. It is clean and elegant however the staff go from one extreme to the other. There is a serious lack of communication between the hotel staff and the hotel staff and their guests. The restaurant staff are AWFUL they really lack common sense and seem to struggle with the most simple requests. They need some serious training. I would definitely stay again though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naki23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here with our four children in January in a 3 bed suite. We had high expectations given the reviews etc and we were not disappointed. We arrived early - 11am expecting to be told that we would have the usual access post lunchtime and were pleasantly surprised to be take to our rooms within half an hour. The suite is great - three decent size rooms that accommodated all of us but a really nice lounge and kitchen area which is great when travelling with kids as it allows for everyone to spread out a bit and the cost is hardly more than our usual requirement for three rooms.

Children are well catered for with playstations etc in the room and a good selection of DVDs and games for when they want to chill in the evenings. The pool is particularly lovely as its heated to a perfect temperature, is a lovely sun trap and the staff do a great job in providing drinks, towels etc and anything else you fancy.

The breakfast buffet is really well stocked and we ate dinner in the restaurant on one ocassion too. Although the food is not particularly adventurous, its well executed and the service is good.

Cape Grace is full of heritage and history and that comes out, making it a very special place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaPollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here for our silver anniversary. The welcome was warm and friendly and they were already aware we were here to celebrate our anniversary. We were more than pleasantly surprised to be given a super room upgrade. This was followed with a quick tour of the facilities, very useful for a first time visitor.....but then we became invisible.
The room was spectacular, with it's own private balcony. The view was over the harbour, but this was not a downside as the view was constantly changing and we did not spend too much time in the room.
The doormen blew hot and cold, sometimes opening the door and reciting "Welcome home Sir" and then the next time nothing.
The building itself is magnificent with many antiques and decor that is understated yet tasteful.
Now we come to the food. I can only give this three and a half stars, not the five that should be associated with a five star hotel.
The service in the Signal restaurant was " plastic " with very little interest being shown. That said. there were one or two exceptions.
Service around the pool was virtually non-existant.....invisible again. After waiting some twenty minutes we decamped to the library for afternoon tea. Quick as a flash a poolside waitress arrived asking had we ordered food for the poolside.....visibility restored...or so we thought.
Check out was smooth, efficient and courteous.
The overall feeling is that the front of house staff are relying on the grandeur of the hotel to mask their reluctance to engage with the guest.

My Tip: There are some excellent restaurants nearby at the V & A Waterfront that offer higher quality food and service at competitive prices.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MERLION04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2013

From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble. Staff were all exceptionally professional, well informed, and clearly worked as a team. The Tasting Menu for dinner is well worth experiencing and the breakfast excellent. Perfect location for exploring the City. We had a marina view room which also affords a view of Table Mountain which was delightful. Well done to all at Cape Grace.

Room Tip: Marina view rooms may be quieter away from the harbour side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at the Cape Grace for 3 nights in October and found it to be an excellent hotel. It is quite pricey but is on the order of the Ritz or 4 Seasons. Our room was beautiful and had french doors that overlooked the Marina. It is a short walk into the V&A waterfront where there are tons of good restaurants and shops. The service at the hotel was top quality. It was the perfect end to a 9-day safari where we were "off the grid" . I would highly recommend the Cape Grace if your budget allows.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gogreen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,577 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,185 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing