We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended.”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

It's hard to do anything than agree with other reviews. The hotel is centrally located, definitely five star and the staff are as friendly and helpful as you'll find. We only booked a basic room but found it plenty big enough with all the amenities we needed.
Breakfast was generally very good although on the Sunday of our stay I ordered sausage, egg, bacon and tomato and received egg and bacon. I couldn't be bothered to complain as what I had was tasty but we noticed another guy complaining so wonder whether the Sunday chef was a temp.
I'd recommend making use of the hotel's complimentary BMW service. They'll take you anywhere within a 10km radius and pick you up (if needed),free. Be sure to book in advance.

Tips:
1) If you hire a car in Cape Town take your driving licence AND your passport. Our thanks to Hoon at the concierge desk for telling us this.
2) If you like seafood, try Baia in the mall on the waterfront. VERY good.

If you have any questions, please ask.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicholassharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,463 - 1,469 of 2,074 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

A classic afternoon of fine tea, tasty scones, cream and jam....say no more......plus its at a great venue with free parking at the waterfront. It was also very comfortable indeed and had awesome service!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank stevemaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Cape Grace is a wonderful hotel located in the Marina district in Capetown. The service is first class. The rooms are luxurious and ours overlooked Table Mountain with a large balcony to enjoy the sites. The chauffeured-driven car was so helpful as was the concierge. Breakfast included in your staff was very good. The staff was helpful and extremely helpful. We like smaller hotels like Cape Grace as we feel that the staff knew us well. Perfect stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deege520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed there with a group of friends and found the hotel and staff to be absolutely wonderfull. The Cape Grace is a class act from beginning to end. Check in is done one on one at a desk in the lobby. The person then takes you to your room to make sure everything is fine. The concierge team is very helpfull and the courtesy car can make getting to central Cape Town easy.
The Port and Sherry is complementary in the Library after 4 PM. The food in Library is just right for lunch or a light dinner.
Walk out the front door and make a left and you're only a few blocks from the waterfront with great shopping and restaurants.
If your going north for game drives and need some outdoor articles The Cape Union Store is close by with a great selection of clothing and accessories kind of like a South African REI.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Packngo205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We spend recently 4 nights in the Cape Grace and were delighted with our choice of hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room (with partial Table Mountain view) nice and clean, the location of the hotel perfectly close to all shops and restaurants at the Waterfront.
I think it would be difficult to find a better place to stay in Cape Town.
If we need to say something negative it is that the breakfast choice was limited for this quality of hotel and for checkout time there was not even a minimal flexibility.
When returning to Cape Town, which as a city and its surroundings, we liked very much, we will certainly return to the Cape Grace.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KvG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Cape GRace was the first hotel after arriving from the USA. They were at the airport at 10pm to pick us up and expedite us to our accomodations. We had two adjoiining rooms, as requested, and our 2 year old son had plenty of new bath toys and robe just his size. It seemed like a Montessorri had been there to make things accessible for the children too. This hotel is luxury and right in the middle of the V&A waterfront so you can cruise around and see lots of things. Concierge makes great recommendations and will print you maps for where you need to go - as we rented a car to drive at our leisure to Cape of Good Hope and Hermanus.

Room Tip: We had a room facing toward the water that wraps around to the back of the hotel. From our balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldViewElite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is my third visit to Cape Grace. It never disappoints. Located on the V & A Waterfront, riooms have awesome views of the waterfront and Table Mountain. And even though it includes amenities like the private yacht and complimentary chauffeured-driven cars, there is no pretentiousness here. I always feel like they I am a guest in a 121-room mansion with extremely gracious hosts, rather than one in a hotel. The staff goes out of their way to help and addresses me by name. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. The spa is one of my favorites. I had a massage there that was so relaxing, I almost fell asleep. My husband likes it so much, he wants to live there!

Room Tip: Request a room facing the waterfront. And for breakfast, ask for the croissant French toast even tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rads_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,282 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,564 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $538 - $1,575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing