We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Visited the Cape Grace during a one-night stay in Cape Town with my husband in July/August 2012.

On this visit, it was a toss up between the Cape Grace and the Mount Nelson.
Cape Grace prevailed because of proximity to the action at the V&A Waterfront, and more significantly value for $.

Hotel is unassuming but lacks nothing. It is charming and luxurious and radiates traditional Cape culture.

Room was pretty and cozy (Table Mountain Luxury Room).
Room afforded partial views of Table Mountain, and the desirable vessels floating in the Yacht basin below. It may be worth spending a bit more for a room with a balcony in summer.

This hotel has a very different ambiance to the One and Only and The Twelve Apostles.
Note: I loved both of the aforementioned hotels.
One and Only is swanky but lacks the perceptible warmth and charm of the Cape Grace. It feels more like a big resort. (If I was travelling with my frisky 2 year old, I would definitely prefer the One and Only.)
Twelve Apostles is absolutely divine and on par with Cape Grace, but can be a bit off the beaten track depending on your requirements. (I would definitely also leave my 2 year old at home.)

Breakfast was fantastic.
Dined elsewhere.
What can beat a pot of freshly brewed coffee in the library in wet and chilly Cape Town? Great spot to dive into a book at any time of the year.

If you want to be central and enjoy more personalized luxury, I would recommend the Cape Grace. Despite having so many great hotels to choose from in Cape Town, this charming Cape dame is a safe bet.

The only thing I hated, was having to leave.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeSniffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,747
    153
    46
    10
    17
See reviews for
349
1,079
68
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I don't think there are enough superlatives to adequately describe the Cape Grace. Aside from its location (central to the V&A Waterfront with views out to the harbor and sailboats), the facilities are top notch and the staff think of everything. I stay in a lot of hotels and chose this one for convenience to the business I was doing in Cape Town, but I feel like I happened into a truly special place in every way. They have thought of every last detail and if you come up with something they haven't thought of, they will most certainly come through to meet your expectations. I hope to be able to return some day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoteller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
167 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Very enjoyable stay in the heart of the V & A waterfront area of Cape Town. Very friendly and helpful staff at all levels. The food was outstanding, the room very spacious and comfortable, and the car service within a 10 km area was extremely convenient. We would definitely stay here again. I concur with other reviewers that the service was excellent and among the best my wife have experienced in our travels.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a Table Mountain view room. We had a "working harbor" room which was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capg610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I loved this hotel due to the fact that it is just big enough that you aren't having to talk to some bed and breakfast guy and his wife and entertain them with your life story or vice versa, but there is the feeling of no crowds and a more elite ambiance for sure. their food is GREAT and the bed was very comfortable. the view out of your room is small, but the service and style make up for that little view. and im sure you could buy a better one if you wanted to.
very elegant and understated. the hallways are old and can be noisy if people come back late at night, and there may be quirky things wrong in the room, like my table lamp didnt work by my bedside, but other than that its perfection. the staff is great.
ENJOY!

Room Tip: if you want a big window, you are going to have to upgrade! walls are kind of thin towards the hallw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audballa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

A beautiful hotel providing impeccable service. Close walking distance to the V & A Waterfront where there is enough to keep you busy for weeks! Great wine cellar....try Graham Beck's Old Road Pinotage....was like velvet going down.

That said...the furnishings are more European than African and I wasn't expecting that. Room had a great view of Table Mountain. Breakfasts on the sun-dappled porch were a great way to start a day of sightseeing and shopping.

This trip was in 2010.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guffeygabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The thing that makes this hotel a stand out is the staff appear to be so genuinely concerned about ensuring you have a great stay. One is left with the impression that treat you well not because it is their job but because they really enjoy doing so. Fantastic location and good rooms only adds to the experience .

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out to table mountain. You can't go wrong. Even if the weather is bad t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Upon arrival, it immediately became clear to me why our South Africa-based travel agent recommended Cape Grace over One & Only -- the service here exceeds that of any Four Seasons or other top-end chain I have ever stayed at. The reception/guest relations and concierge teams MUST be the envy of the hoteliers everywhere.

But, add to that:
-- fantastic location on the V&A Waterfront
-- spacious, nicely refurbished rooms
-- flawlessly executed breakfasts -- both the impressive buffet spread as well as the a la carte options

Cape Grace, you quite literally had me at "hello".

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing