We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea.......Forget it!”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2011

As a goodbye to CapeTown (we leaving after 11 years), I arranged for afternoon tea at the Cape Grace with some friends this afternoon (Sat 7 August). The Mt Nelson has the reputation in the Cape for this sort of thing, but, hey, I wanted to try the other "iconic" hotel in CapeTown. The result was staggeringly bad. We had to wait 20 minutes before we were found a table, another 20 minutes (yes, we timed it) before a waiter came to take our order, then he came back after 20 minutes and had forgotten the food...serious....the food was a platter of like it or lump it tired sandwiches at a fixed price of R80. The tables were too small for food and tea.....all in all, a dreadful experience......The Grace in Joburg recently closed.....you'd have thought this would have been a rocket up the staffs backsides.....Not so!....watch out guys....To the Mt nelson, we extend deep apologies....we'll be back there next time!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
15  Thank BaskersonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,692 - 1,698 of 2,097 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2011

I cannot imagine a better hotel experience anywhere! We are seasoned travelers and have stayed in some of the best places in the world. The Cape Grace is at the top of our list for elegance, location, and service.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view - spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Sadly we only stayed one night but it was wonderful. From the moment you step into the Hotel Lobby you are treated with respect and there is nothing they will not do to make your stay perfect.
The rooms are spacious, stunning view of Table Mt, ate supper in the Library, a wonderful dining experience, as was breakfast the following morning.. I cannot say enough about this remarkable hotel

Room Tip: All rooms are good some bigger than others. Fabulous bathrooms, request the side with the view of Ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelswithsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Cape Grace offers the best service, great staff and unbelivable views. Rooms are very comfotable and spacious.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fromage D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I've stayed at the Cape Grace several times over the years and never failed to be impressed with the service and friendliness of the staff. EVERY time you connect with ANY employee you get a genuine happy smile and a greeting.
This was my first visit since they "refashioned" and I love the new decor with its quirky touches and soft colors. The handpainted fabrics are gorgeous.
Awesome breakfast as always

Room Tip: The best views are of the marina and Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safarilady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I was in touch with the hotel before we arrived and they were full of information about local shopping, restaurants and interested in providing what we would need in our room. Upon arrival they did everything they could to accommodate us.
Unfortunately my husband fell ill and I had to scramble for medication. A number of the staff inquired about his health over the next 24 hours.
Terrific hotel, terrific staff, terrific room and location.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scuff66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Cape Grace is a beautiful quiet hotel in a fantastic position next to the Waterfront. Rooms are spacious and offer everything you are looking for. Luxurious amenities and a professional service in every way. I enjoyed my fantastic breakfast in my room and everything was done to minute. The whiskey bar is unique and if you don't want to dine in the hotel there is 50 restaurants next. The friendliness of the staff is outstanding

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tronblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,659 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,324 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,782 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,532 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $545 - $2,176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing