We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Property”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property”
Reviewed December 4, 2007

Cape Grace is a beautiful and elegant property located on the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront in Cape Town. Our experience was overall excellent with a few minor complaints. When you first get into the Cape Grace, the individuals at the door will ask if you are checking in and then direct you to a couch to wait until a rep can contact you. After a brief 5 minute wait, (we were checking in around 5:30 pm) we were helped with the rep. Sitting down at a table, the rep went through our booking, assigned our room and then proceeded to help us make any bookings that we might want to do for our stay (even hard to get ones like the Robbin Island tour). After that, he escorted us to our room, very professional. The room itself was very well appointed. We only had a normal room (no suite, loft etc). The room’s bathroom was situated away from the bed. It was very comfortable, and the bed itself was great. For any wake up calls, the hotel would also send up coffee if it was requested. While we didn’t eat at the restaurant during our stay, we did enjoy a few drinks at the Barscule bar. The bar itself was great, and the staff was friendly and helpful. They would come around just enough to not feel like they were not coming by and yet not being overly intrusive. The breakfast buffet was excellent, one of the best I’ve been to yet. Everything was fresh and professional. The only issue we had was that we purchased a picnic basket from catering for one of our day trips. We would have expected all the condiments on the side when you get this at 7:00 am. However they didn’t do that and the sandwiches were not very edible later in the day. When we indicated this to the hotel, they offered an apology but did not take it off the bill which I think was a little petty on their part. But if that is your only complaint after a 5 day stay, it’s a good stay. I didn’t feel the property was too stuff as other reviews have indicated, but there is definitely a level of professionalism that the staff displays which could be considered as being stuffy. All in all, an excellent hotel and I would definitely recommend this property to anyone. A true 5 star hotel.

  • Liked — Location, in V&A waterfront, yet 5 minute walk to all the resturants, bars & shopping.
  • Disliked — nothing really...
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank raja_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,722
    152
    45
    10
    16
See reviews for
343
1,061
68
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2007

My husband and I stayed here on the first leg of our honeymoon. The hotel is beautiful and the service is amazing. They knew it was our honeymoon so we arrived to a bottle of champagne and delicious desserts. The bathroom is absolutely beautiful with a huge tub. The hotel has drivers to take you wherever you want to go free of charge and the concierge will make reservations for tours and restaurants. My husband forgot shaving cream, I called down to the concierge, and it was at our door within minutes. One night we ordered room service and the food was outstanding. I also had one of the best massages I've ever had at the spa. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
180 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2007

We spent 5 nights in a rooftop luxury room and from the minute we arrrived we knew we had picked a great hotel. The informal reception area is very professional and welcoming and the whole hotel is elegant. The little touches on the fourth floor like water, fruit juice etc are a nice bonus and the Spa is great - very relaxed and attentive service and the relaxation room is the best waiting area I have ever encountered!

Very tiny negative would be the downstairs bar which was too smokey - so if you wanted a late night drink you had to go to the libraray which could be a little hit and miss on the service - but overall the staff were great, really helpful with reservations etc and the hotel cars to take you around are a very nice touch.

The big advantage of this hotel is being right in the waterfront - so you are able to stroll to shops and restaurants but get back to your hotel easily - would thoroughly recommend this hotel - especially if you only have a few nights in Cape Town.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank SharonAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

Amazing Grace
How sweet th' hotel...

In September my wife and I came to Cape Town for the first part of our two-week honeymoon. Unfortunately our enjoyment was blighted upon arrival at the airport when we discovered that South African Airways had lost both pieces of luggage in London.

After fifteen months of planning and such a happy wedding, this was an awful development owing to negligence of airport baggage handling staff, and the airline systems and controls generally. (Readers take note: pack plenty of hand luggage and *watch* that airline check-in clerk: they often neglect even their most basic jobs!!)

...That saved a wretch like SAA...

However thanks in no small part to this wonderful hotel, we were still able to have a lovely few days in Cape Town. They succeeded in salvaging this potential disaster. From the minute we arrived (with only the clothes on our backs and a few pieces of hand luggage), the staff gave us a warm and friendly welcome. They helped us as best they can, with countless thoughtful gestures to restore the enjoyment to our memorable honeymoon.

...How precious did that Grace appear
The hour we first needed!...

The Cape Grace staff also helped us deal with South African Airways. In fact some hotel staff went outside their normal duties on making some enquiries on our behalf to free our time to go sightseeing. They also gave us vital telephone numbers and advice which eventually led to our bags being recovered a few days later (no thanks to the airline!!). The hotel General Manager himself offered his assistance personally on a number of occasions, despite his own busy schedule with other guests.

...Through many dangers, toils and snares...
...Tis Grace has brought us safe thus far...

Moreover all this excellent extra service didn't detract from the Cape Grace's primary duty of running a hotel. The hotel room itself was very comfortable indeed, well kept and extremely clean. The public rooms were always of the highest standards, and we enjoyed the restaurant. They also recommended, and even booked, some very nice restaurants around the waterfront. Time and again their advice was well founded.

All in all, this is a truly excellent, well managed and courteous hotel. It is the gem of the V&A waterfront, and we'd recommend it to anyone looking for a pleasant stay in this beautiful city.

Our one fault was South African Airways, which can obviously learn a thing or two about the principles of good customer service. Perhaps the national airline should visit the Cape Grace Hotel and be open to some training!!

  • Liked — Courteous staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank moonrangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2007

Recently returned from a 5 night stay here in one of the rooftop terrace rooms. The terrace itself is a little small, but no problem for a sundowner or two.

Staff are very professional and, on the one occasion they did mess up a dinner reservation for us at Ginja, they did at least handle the situation well and booked us a suitable replacement and got us there quickly.

Very nice touches around the hotel such as refreshments in the lift lobby relevant to the time of day, and very efficient car transport service (even if a couple of the drivers seemed to think they were at Kyalami)

Probably the only poor part of the hotel is the bar, which is stuck somewhere between classic gentleman's club and a pub. No atmosphere and no lift access, which was a problem for my wife.

Otherwise, location and service make this probably the best option for a stay in Cape Town.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — The bar
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2007

An amazing hotel with outstanding service.
My husband and I stayed here for 3 days and loved the hotel.
You don't need to leave the hotel to enjoy Cape Town.
Would recommend!

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank asaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2007

What a great hotel !! Staff so welcoming and friendly from reception staff to doormen. Rooms good size and very clean. I was very impressed with the attention to detail in all aspects of this hotel. Breakfasts were great with good selection. Location was excellent as right at waterfront in the middle of things. Great start to our SA holiday!!

  • Liked — attention to detail
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,500 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#21 of 106 in Cape Town Central
2,065 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,653 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,469 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing