We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cape Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
Ranked #86 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
London
1 review
“Cape Suites”
Reviewed November 14, 2009

Large rooms - the rest of the hotel was fairly basic but it was very well located and excellent as a base for exploring the area.

Stayed April 2009
Helpful?
Thank Holetownfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    94
    72
    30
    34
See reviews for
86
59
29
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

Stayed here on my first full with in SA. First time driving on wrong side of the road too. Good walking location from center of town. Nice staff and large clean rooms. Pissed I left my good cheese from the wine tour in the mini fridge. Popular with tour groups.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkabout68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Lovely views of Table Mountain out the back! The whole site reminded me of small blocks on a housing estate but with a nice reception area. The rooms/suites were clean if basic in standard and better for a longer term self catering stay or for families.

Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank StilettoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid-September. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite room and were very happy with the room. Clean, beds were comfortable and plenty of space. The hotel staff were fantastic! They have an on-staff shuttle van driver that provides airport shuttle service. They will also take you to some of the top tourist destinations in Cape Town as long as you set it up in advance. He can be quite busy so you do need to make a "reservation". Otherwise, they front desk will call you a safe taxi. The staff also made some local calls on our behalf and set up a cape tour for us. Again, they were extremely helpful and courteous. This hotel offers free internet service which is always a plus. We ate only once in the dining room but the food was good. Only a few negative issues, and really they are minor. This hotel is situated too far from the V&A waterfront to walk so you must take the shuttle or a taxi. Basically,you will have to have some sort of transportation to anywhere you want to go. Also, one of the reasons we booked this hotel was for the onsite self laundry service as we knew we had to wash clothes half way thru our trip. You purchase tokens (nominal fee) from the front desk and they have designated washing machines and dryers that take the tokens. Only one washing machine worked and neither of the 2 dryers worked. We had to ask to use the hotel's machines which are located in the same room. The laundry attendant wasn't very helpful until we almost insisted that we paid to wash our clothes and now we can't because the machines are not working (they were VERY old). She finally relented and allowed us to use their machines but it was awkward and we could tell she wasn't happy with us. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel, especially if you want more space than a normal hotel room and you don't want to be in the middle of the V& A tourist area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingersling68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

The check in was smooth for the 3 of us in a two bedroom suite. & the helpful staff carried our heavy luggage to the suite. It was spacious, comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was good. As per earlier reviews definitely the reception staff doesnt smile at all !!! I donno why ??? The second day US$300 was stolen from our room from my wallet when we were at breakfast & found the room open on return. The duty manager MAGGIE was swift & polite at helping us and somehow managed to convince us that we had to put the money the locker provided. When we tries to do that, we found the locker itself had been removed & had fallen to the ground in the cupboard. But Maggie offered us complimentary dinner on the house that day ( which wasnt much as we dint like the food there ) & also breakfast for two other nights on our next stay. We stayed there mainly as it was just a walk away from our place of work ( Caledon Street ) & it is definitely value for money. ( ofcourse if you dont add up the US$300) but anyway losing the money was probably our fault as we had to keep it safe & ensure it had been locked, but never ever expected it to be stolen even otherwise. Ive stayed here couple of times before & nothing of this sort had happened & i was actually quite happy as they had renovated the place better than my stays before. As a frequent traveller to cape town i would recomend this hotel & would definitely stay again. (But I humbly request the hotel authorities to relook at their security of guest belongings) Again thanks MAGGIE for everything esp. the refreshment room offered to us before our flight even after checkout. P.S. Please lemme know by email :kareemalp@vsnl.net if you ever find my US$300.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — RECEPTION !!!
  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank laprincz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

after reading mixed reviews I stupidly booked for 4 nights. Got there (rude staff) to find the room wasn't ready for us and then were changed rooms 3 times. Gave up and decided to try somewhere else and were slogged 2 nights accomodation. Don't waste your time or money here!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emntone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home2wn, Manager at Best Western Cape Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2009
Our terms and conditions clearly state that check in time at the hotel is at 2p.m. The guests did not stay at the Best Western Cape Suites Hotel, they informed the reception staff that they were going to book in where their friends were staying. The guests requested a refund of their accommodation booked for the 4 nights stay, they originally booked.
The hotel refunded them for two nights accommodation and charged for the other two nights as this was very short notice for the hotel to re-sell the suites.
Our staff were effiecient and friendly and accepted their apology to go and stay where their friends were booked.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2009

This property has the best home away from home feel about it. The staff are extremely friendly and the Sales team are simply the most professional ladies we have ever met. Alette and Liezelle do this property proud. They both gave us the best service we experienced in a very long time with warm, genuine sincere heartfelt warmth . There should be more people of this calibre in the hotel industry.
The suites are spacious, clean, neat and well kept. The pool is well located, but the wooden decks require attention. Breakfast times were an absolute pleasure. Good variety and fresh food, replenished often. Services levels in this department could improve, they are slow to remove plates from the tables and not attentive to guests needs. Dinner has great variety, but someone is needed to explain the sauces on offer. Good fresh, tasty food. The staff at reception are willing to assist they are too serious need to smile and relax. The free parking and complimentary shuttle served us well.
Thank you to everyone who made our stay a memorable one. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohannesburgSeahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
566 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#78 of 106 in Cape Town Central
247 reviews
3.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Mowbray
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#76 of 106 in Cape Town Central
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 106 in Cape Town Central
439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#45 of 106 in Cape Town Central
753 reviews
0.9 mi away
The New Tulbagh Hotel
The New Tulbagh Hotel
#95 of 106 in Cape Town Central
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Cape Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Cape Suites Hotel

Property: Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
Address: Corner of De Villiers & Constitution | Zonnebloem, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Cape Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Table Mountain, with views of the Cape Town city skyline and Table Bay, lies the BEST WESTERN Cape Suites Hotel, a village-style hotel with a total of 123 studio, one, two and three-bedroom suites. Guests will enjoy a home away from home environment in spacious accommodations, air-conditioned suites with fully equipped kitchens, all at three star standards. Our suites can accommodate several guests, providing twin beds in each bedroom and a double sleeper couch in the lounge. Ideally located, the hotel is a five-minute drive to the famous V & A Waterfront and a 15-minute drive to the beaches of Camps Bay and Clifton. The BEST WESTERN Cape Suites Hotel provides a sensible alternative in offering affordable accommodations for tour groups, business travelers, families and individuals who are looking for spacious accommodations with convenient amenities in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Cape Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cape Hotel Cape Town Central
Best Western Cape Town
Cape Town Best Western
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing