We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place buts needs some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
Ranked #86 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place buts needs some TLC”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here over Christmas with friends from Dubai. The buidings etc are lovely but there appeared no attention to maintainance.
When we arrived the aircon was not working. Fixed the following day but ran at minimum 24d for our two bedroomed unit.
One toilet seat had only one bolt holding it in place.
Then the shower pressure failed, followed by the front door handle coming off.
It really is a nice place but needs some TLC.
Staff are very helpful other than front desk females who are brusk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supermac1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCSH, General Manager at Best Western Cape Suites Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Good day,

It was with immense regret that I learnt of your unfortunate experience with regards to the maintenance issues during your stay at the BEST WESTERN Cape Suites Hotel.

At the outset may I assure you that we at the BEST WESTERN Cape Suites Hotel consider this service to be of paramount importance and this aspect receives attention at all times.
The fact that you did not receive the appropriate service on this occasion is therefore deeply disconcerting and sorely regretted.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Matt Antonelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    99
    72
    31
    34
See reviews for
87
61
31
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My family and I checked in at night and we were given a room that backed up to the street. No chance of sleeping as we heard every car that drove by and the door to the patio didn't even lock. Some drunks in a nearby room had a heated scuffle around midnight at the pool right outside my door, and calling the front desk was useless - they could care less. An hour later there was more loud arguing and a crashing noise that sounded like a door being kicked in. Again the front desk couldn't be bothered. Unable to get another hotel on Christmas Day we accepted the offer of a new room but declined the free dinner. The only positive note was the free breakfast, which wasn't bad. The Internet was free but only worked near the office and the A/C units are quite noisy. They advertise guest laundry, but the machines are old and broken down. They have two dryers, but one has no drum inside.
I could go on, but suffice it to say the property is poorly run and not in very good condition. New management and renovations may make it a good property, but that has yet to be seen. I would avoid this place.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank expatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCSH, General Manager at Best Western Cape Suites Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Good day,

I am very upset to hear of your unfortunate experience with regards to your stay at the BEST WESTERN Cape Suites Hotel. I wish to assure you that this is not a regular occurrence at the Best Western Cape Suites Hotel.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the aggravation endured.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Matt Antonelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

this was a beautiful family hotel. its like a home away from home. the staff are friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was just good. i would certainly recommend this hotel to any family coming for holiday in cape town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamiso Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2012

many pluses for this establishment.
Neat and clean, picturesque views, convenient location.
a different hotel experience - more like a home away from home.
the complementary shuttle service to/from the airport, the city centre and the waterfront shopping center is another draw card.
pricing is reasonable and the self catering option and the kitchen brings in added value.
Oh and the staff are extremely knowledgeable and friendly.

Room Tip: excellent value. views of either the mountain or the foreshore are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manoj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The two drawing cards for me were location and kitchen facilities. I like to have control of my nutrition when I am on the road as 3 meals a day in restaurants are hard on the waistline. The kitchen facilities were basic but functional. The location was an easy walk to the downtown business district and the hop-on/hop-off bus route. The furnishings and decor of the room were an extended flashback to the 50s. The fact that the hotel was painting trim on the window sills was a minor irritant. The big surprise benefit from the visit was the shuttle service. Airport pickup was nice but no surprise. The big plus came from the service to Camps Bay or the V&A waterfront.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake in the hills, IL
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My friend and I stayed here last month and I can honestly say it was one of the BEST hotels I've ever stayed at, especially for the price!!!! The rooms were unbelievably huge. We each had what was called a "single studio" but it was literally like having a 2 bedroom apartment! It had two full bedrooms and 2 full baths. It also had a full kitchen....micro, stove, oven, refrig/freezer...everything but a dishwasher LOL. Big living area with TV and couch/end table etc. And a nice balcony too. The room rate (which was about $79/night per room) included breakfast and that was an actual buffet. It had both hot and cold items and someone making eggs to order. I have low blood sugar so a refrig is important and also a nice breakfast that has either eggs, cheese, meats...something with good protein to keep me going so I was thrilled. The staff were very helpful and if you come in or leave between regular hours (I don't remember when she said it started but it went until 9:30pm) they will pick you up or drop you off at the airport, also included in the price! I would recommend this hotel to anyone and if I come back (which is a definite possibility) I will book here again in a second!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rockgirl416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Spent a few days in Cape Town at this hotel in 2011. Staff was very accommodating and polite. They helped us schedule a few trips/tours as we were from the US and didn't know the area well. Even had taxis come pick us up and drop us off at places. There is a restaurant on the property, which was great for breakfast. We enjoyed eating there as it was so convenient.

The rooms were a bit disappointing. The room seemed dingy. Like everything had just barely been cleaned. The air conditioner was noisy, but it served us well for the few days we were there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#37 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#78 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
3.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Mowbray
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#76 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#70 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.9 mi away
The New Tulbagh Hotel
The New Tulbagh Hotel
#97 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Cape Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Cape Suites Hotel

Property: Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
Address: Corner De Villiers & Constitution Street | Zonnebloem, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Cape Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Table Mountain, with views of the Cape Town city skyline and Table Bay, lies the BEST WESTERN Cape Suites Hotel, a village-style hotel with a total of 123 studio, one, two and three-bedroom suites. Guests will enjoy a home away from home environment in spacious accommodations, air-conditioned suites with fully equipped kitchens, all at three star standards. Our suites can accommodate several guests, providing twin beds in each bedroom and a double sleeper couch in the lounge. Ideally located, the hotel is a five-minute drive to the famous V & A Waterfront and a 15-minute drive to the beaches of Camps Bay and Clifton. The BEST WESTERN Cape Suites Hotel provides a sensible alternative in offering affordable accommodations for tour groups, business travelers, families and individuals who are looking for spacious accommodations with convenient amenities in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Cape Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cape Hotel Cape Town Central
Best Western Cape Town
Cape Town Best Western
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing