We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous value for a 'home away from home'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
Ranked #81 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We lucked into this gem of a place while planning our vacation in South Africa with a week to spend in Cape Town. We had a fabulous 2bedroom/2bath end unit on the 3rd floor with a balcony where we could sit early in the morning with a cup of coffee and plan out our day. When we were in for the afternoon and it was too hot to sit in the balcony, our living room with a sofa, 2 chairs and TV was very comfortable and relaxing. Our unit had a kitchen that had all the necessary utensils, appliances, dishes, etc. While we didn't spend time cooking, it was great to be able to eat a light breakfast and snack when the on-site restaurant was closed. This resort has some units on the 3rd floor but there are no elevators, so be prepared to climb up the stairs with luggage if you get one of those units.
The hotel: our first impression was that this hotel was friendly with a 'welcome' board outside the lobby...such a nice touch. The front desk staff were friendly, smiling and eager to ensure your request was taken care of. Sometimes there would be a line of 3 to 4 guests, but you could easily be distracted with the complimentary apples and candies and information on the various attractions in Cape Town and surrounding area.
Complimentary services: They offered shuttle service to V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain, City Bowl, Camp Bay and more importantly the Airport. The driver, Henri, is a wonderful ambassador for the hotel. He was always on time, knowledgeable and eager to recommend tourist 'must-see' in Cape Town. You do need to book the shuttle in advance, but we had no problem as we were flexible and when we did need a definite time (like our trip back to the airport), we booked the shuttle days in advance. So plan accordingly and book the shuttle as soon as you know your plans so as not to be disappointed. This service saved us a lot of Rands.
Another complimentary service was WIFI and Internet access. While we had our IPad, there were 3 computers in the lobby for the guests to use. The reception desk gives you a voucher for complimentary WIFI, so we used the Internet from the comfort of our room. Nice feature as we would update our family back home, daily.
Another much appreciated was the complimentary bottles of water, specially when doing the trips to the beach or Table Mountain in hot temperatures.
Restaurant: there was a restaurant on-site that was opened for breakfast and dinner. They offered continental and full buffet breakfast. Reasonable prices and good value. The breakfast offered ample choices of cereals, juices, fruits, baked goods, ham and cheese and eggs, etc. A very nice surprise was when the Duty Managere advised us that our breakfast was 'on the house' on my husband's birthday. This action scored big points with us as it wasn't something we expected. The buffet at dinner was good but didn't offer too much choice in foods. We however enjoyed every meal eaten there. Service was clean and attentive and reasonably priced.
Other features: A bar/lounge on site . We went there once but were too tired from our day's activities, so didn't stay too long. How we, it was great for the younger and more energetic guests. Of course with a bar, goes the noise. While our unit was away from the bar and we didn't hear any noise, I heard from some of the other guests that there was the usual bar sounds late into the night.
A playground with swings and slides for families with children. As well, there were 2 swimming pools that were clean and comfortable. We didn't see any lifeguards while we were there, so caution is advisable.
Location: While this hotel is not on the waterfront or downtown, it is within a 15minute walking distance to various places. We walked to Green Market Square, Bo-Kaap district and the City Bowl and the train station to get a better feel for the local area. However if you don't like to walk, there is the shuttle service.
Thank you Best Western Cape Suites and your wonderful staff for making our visit to Cape Town such a wonderful
one.

Stayed: March 2012
4  Thank avilacanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 343 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

We were there for 2 nights. Rooms were large comfortable and clean. Great breakfast.
Would recommend it to any one.
Some of the staff were very friendly but others were downright grumpy. Internet was a challenge.
While we had our own car, we weren't offered the free transfers to table mountain etc. like the others have written on trip advisor.
As long as you know where you are going and have set plans, you can't go wrong with this b and b.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank sramalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

During a 2 night visit to Cape Town, I had the pleasure of staying at this property. They offered free airport transfer along with transfers to Table Mountain, the CBD & Waterfront. The room was spacious and comfortable and the staff friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ledpjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

At the beginning of February 2012 we spent a week in a spacious 2-bedroom/2-bathroom unit with views.
The apartment came with a kitchen which contained a fridge, full electric cooking range and dinner/glass & table ware, but no cookware. There's also a flat screen TV with a few channels.
Internet was terribly spotty, but with enough patience we managed to pick up wi-fi in our room off and on.
Do not expect any particular luxuries - everything is basic in the apartments, but adequate enough for even a long stay.
The two pools are certainly a bonus and the seemingly popular bar was packed every night during our stay.

The staff is very helpful and with the lovely Shoni at her reception desk, no issue was too much trouble. The shuttle service was a great bonus and the driver Henry our favorite - he was pleasant, polite, engaging, and very knowledgeable - he did not hesitate to lecture us on our request about anything interesting to do with SA during our frequent rides.

In short, this accommodation is highly recommended if you don't expect luxury but can appreciate a no-frills, spacious, clean apartment that's in walking distance to stores and well located at the bottom of Table Mountain, just a short distance from V & A Waterfront and other interesting places.

We certainly hope to come back in due time to this wonderful gem !

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Genise_VDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We spent a week at the beginning of the New Year in a 2 bedroom unit which was spacious, generously stocked, well-appointed and serviced daily. The hotel is well located and within easy reach of just about every place of interest in Cape Town and its surrounds. Attentive staff made for a very pleasant stay as did the facilities on the premises: sparkling pools, on-site restaurant/bar and hearty breakfast buffets. Room service was also prompt and competent. All-in-all our stay at Best Western Cape Suites was a definite winner on all fronts. The bonus was the complimentary shuttle to various locations in the Mother City and the abundant, safe on-site parking. We will ceratinly makes this "jewel" our regular holiday accommodation. Well done and thank you to the management and staff for making our stay a home-away-from-home experience!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the busy pool areas and the bar, especially at night, will afford one a better night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We had a very spacious unit with two bedrooms and ensuite bathrooms,Clean and well maintained and good value. A short taxi ride into the city area. We left a folder with some papers behind and the staff were very helpful in forwarding them on to our next accommodation

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janewestshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed in a 3 bedroom suite for 6 nights in January '12. The staff would go out of their way to be very pleasant and helpful and no request was too big. The rooms were very large, kitchen well equipped, and a large lounge with satelitte tv. The complimentary shuttle was also an added bonus in this well-located hotel overlooking Table Mountain.

Room Tip: Room 40 is very well located, poolside, and 3 bedroom with loads of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hershey67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 110 in Cape Town Central
811 reviews
City Bowl
Ikhaya Lodge
Ikhaya Lodge
#82 of 110 in Cape Town Central
76 reviews
The One 8 Hotel
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parliament Hotel
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
596 reviews
Hotel on St Georges
#75 of 110 in Cape Town Central
464 reviews
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
#106 of 110 in Cape Town Central
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Cape Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Cape Suites Hotel

Address: Corner De Villiers & Constitution Street | Zonnebloem, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $76 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Cape Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Table Mountain, with views of the Cape Town city skyline and Table Bay, lies the BEST WESTERN Cape Suites Hotel, a village-style hotel with a total of 123 studio, one, two and three-bedroom suites. Guests will enjoy a home away from home environment in spacious accommodations, air-conditioned suites with fully equipped kitchens, all at three star standards. Our suites can accommodate several guests, providing twin beds in each bedroom and a double sleeper couch in the lounge. Ideally located, the hotel is a five-minute drive to the famous V & A Waterfront and a 15-minute drive to the beaches of Camps Bay and Clifton. The BEST WESTERN Cape Suites Hotel provides a sensible alternative in offering affordable accommodations for tour groups, business travelers, families and individuals who are looking for spacious accommodations with convenient amenities in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Cape Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cape Hotel Cape Town Central
Best Western Cape Town
Cape Town Best Western
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing