We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
Nearby Hotels
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
$193
$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
$150
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$137
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$330
$308
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
$719
$670
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The PortsWood(Cape Town Central)
$204
$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$76
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$211
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$240
$227
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
499 results
Traveler rating
204
201
71
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
201
71
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun squaregarden court de waaltable mountaintsogo sun hotelspriced hotelnice pool areastayed at this hotel for nightsbreakfast staffclose proximitychecking inclean roomspleasant staytea and coffeeeasy accesscompany gardensenjoyed my staycentral location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
411 - 416 of 499 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Have stayed there several times during 2011/12. It's very central, rooms are clean, comforable and everything works. Staff are pleasant and helpful (except the barman). Breakfast buffet is excellent, haven't eaten any other meals there as there are so many restaurants nearby. I found the bar prices quite high though, especially the wine prices, the house wine was undrinkable - and this is the heart of South African wine country. Barman was also a bit miserable. Reception staff were very helpful, especially at getting us taxi's.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

The Garden Court was just what we needed for our three night stay in Cape Town. It has a lovely vines of Table Mountain and is conveniently located near the bus stop. It is also located near a small convenience store great for takeouts for day trips or back to the room after a busy day of touring.

The included breakfast buffet was more than sufficient and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Mountain view is wonderful if you plan on being at the hotel for any part of the day. Opposite side is nice for a nighttime view of the city lights.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ofmyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I stayed in Garden Court de Waal from 8th to 13th November, 2011. As it was part of a great flight+hotel internet deal, I was a bit scared of what I would find. Great surprise! The room was very clean, nice view to the Table Mountain (so we could see whether toe top was too clody or not), a huge choice of food for breakfast, kind and attentive staff. Close to the Waterfront, reachable by a taxii ride that didn't cost more than 70 rands. Definitely worth staying there. The low point was internet access, payable, slow and with confusing instructions.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaCris1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The hotel is good value for money, has a good location, rooms are large and fairly well furnished. The breakfast spread is good.
What spoils the experience is first the unfriendly staff -- they seem unhappy to see you and secondly the terrible state of the plumbing. This was not peculiar to my room, my friends in two other rooms had similar plumbing problem.
Inspite of the problems its a place where we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prasanta45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a week B and B. We were concerned that the total cost for a week was so low that we had made a mistake. What a surprise therefore to find such a clean well kept room, service was so polite and excellent from all the staff we dealt with and maintenance fixed a small bathroom problem within the hour. We had arrived after having been robbed of belongings in Franschhoek and really wanted to go home, but we soon settled by the first morning when we saw what was available for breakfast and are thoughts of "too cheap a stay" put at rest.
The hotel is centrally situated--easy to get to Table Mountain and the Waterfront, and close by is the Gardens Shopping centre. One negative comment was the poolside being close to a busy road was noisy and the occcasional diesel fumes blew over, but then the hotel is not new and no doubt would not be designed that way today.
The resturant is adequate if you want to stay in or you can use room service for the same items. If they are busy they provide a buffet supper.
All told good value--would stay again.. Tip book early and if you over 63 tell them.

Room Tip: Ice machine is on second floor--noisy. Ask for one slightly away from the lifts, and with a view of the mountain
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FRED B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews