We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”
Review of Goloso

Goloso
Ranked #70 of 1,257 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Established in 2010, Goloso has become a firm local favorite for authentic Italian cuisine served in a welcoming, relaxing environment. Specializing in hand made pasta and stone baked pizza, we also offer a wide variety of starters, grills and delectable home made desserts, as well a full bar boasting a comprehensive wine list and Darling Brew craft beer on tap. Owner run and managed, we take pride in offering great food, friendly service and unbeatable value for money through our daily lunch and dinner specials.
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile

Small Italian restaurant specializing in pizzas and pastas and other home made dishes. The service was friendly and professional. Don't forget the desserts and that apple pie...excellent

Thank eddell362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goloso_Owner, Owner at Goloso, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for your visit and this lovely review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our home made apple pie so much!
Made daily from ripe granny smith apples, cinnamon and sugar and baked in a "00" flour crust, it is a firm favorite on our menu and we aim to keep serving it for as long as we can.

We look forward to seeing you again.

All the best
The Goloso Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 223 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

Snuck in for a dinner at short notice and we nabbed a table. The service was good and the waiters friendly. The star of the show was the undoubtedly the pizza I'm fussy when it comes to Italian food as it's usually tough to beat my mamma's cooking. This was excellent though we like it thin and light and it delivered a charm. I'd easily recommend this place. It's fair value but not a bargain. Go you won't be disappointed....

Thank craig93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goloso_Owner, Owner at Goloso, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for your visit and this fantastic review. We are super happy to hear you liked our thin-crust stone-baked pizza so much.
We take care to use proper Italian "00" flour for all our pizzas and pastas, and our pizzas are stone baked in an Italian pizza oven according to centuries old traditions to give that wonderfully light, thin crunchy crust.
Thank you also for noting our good and friendly service, we are fortunate to have a great team of long-serving staff who really enjoy looking after all our wonderful customers.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards
The Goloso Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017 via mobile

That is what the sign says and that is what you get!

A quaint little Italian homemade food spot on the main road. Good service, good selection and good food. Pizza, pasta and some Italian meals are all served fresh and tasty.

Setting not that spectacular and a little pricey but I cannot fault the food or the service.

Thank Whctree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goloso_Owner, Owner at Goloso, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017

Dear guest

Thank you very much for your visit and this lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed our hand made pasta and stone baked pizza so much.
As noted, we cook almost 100% of our menu from scratch on a daily basis, according to age old methods and using the best ingredients we can find.
While there is a slight premium attached to that, we have managed to maintain good value by offering a hand made niche product at prices similar to or below that of the mainstream, mass market franchises.

Thank you again for your visit, we look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards
The Goloso Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017

The pizza was great, very yummy and generously covered with toppings, however it was not quite the way you they do pizzas in Italy (not enough pizza sauce, not quite that mozzarella cheese etc.) but, in any case, that does not mean the place does not deserve five dots here. A very nice restaurant and so far my favorite pizza place in South Africa. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brnensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goloso_Owner, Owner at Goloso, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Dear guest

Thank you for your visit and this great review. We are very glad you liked our stone-baked pizza so much!
As you noted, we do indeed serve a slightly "tweaked" pizza compared to what one would find in Italy, for the simple reason that we have to satisfy local tastes to retain universal appeal. For the same reason our hand-made pastas have quite a bit more sauce than what is strictly traditional. Nonetheless, we are glad you enjoyed our take on pizza equally as much!

We look forward to seeing you again.

All the best
The Goloso Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017

Goloso looks like any other restaurant on the street but we found the food a notch above. They had interesting dishes that all had wonderful flavor.

Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goloso_Owner, Owner at Goloso, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2017

Dear guest

Thank you very much for your visit and this excellent review.
In a crowded restaurant street, your words are high accolades indeed!

We look forward to seeing you again.

All the best
The Goloso Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goloso also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Goloso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing