We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find....Seapoint”

The Rockwell Dinner Theatre
Ranked #93 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Enveloped in the quaint decor of the Cape, international and local guests of all ages, whilst enjoying a scrumptious buffet and Cape wines, will be transported into the world of entertainment featuring our production "Kaapse Stories from the Mother City", written and directed by award winning Basil Appollis, we meet a Cape family in a show filled with the humor, intoxicating rhythm and soulful songs unique to Cape Town. Forged from the hardships and misfortunes of the past, emerges a triumphant community - the original 'Rainbow Nation'.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great little find....Seapoint”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The food was Fab and very reasonably priced...on a Sunday they have live music...the evening we went there ended up being a "jam session" of friends...very enjoyable...we enjoyed it so much we went 2 days later only to find the restaurant empty but transpired everyone was upstairs for the Cabaret...what a treat...whilst we hadn't booked they allowed us to see the last 1/2 free of charge (&took our meal/drinks upstairs for us)...it was a cross between song/comedy/opera all about aparteid...very very good...what fab singers...this is a must if in sea point

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germandt G, Guest Relations Manager at The Rockwell Dinner Theatre, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Jill O,

We are so glad that you had a great time at Richard's! We are so glad that you got to see the last half of the show! Hopefully next time, you will come and see the whole one.
Thank you for your compliments!

Sincerely,
Germandt Geldenhuys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    108
    40
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a Night!!!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

As an avid coffee lover and a fan of the outdoors, I love coming to Richards for that cuppa of Java delivered with nothing less than a great smile. With the heaters and red velvet blankies on those cold covered days... there's nothing better than coming here.

After many weeks of lunches, coffees and chatting to new and wonderful people, I finally had the opportunity to experience the by night Supper Stage, which on the 7th of September (Saturday) had me picking my jaw up of the floor. Being a last minute arrangement, my date was my Handsome 6 year old. This was his first time watching a stage show (no people in living in the T.v), to my surprise, he enjoyed it as much as i did.

Upon sitting at my table, i had no idea what i was about to witness, Kaapse Stories was showing that night. Starting off with some music, the piano played by Benny and guitar by Charlie while entertained by the host - Gerald. The night progressed into amazement when true talent played out by the cast Pa Joe, Roxy, Ruth and Pumi. I take my hat off to these artists that keep the audience in real awe of what Cape town has to offer. I felt so spoilt and slept like a baby that night!

*****
WELL DONE GUYS!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germandt G, Guest Relations Manager at The Rockwell Dinner Theatre, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Luanne H,

Reviews like yours are the reason that we do what we do and that we will keep on doing so.
It is so great to hear that you and your son had such a splendid time and hopefully in future, we will see you again. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and thank you kindly for your feedback.

Take care,

Germandt Geldenhuys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Charming, caring staff, great show and great food.”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Such a friendly greeting, a glass of prosecco, interesting decor, attentive service, lively compere, great singing all round and a really tasty buffet - we had a fantastic time. Our accomodation was near by so we asked if would be OK to walk back - at once we were assured someone would walk with us - and he did. Thanks Joshua!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenKew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germandt G, Guest Relations Manager at The Rockwell Dinner Theatre, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear KarenKew,

Thank you so much for this glowing 5-star review. Your attention to detail was very evident and we are glad that we matched, if not exceeded your expectations.
Thank you for this feedback, it reminds us why we do what we do.

P.S Joshua says "it was my pleasure to escort you home."

Regards,

Germandt Geldenhuys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a night”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went with a group on a quiet Tuesday night but although the restaurant was by no means full the show was excellent. The food was good but it was the show that makes me say don't miss it. What a team

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EAG280244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germandt G, Guest Relations Manager at The Rockwell Dinner Theatre, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear EAG280244,

Thank you for this positive review, we appreciate it very much. Sometimes the audience isn't always "packed", but as the old Queen song goes: "The show must go on" and we try to always deliver in that regard.
Thank you for this wonderful feedback!

Kind Regards,

Germandt Geldenhuys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greyton, South Africa
Level Contributor
195 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Great show, fantastic food. Real local Cape Town”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Congratulations to Gerard and the team. A fantastic talent, with all local artists, singing their way through a narration of life in Cape Town and more specifically, District 6. The buffet was very generous with local specialities, all very tasty. Includes fish, chicken and fillet of beef with a superb array of local vegetables. Well prepared and enjoyable. Personally though, I would leave off the malva pudding as it doesn't do justice to the rest of the menu. Thanks Gerry and the team for excellent entertainment and food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewCTKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germandt G, Guest Relations Manager at The Rockwell Dinner Theatre, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear AndrewJP62,

Thank you so much for this positive feedback - we are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us!
Regarding the malva pudding, we are in the process of implementing a top-secret recipe (one that has been handed down from generations) and we are certain that this new way of making the South African specialty will be more conducive to the South African way of making malva pudding.

Regards,

Germandt Geldenhuys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rockwell Dinner Theatre also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Rockwell Dinner Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing