We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kaapse Stories... not only a story”

The Rockwell Dinner Theatre
Ranked #104 of 1,182 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Enveloped in the quaint decor of the Cape, international and local guests of all ages, whilst enjoying a scrumptious buffet and Cape wines, will be transported into the world of entertainment featuring our production "Kaapse Stories from the Mother City", written and directed by award winning Basil Appollis, we meet a Cape family in a show filled with the humor, intoxicating rhythm and soulful songs unique to Cape Town. Forged from the hardships and misfortunes of the past, emerges a triumphant community - the original 'Rainbow Nation'.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great performance from artist(s) as well kitchen- and restaurant Staff ! Perfect combination of entertainment and nice food, as you see it very little. Well trained and attentive Staff, affordable price-setting in a cosy atmosphere. To be recommended !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PeterRaes01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland S, Owner at The Rockwell Dinner Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for visiting us and taking the trouble to mention us on trip TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind compliments which I shall pass on to my colleagues including the cast. Your comments are greatly appreciated and provide encouragement for our "proudly Capetonian experience" --- we hope to be able to welcome you back soon here at Richard's. Happy holiday / Roland and the Richard's team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 345 of 425 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

The entertainment is good. The food is average. Dinner and shows never seem to work. Waited ages for our change after paying.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bernie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland S, Owner at The Rockwell Dinner Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Good Day Bernie D,

We appreciate the review of our establishment and the visit to our show.

We will take this matter up with our team, and we will certainly train them to make sure that this doesn't happen again.

We hope that this experience won't stop you from visiting us again in the future.

Warm regards,

Roland Seidel
Owner
Richard's Supper Stage & Bistro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Seldom have I experienced all round excellence as I did at the Valentines evening festivities. Exceptional and polished performances from the entire cast, world class service, tasty simple, beautifully prepared food and warm, genuinely caring dinner hosts, made this visit a definite " come back again" venue
My partner an I were moved to tears of joy and poignancy at the changing scene. The accompaniment was simply world class.
Please, do yourself a treat and GET THERE!!!!
Garth Miller

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Garth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germandt G, Manager at The Rockwell Dinner Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Good Day Garth M,

Thank you so much for your kind words here on Tripadvisor.

We sincerely hope to see you here at Richard's again soon.

Regards,

Germandt Geldenhuys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We went there for their Valentines day buffet and Kaapse stories show. I did not know what to expect because i have never been to a show like this before. To my surprise we had the best time ever. Wonderful warm service, home style comfort food, great performances. I would strongly recommend this experience to anyone who enjoys live music and a good night out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germandt G, Manager at The Rockwell Dinner Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Good Day Anita,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad that we managed to exceed your expectations in so many ways.

We hope to see you here again in the future!

Regards,

Germandt Geldenhuys
Venue Co-Ordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

If you visit Cape Town, South Africa, be sure to come and have one of the best times of your life at this super venue. The show is excellent, the food is really 5*. A very good spend

Thank Portapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germandt G, Guest Relations Manager at The Rockwell Dinner Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2014

Dear Portapower,

Thank you so much for this glowing recommendation.
We hope to see you again soon at Richard's Supper Stage!

Kind Regards,

Germandt Geldenhuys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rockwell Dinner Theatre also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Rockwell Dinner Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing