We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recommended for a comfortable stay”
Review of Vip Cape Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vip Cape Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the VIP Cape Lodge. This time on my own, the 1st time was with my Hubby. The lodge is quiet, calm, with good situation close to city centre, trendy Kloof Road, the airport, and easy trip thru to Claremont and Newlands - all against the traffic at peak times. The rooms are comfortable with limited frills and fancies which allows them to keep the costs reasonable and not to break the budget. All rooms (except for room 5) are fully self-catering with TV and heaters. I am booked to stay again in October with my hubby.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms 1 - 4 are quieter and a better option than room 6. Room 5 may share the kitchen...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoccaJava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Vip Cape Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 94 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

Thank you so very much, we had a wonderful, too short stay, Irene was amazing, the place, serene, the perfect hideaway, from everyone and everything, so close to the Mountain, with just a hint of German influence, and, of course, Nala.


Thank you again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank JanineWesternCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great location! My husband and I stayed at VIP Cape Town Lodge for 1 night - we were attending a New Year's Eve party in Kloof Street, so we wanted accommodation nearby and from the lodge it really is very easy downhill stroll to Kloof (and you can always catch a taxi if you don't want to tackle the uphill on your way back). Parsh was extremely friendly and the room was very clean. It was a great choice for an overnight stay and the price was good.

It is not the most luxurious guesthouse - the furniture is and decor is outdated, mattress wasn't great, tiny towels, awful single ply toiletpaper and no aircon / fan. However, it was clean and comfortable. I think it is a good self-catering choice for those who want to explore Cape Town on a budget. The room has a lot of storage space, a good-size kitchenette with a breakfast nook and an en-suite bathroom with a shower. There is also a large communal lounge area with leather couches and television that guests can use.


  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Karien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

By far the worse accommodation through our trip of 3 stays in the garden route!

I actually don't know where to start so here goes:

1) TV reception is very poor with no dstv, only SABC 1,2,3 and etv. There was also no TV remote.
2) The lounge seating area had the most uncomfortable seats you'll ever sit on. These were accompanied by garden chairs to make your seating just that much more special.
3) The bed sags in the middle and you'll wake up with a back ache every morning. Thank God I have a wife who massaged me in the morning. The beds also makes loud springy noises if u move an inch (very annoying). Nobody should be sleeping on these beds which should be at least 20 years old.
4) The kitchen cabinets don't close properly and some handles fall off.
5) Even though there was a fridge, there was no freezer. The owners did freeze our meat for us though.
6) The length of the curtain was shorter then the curtain rail, so basically you'd wake up to a room half lit with sunlight.
7) The towels don't dry you off properly! Don't know how else to explain this........
8) The toilet wasn't flushing properly.......

Would not recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hamilBhoora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The only positive thing about this lodge is its location. Very central. The room we stayed in was terrible. The beds were old&worn out and sagged in the middle. The bathroom was tiny and the toilet flush mechanism did not release which was very annoying. The towels we were given were also old. There was no lounge area to speak of with the most uncomfortabLe bench to sit on. Some of th cupboards in th kitchen were broken, there was no freezer. The rooms were not cleaned for the duration of our stay. There was very poor reception on th tv. A big problem was also the lack of secure parking. We had to park on the road outside. All in all definitely not worth the money we spent and would not recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank urvi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We spent 2 nights at this well-situated accommodation. The picture gives the impression that your car will be in the driveway, but it is actually street parking unless you want to pay an extra fee. It is a safe area, however. The room was decent, but not very clean. Bugs on the floor, a hair clip from a prior guest, and dirty mirrors. The worst aspect was that the beds were extremely uncomfortable. In our room, 4 light bulbs (globes) were out or missing. The proprieter promised to get the lights fixed for us, but did nothing. When I mentioned this at our departure, she said that she had tried very hard but that the stores had closed early. I'm badly put off by such "storytelling"... Unfortunately, the great location was cancelled out by our sore backs and negative experiences. I travel to Cape Town quite a bit and have lived in South Africa for 8 years (US expat). I will not use this establishment again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1dana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This self-catering lodge is a much better value than the backpacker places in the area. It is owned and run by a very friendly and helpful family. My daughter and I really enjoyed having our own shower and kitchen, not to mention peace and quiet! I will definitely stay there next time I visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thaitraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
The Lions
The Lions
#37 of 156 in Cape Town Central
86 reviews
City Bowl
Gap Lodge
Gap Lodge
#75 of 156 in Cape Town Central
65 reviews
City Bowl
Liberty Lodge
Liberty Lodge
#23 of 156 in Cape Town Central
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
12 Hofmeyr
12 Hofmeyr
#64 of 156 in Cape Town Central
39 reviews
City Bowl
The Cape Colonial
The Cape Colonial
#95 of 156 in Cape Town Central
39 reviews
City Bowl
Kloof Nek Suites
Kloof Nek Suites
#86 of 156 in Cape Town Central
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vip Cape Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vip Cape Lodge

Address: 3 Newport Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $45 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vip Cape Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This privately owned lodge with six private and intimate self-catering units is situated at the foot of Table Mountain in Gardens. We specialise in families and couples and respect your privacy. Each self-catering unit is fully equipped with own entrance. We are passionate about our lodge and aim to provide excellent service. Relax in the garden under the shade of large trees and savour the tranquillity or watch squirrels and birds playing in the trees. Enjoy our Labrador, Nala, a gentle loving companion and our puppy Coco, who loves to play. Gardens appears to lie cradled in the arms of Table Mountain. It is surrounded by the city, Lion's Head and Table Mountain making this popular suburb an easy one in which to base yourself when in Cape Town. Just over the ridge lies Camps Bay with its beautiful pristine beaches. Gardens is perfectly placed to explore the rest of Cape Town and the hum of the city makes its presence felt here. Family unit - 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, fully equipped self-catering kitchen, dining and small patio with separate entrance. Option of twin single beds or king bed per room. Default is king bed. Please specify otherwise. Double unit - 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, fully equipped self-catering kitchenette and dinette with separate entrance. Option of twin single beds or king bed per room. Default is king bed. Please specify otherwise. Single unit - 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, fully equipped self-catering kitchenette and dinette with separate entrance. Single bed available only The lodge has communal lounge and utility area with a pool table, table tennis, DSTV. There is laundry and braai facilities, a splash pool, WI-FI and free internet, TV in all rooms. All linen and towels are provided as well as basic toiletries. We are centrally located between the CBD and Table Mountain, 4 kms from V&A, and 4-5 kms from the pristine Camps Bay and Clifton beaches. We offer airport transfers and sight-seeing tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vip Cape Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vip Cape Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing