We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pizza, something to improuve.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Burrata

Burrata
Ranked #129 of 1,142 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Salerno, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good pizza, something to improuve.”
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

We are from italy and we spent nice saturday in this place. Pizza was ok. Really good pizza. We ate a margherita and mozza both very good. Also the two starters ok. A good fried vegetables and a Puglia burrata very good. 2 biers at normal price. Drink wine here Is very expensive. Also water Is charged 37 rand! Service not so fast but waiters were kind. Total price 2 persons 400 rand pizza+appetizer. Not cheap.
We will go again here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MassimoXMeridio1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    101
    34
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The upmarket decor and friendly service were unfortunately undone by a thoroughly disappointing meal - our table of eight had a mixture of risotto and pizza dishes - whilst the risotto was acceptable, the pizza was dreadful - thick bready base, which was soggy and uncooked in the middle with absolutely tasteless fillings - an experience not to be repeated, and not what we, as visitors to Cape Town, expected of what is sold as a quality eatery

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best lasagne I have ever had”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Exquisite tastes and textures. Mixed mushrooms, white onion puree, smoked aubergine and parsley oil. The pasta is homemade, of course. This was preceded by a burrata starter. Perfect.
The location is an interesting space(the Old Biscuit Mill in Woodstock), the service is attentive but not overwhelming. A return visit, soon, is planned.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dusanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Yum.”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great Neapolitan-style pizza (very thin crust, cooked at high temp for a short time). Our group shared 3 pizzas; my favourite was the Salciccia with fennel sausage, caramelized onions, smoked mozzarella and baby spinach. Delicious! Impressive wine list, and the ambiance is nice sitting outside in the courtyard at the Old Biscuit Mill. Service, however, was disappointing and did not match the quality of the place.

Also - they close at 3pm on Saturdays so get there before the kitchen closes!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nomvula_za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Best Pizza!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

From a warm welcome at the door to the most delicious pizza and risotto; this is a must experience. The pizza base is like something you have never tasted before.
The staff is friendly and attentive and very knowledgeable.
Feel free to ask questions of wine pairing with your meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michiel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burrata also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Woodstock, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Burrata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing