We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel I've ever been!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Backpackers in Green Point
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
“Best hostel I've ever been!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The B.I.G. combines all what you need for a wonderful stay: Lovely and hospitable staff who know about their town and region including outdoor activities, museum, "fun trips" and particularly who don't leave you alone during weekends... The B.I.G is a brand-new hostel and facilities are in excellent condition, bedrooms are neat and towels being provided.
The B.I.G. could be a home to everyone since staff and interior details as well as swimming pool and barbecue facility makes you feel at home.
If you are looking for a particular place, you should definitely pass by 18, Thornhill Road in Cape Town!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    32
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
91
182
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Got there by chance at 8pm on a Tuesday and was greeted like I was a long dated friend visiting after years away.
The place brand new with nice retro design and woody intereriors. The smile of the staff makes you feel at home and the people I met duting the unfortunately only night at the BIG are gor some reason all beautiful!
Top notch backpackers in Cape Town!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlettog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2012

As our first Backpackers experience, we did not expect much as the prices were very, very reasonable. We got to The B.I.G and we immediately felt welcome. The rooms were clean, the break feast was awesome. The staff really went out of their way to make us feel comfortable at all times. If you are looking for a place to stay in Cape Town, you just found it. Don’t even look anywhere else as you would not find a better place than The B.I.G. Thank you to Amy, Jason and the rest of the crew for the best holiday we have ever had :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois85012650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2012

To call The BIG a backpackers does it a bit of a disservice as it is more a boutique B&B that also happens to have dorm rooms. But it does have all the qualities of a backpack experience - the management team (Amy and Lynda) and the rest of the staff are the friendliest, most helpful you will ever encounter. Always around at the breakfast table to help sort out an itinerary for the day or just to have a chat, it's really a home away from home sort of experience.
The ambiance at the BIG is superb - it has a relaxed, homely vibe (there is always someone to have a beer and chat with) but if you are looking for a BIG night on the town - there are also willing participants who are organising taxis and heading out. But if you want a good night's sleep without noise and chaos, that is completely possible at this wonderful spot.
One thing about the BIG that really places it above the rest is that it is extremely clean! All rooms have en suite bathrooms with fresh linen and towels provided which makes a travelling experience that much more fun and easy.
In the heart of Green Point and a stone's throw from all the action, this is the place to stay in Cape Town - I cannot recommend it enough!

Room Tip: Double rooms are superb if you don't want to share with other travellers - but the dorm rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The place is ultra clean for starters. The private room I stayed in was amazing and everything worked perfectly. Felt really cool all around. Location is really good in Greenpoint. By walking closests shops, ATM, restaurants are 2 minutes and city center 10 minutes. What's also amazing is that they have a direct phone to a cab company which never took more than 5minutes to arrive. This is a luxury as almost all other cab companies in CapeTown took forever. All guests were great as well, young (30's) and professional crowd. Overall this place was a dream to come 'home' to every day and I was sad to leave. I'ts not really a packbackers, it's more like your parents house when they are away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mct358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Amy and her team are wonderful. Nothing was too much and our stay in Cape Town was wonderful. We flew in to watch a concert at Greenpoint stadium so arrived after 22:00. Amy helped organise a taxi from the airport, dinner upon arrival at B.I.G. as well as maps and advice on how to get around Cape Town. Her staff were also fantastic in arranging a super early breakfast for me as I had to work on the morning of the concert and had to leave B.I.G before breakfast was served. B.I.G is also Eco-friendly, has an honour bar and sparkling pool. It is in a safe area close to taxi's, restaurants, the V&A waterfront, Cape Town CBD and more. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the overall decor of our dorm (The Bird's dorm) was fresh and simple. The en-suite bathroom was also great!! This is definitely the place I will stay on future trips to Cape Town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bron116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I've been traveling for almost a year arround the world and I never stayed in a better hostel than the B.I.G. In Cape Town. The staff is amazing. You wont find more helpful and lovley staff then Amy and Co. Again, thank you for everthing. You made my stay in Cape Town unforgattable :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#43 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Point Backpackers
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Backpackers in Green Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Backpackers in Green Point

Property: The Backpackers in Green Point
Address: 18 Thornhill Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Backpackers in Green Point 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B.I.G is a newly renovated boutique backpackers perfectly situated in the centre of Cape Town. It's walking distance from the V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Stadium, transport systems, gym facilities, restaurants and coffee shops. It's a short drive to Clifton/Camps Bay beaches as well as the Cape Town CBD. Most of Cape Towns greatest attractions are within close proximity: Table Mountain, Ferry to Robin Island, the aquarium, Sea Point Promenade, Lions Head and Signal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your The Backpackers in Green Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Backpackers In Green Point Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing