We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peacefull and lovely place to stay in capetown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AfricanHome Guesthouse
Ranked #16 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We enjoyed Stalingrad there for 3 days, a very warm welcoming, simple but nice room. Everything is modern and lovely, swimming pool is stunning and breakfast excellent, service is perfect, staff very friendly. Very convenient place in town with a car and we had good dinner on the main road very close (200m). Too bad they dońt organise dîners sometime..;)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 309 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is a guesthouse of my dreams. Everything is professionally done here. I Tasted the well prepared Cape Town cuisine. Me and my wife really enjoyed ourselves. I felt like a millionaire sitting by the swimming pool!

Room Tip: Everything is 100 percent at AfricanHome Guesthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgemashiane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed her for a night after a hectic visit to a game reserve and elephant back safari near Port Elizabeth and many flights. We were three generations - Granny, Mother and two daughters in their 20s - and were all weary when we arrived. Ralf and Stefan were so welcoming and helpful. Even though they had warned we wouldn't be able to get into our rooms until long after our arrival because we got to the house early in the morning, and they were completely full over the Christmas period, they had already got one room ready and swiftly had the others cleaned for us. They carried all our luggage up several stairs and allowed us to stay at the house and use the pool for the whole of the next day until we had to go to the airport for our evening flight. I messed up and didn't organise a taxi to take us to a restaurant a good half hour away and Ralf explained we wouldn't get there in time because taxis over the Christmas holiday would take at least an hour to come. Instead he drove us all the way there - though there was terrible traffic and it meant he spent hours of his Sunday evening getting back home. He was so gracious and kind about this. The next day when we were a little frayed he poured us all some sparkling wine. The house is beautiful, built for Lord nelson, and we had glorious balconies overlooking the pool. It is all spotless. The staff were charming and friendly and it is a lovely, safe area. It was great to be by the sea. I thoroughly recommend this place and these wonderful hosts who really care about their guests.

Room Tip: There isn't a fitness centre or spa but couldn't do a N/A! All rooms seemed lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeatherPimlico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

A beautiful place to relax. Great location , safe to walk at night to nearby restaurants. Fantastic hosts that go that extra mile to make your stay a wonderful experience.Would highly recommend, if you are going to Cape Town book it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at African Guest House from 1 through 4 December 2013 (i.e. three nights). Stephan & Ralf were the perfect hosts, not only being attentive and very helpful during our stay (restaurant recommendations etc.), but also by providing information before our arrival (which was extremely helpful in the planning of our holidays). The information we got (and requested) was extraordinarily detailed.

The Guesthouse is beautifully set and decorated, always keeping the details in mind. The rooms were spotless, all the staff very nice. We especially appreciated the small bottle of water awaiting us when going to bed. But this is just an example to illustrate of how well thought through everything is.

Breakfast was very rich and served between 8 and 11 (that being the longest period we have seen in three weeks SA guesthouse stays). Further, breakfast was different from day to day; the hosts really seem to have put their some of their own travel experience into their "product".

The location of the guesthouse is excellent, we especially enjoyed that there was a stop for the (btw really. Ice) hop on, hop off bus tour in 5min walking distance.

We would always stay with Stephan & Ralf again and hope that they continue to take great care of this little oasis they have built in Sea Point.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank bierir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

After a volunteer experience in Cape Town I treated myself with a stay in this wonderful Hotel! Apart from being a beautiful location with a mediterranean touch, you are welcomed in a very friendly way and the whole staff continue to spoil you throughout your stay!
The rooms a wonderful and full of small accessoires that welcome you on your first arrival - but I don' t want to spoil the surprise!!
Very quiet, although located in beautiful Seapoint and still near to the centre of Cape Town.
Breakfast is delicious - not only for a german palate!

This place can be reccomended entirely - try it yourself!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Since it was such a personable experience, best to start off with thanks to Ralf and Stefan for a fantastic stay. We really enjoyed our time this guest house which felt like staying with friends and shame it was only for one night.

The guesthouse is a fantastic property which is a converted historic home with very modern amenities. This included a beautiful pool, patio area and very nicely decorated rooms. It was a shame it was too rainy to use the outdoor area but it would be great in beautiful weather.

Rooms had nice furnishings and felt light, airy and had a great view of the pool and the yard. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were lovely. Parking was free and easiest to grab cabs to and from different points of interest and leave the car behind when staying in the city.

I definitely recommend this property and it was a terrific stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusyFlyingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,856 reviews
0.3 mi away
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
#22 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,096 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#23 of 110 in Cape Town Central
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,074 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#37 of 110 in Cape Town Central
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Costa Rose
Villa Costa Rose
#11 of 156 in Cape Town Central
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AfricanHome Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AfricanHome Guesthouse

Address: 17 Bickley Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $105 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AfricanHome Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1790 as the hunting lodge of Lord Nelson, the AfricanHome guesthouse is one of the oldest buildings in this suburb of Cape Town, situated only 2 blocks away from the Atlantic Seabord. It is a very peaceful oasis in the middle of this buzzling city, in walking distance to many restaurants and to the Waterfront, just 3 km away from Clifton Beaches and famous Long Street. German owners who offer a fabulous breakfast buffet. Enjoy a relaxing day at the sparkling salt water pool being spoilt from our service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your AfricanHome Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AfricanHome Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing