We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky, casual, quality dining”
Review of The Pot Luck Club

The Pot Luck Club
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Funky, casual, quality dining”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Interesting menu based around small shared plates. Enthusiastic and knowledgable staff were on hand to guide us through the menu and try to stop us from vastly over-ordering from the many choices.

The venue is packed with Cape Town's beautiful people intent on a fun night out, so it's probably too frenetic for the most intimate of dinners, but the casual look and seemingly effortless efficiency makes it a great choice for a friends night out

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maxnuttall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,305
    304
    116
    38
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kristin4555
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

My date and I enjoyed great dinner here on a Thursday night. We made our reservations about a month in advance and the place was fully booked that night. We ordered 6 items, a mix on entrees and starters and it was the perfect amount of food. Service was excellent and the food was even better! Be sure to check it out while in Cape Town.

Helpful?
1 Thank kristin4555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly, fun and phenomenal”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Disappointed we couldn't get a table at Test Kitchen, we were delighted to find it was the same chef in charge at this place. The whole experience is set in a glass box set on top of an old biscuit mill. Light and airy with young, friendly and informal staff, we felt at ease from the first. A 'small plate' concept meant you could try many different tastes in one meal. It was an exciting and fascinating experience with an open-plan kitchen so you could see where the magic happened! Excellent food and service in a trendy, happening environment. It made you feel alive! You need to book way in advance because understandably everyone wants to go there.

Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Exciting food!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Luke Dale-Roberts brings us another must-eat-at restaurant in Cape Town. There's nothing like a lingering lunch with a great view, a great bottle of wine and some awesome food. Tapas taken to a whole new level.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterOellermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbury
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Cool place, cool people, hot food.”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The Biscuit Mill is a Cape Town institution, go on a Saturday morning to the excellent market. Book ahead and have lunch at the Pot Luck Club. They say it's tapas style food, but the helpings are bigger than those in Madrid, so when they say order six to eight dishes, all of which were very good in our view, its too much for two people. Having said that, we enjoyed the experience thoroughly. Everything worked, not least the views of sea and mountain, the service was excellent, the choice, flavours, the cooking of the food was all very good. We had some friends here from England recently who rated this place the best meal of their trip and I can understand why. It's a cool place with a buzzy Cape Town vibe. Try it, you'll like it a lot.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kingtutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pot Luck Club also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Pot Luck Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing