We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good concept and it works”
Review of The Pot Luck Club

The Pot Luck Club
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“good concept and it works”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I've been a fan of The Test Kitchen, but it is expensive and sometimes the food is a little too complex and sophisticated. This new restaurant has the same attention to detail, flavourful creations, drinks list (the cocktails were excellent too), etc. But it has wonderful views, the menu is more accessible and the tapas concept works beautifully. We chose the early sitting and so had the benefit of watching the city transition through dusk.
The trick is to choose 3 to 4 dishes per person and let the kitchen decide the order of presentation - they did a great job of it. The 5 of us chose 12 dishes, 17 portions in total - some were repeated - and left satisfied but not satiated.
Our favourites: the fillet, prawns, pork belly, mushrooms on toast and peanut butter desert

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jozisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,286
    299
    114
    37
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“awesome..”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Luke Dale Roberts has pulled off a great coup in the developing Woodstock area. Delicious tapas style food cooked with passion and imagination, coupled with extraordinary service and fabulous design concept a glass box perched on a building offering awesome views by night. Book early as its not easy to get a table quite understandable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“High Expectations With Poor Result”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Being fans of The Test Kitchen, my husband and I were looking forward to the opening of The Pot Luck Club and called to make a booking as soon as reservations were opened. A few nights before our booked dinner, much to my disappointment I received a call to cancel our reservation as the restaurant was apparently not ready for opening as anticipated. Understanding their situation, I rescheduled to a date recommended by the person on the phone. I was totally flawed when AGAIN I received a call from the restaurant on the day of our reservation to cancel our booking as the roof was apparently leaking badly.

I persevered and attempted to book another date for dinner but was told that all dinner slots were fully booked, but that I could book for lunch ... how accommodating, considering this was the second time they had cancelled our booking. I dug in my heels and finally managed to arrange a reservation for dinner.

After all of the cancellations and diary juggling, I had high hopes that it would be worth our while. Thankfully this reservation was not cancelled, however upon arrival, there was no one to greet us. When finally someone noticed that we were standing around like lost souls, we were told that our table still had people sitting at it, but that they would organise another for us ... how kind.

We were ushered to a table and offered water by our waiter who failed to introduce himself to us. We ordered cocktails whilst we perused the menu which was split into flavour categories. Our nameless waiter, who shall remain 'nameless' didn't seem to think it was necessary to explain how the menu worked and merely shoved a piece of paper in front of us with a pencil and told us we could write up our own order and give it him when we were ready. We had to ask 'nameless' to explain how the menu worked which he did rather hurriedly - a tapas menu. When we asked more specific questions about certain items on the menu he wasn't sure what they were or how they were prepared.

After having written up our order, 'nameless' read it, took some notes of his own and disappeared. After some time, some of the tapas items started to appear in a haphazard manner with no logical sequence, with 15 minute waits between some of them, with proteins being brought out without the starch sides we had ordered with them. The starch sides only making an appearance on their own. After one particularly long wait and enquiring where the rest of our order was, 'Nameless' suddenly realised that he had not read our order correctly and had left about 4 items off completely. Much fumbling later, with dirty plates being left on the table, the remaining items arrived with no apology.

It seems as if pot luck is what you'll need just to get a successful booking there, let alone have your meal arrive timeously or your waiter pay attention.To say that the evening was a shambles is an understatement. The food was somewhat underwhelming. The service and attitude of the staff was pathetically bad and for the size of our bill, I'd much rather have a pleasant upmarket experience with excellent service and culinary delights at The Greenhouse than go back to The Pot Luck Club.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank RoadTrippinCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An experience to savour”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

... very special food tapas style..small tasting plates ... a contemporary and comfortable atmosphere ... great views ... easy destination in the middle of Woodstock ..safe parking

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrific Tapas”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

What a beautiful restaurant - the views are outstanding, the service top notch and the food - well it's absolutely brilliant - we had a fine pre-two oceans meal - and will certainly return asap,

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DesrayC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pot Luck Club also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Pot Luck Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing