We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect!!!”

The Cape Town Tour Guide Co.
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our experienced team specializes in arranging customized private tours for small groups and families visiting Cape Town and South Africa. Our passion is delivering a high quality and authentic customized touring experience to the discerning visitor. At The Cape Town Tour Guide Co. Clive de Bruyne leads a small, expert team of professionally certified and experienced private guides who know well that you have unique needs and expectations when you travel.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just perfect!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

Clive was not just the perfect tour guide - absolutely well prepared and experienced. It was a pleasure to be with him as a warm hearted and humorous person. What we really enjoyed: The trip was absolutely taylor-made and at any time he was open for a flexible handling. So one afternoon we decided to do an early morning hike before sunset and the next morning we have been up the hill in absolute darkness to have breakfast at the peak during sunset. An unforgettable experience!!! Clive made also perfect recommendations for restaurants in top quality. We will definitely come back to Capetown and definitely ask Clive for an unforgettable tour guidance again!
E. W. and A. Zurhorst from Germany

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eva-Maria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“See the town with Clive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Be sure to use Cape Town Tour Guide Co. Clive made sure we saw all the sights. Table Mountain is well worth the ride to the top.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank missey1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The BEST Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

I can only echo the other reviews. My husband and I found Clive very personable and knowledgeable and one of the best guides we have ever had. Unfortunately when I started to book our trip I had not found Clive yet, if I had I would have used him for all of our tours and bookings. He did a Cape Town day tour with us and then a 3 day Garden Route Tour. Not only did Clive give us a history of the area, but he carried on interesting conversations with us. This was more like going around with a friend then just a guide. My husband is in his late 70s so was not up for walking great distances - Clive made it easy for us. He'd take us on the walk, then find a cafe for us and then run back and bring the car around. He took us to Dupio Zero for lunch - they have the best Italian food and the most wonderful ice coffee. Be sure to try it.
I can't thank Clive enough for making our tours most enjoyable.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank missey1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT! A local man, with local knowledge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

This tour was fantastic, and suited my husbands and mine needs perfectly. Clive was sensational, and without his expertise we would have missed out on many opportunities in Cape Town. On arrival he asked if we were up to going to the top of Table Mountain before checking into our hotel. As we were feeling quite fresh we were happy to, and luckily we had Clive to suggest it, as the cable car was closed for the remainder of our stay in Cape Town due to high winds. His expertise was bang on. Clive took us to every part of Cape Town that was a must, and tailored it to our needs. He even managed to squeeze in a short 45min township tour that I was desperate to experience even though it wasn't in our crammed itinerary. We managed to for into 3 days what our friends did on their own steam in a week. And his suggestions for restaurants and bars was spot on as well. We found his knowledge well rounded and detailed not only on the political history but also the wildlife, flora, and fauna. Do yourselves a favour and book with these guys! You won't be disappointed!

Helpful?
Thank SuyinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalreston
1 review
“Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

The experience we anticipated when we booked with The Cape Town Touring Company pales in comparison with the actual adventures we had each day with Clive. We could hardly wait to see what Clive had in store for us each day and to hear his insights on culture, politics and historical events. From his excellent driving, ease of scheduling to his inate ability to discover what peaked the interest of each individual in our group and then very naturally share his wealth of knowledge on that very subject, Clive never ceased to entertain us. His extensive familiarity with and love for Africa, Capetown, the wine country and surrounding areas was evident every step of the way and his delightful, easy manner endeared him to each of us. Not only was Clive our guide but quickly became our new found friend. If you want a beautiful acquaintence with Africa, wonderful memories and and a charming host to guide you, Clive is your man. I highly recommend him. .

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cape Town Tour Guide Co. also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Cape Town Tour Guide Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing