We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genius idea...delicious food!”
Review of Sababa

Sababa
Ranked #414 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Genius idea...delicious food!”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Home cooked foods each day---choose between several "mains": your choice between chicken dishes, or lamb, or beef, or vegetarian accompanied by 3 sides of your choice. All on display. All yummy. Only open for lunch (I believe) and she does a falafel night as well. Again---simple genius business idea...had a great lunch!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loveleighalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The best falafels in Cape Town”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Sababa is a Middle Eastern deli on Bree St, a trendy part of Cape Town's city bowl. On Thursday nights only the deli offers delicious falafels. For R40 you get a pita (or plate) filled with goodness - warm, crispy-on-the-outside-soft-on-the-inside falafel balls, pickled veggies, sliced beetroot, tzatziki, hummus, tahini, spicy aubergine and fresh crunchy salads. It's all very casual, with everyone standing around eating and wine served in tumblers. The falafel really is the best in Cape Town (I've tried pretty much all of them). Loved the Israeli pop music too!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing Falafels”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Attended falafel night at Sababa's a few weeks back and was totally blown away. It was absolutely superb! Very, very highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Djameela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!!!!!”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I had the recent fortune of dining at Sababa while visiting family in Cape Town. My cousin is a regular customer and told me that Sababa is a must for food lovers! He wasn't wrong! The staff were welcoming and attentive, providing recommendations of what to try (so many delicious things to choose from!). The food was absolutely divine - fresh, flavoursome and healthy, and the coffee one of the best I've had in CT! Overall, Sababa was a fantastic experience and one I hope to repeat again and again!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank belsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
184 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Best Falafel in Cape Town - Thursday Nights at Sababa”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Sababa is a stylish mediterranean eatery at the top of town. It is situated close to some of the other trendy eateries such as Jason's and the Rotisserie. My wife and I have been several times, this time was for the Thursday night Falafal evening. I think they are only open for Thursday evenings. We really enjoyed it.

The place had a really good atmosphere and of course the falafel was probably the best I have had in Cape Town yet. The pita was fresh and they had an excellent selection of salads. Everything is home made including the deserts. We had the baklava which was very good.

I have also had lunch at Sababa several times. They have a well priced and very tasty selection of salads and homely meat and veg dishes which you can get as a meal deal.

Informal eating is available inside or outside in the Sun (bit too hot for me).

Could'nt find anything to complain about, maybe just that I didnt have enough space for more food.

I think they also have a shop in Sea Point.

Will definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NATO-SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sababa also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Sababa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing