We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great steak and suprisingly well priced for this classy setting!”
Review of Bistro 1800 - CLOSED

Bistro 1800
Price range: $10 - $70
Cuisines: Steakhouse, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We offer a range of succulent signature steaks, delectable meat dishes and shellfish. Our grill prepares our meat at a temperature of 1800° Fahrenheit. The result is moist, tender, melt-in-your-mouth steak, accompanied by a wide variety of mouth-watering sauces from around the world.With a stylish and contemporary feel, Bistro 1800 boasts a culinary offering, rich with international flavours and attracts local businessmen and professionals and other discerning restaurant goers in search of a refined, consistent and high quality offering.Whilst the Head Chef selects only the freshest seafood, meat is the star of the show at Bistro 1800 . Owner, Paschal Phelan, brings with him many years of experience in the meat industry in Ireland and, under his direction, his team ensures the best quality by inspecting suppliers' farms to maintain the highest standard of their meat offering.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

the Cape Royale is a high end hotel and one would think that the in-house restaurant would be very expensive, yet it was very affiordable-at least what we ate was! We had a fillet steak and I must say it was one of the best steaks I've had and at a better price than most places. They prepare the steaks in a special way, and there is everything a steak lover needs in term sof sauces and accompaniments. will definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George S, Manager at Bistro 1800, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Good Afternoon

Thank you for taking the time to rate our restaurant. I'm glad we met your expectations. We strive to give our guests a memorable experience and always strive to improve our standards on a daily basis

Hope to welcome you back soon

George Sakulias

Food & Beverage Manager

Cape Royale Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 93 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

We did some research to have a good steak in Cape Town. As this Bistro came highly recommended we booked into the Hotel Royale for the evening to share this dinner with some friends.
The Hotel Royale lived up to its reputation and we were happy with the stay.
The Bistro however was a disappointment. The only positive was the friendly waitress (Finah).
Wine list was incorrect as to the vintage available.
Food ordered took much longer than the norm considering the restaurant was not even 50% full
When the food eventually arrived , two of the main dishes were cold and had to be sent back . This was returned to the table in 3 minutes probably after some microwave treatment.
The steaks ordered as medium rare arrived medium to welldone. This was beginning to spoil our otherwise nice evening , so we decided to eat for the sake of being hungry only.
Having read the other reviews I wondered if we were at the wrong address or if the Chef had a bad day at the office.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Louis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George S, Manager at Bistro 1800, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Good Afternoon

Thank you for taking the time out to review our restaurant. I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We at Bistro 1800 pride ourselves in giving our guests a memorable experience. I have discussed our shortcomings with my team so that we can improve on our guest expectations.

I hope to welcome you back to Bistro 1800 in the near future and give you the experience that you expected

Regards

George Sakulias

Food & Beverage Manager
Bistro 1800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Bistro 1800 has a beautiful ambiance and delicious food. My husband and I happened to be one of only two couples in the entire restaurant so we were seating immediately. On Monday-Thursday nights from 5-7pm, the restaurant offers two entrees for the price of one. Our server was very pleasant and friendly and walked us through the details of the menu. We ordered steaks, as suggested, which were absolutely superb. They were so flavorful and cooked perfectly. This restaurant is a great value for your money and I would definitely recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ebattern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George S, Manager at Bistro 1800, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Good Afternoon

Thank you for taking the time to rate our restaurant. I'm glad we met your expectations. We strive to give our guests a memorable experience and always strive to improve our standards on a daily basis

Hope to welcome you back soon

Regards

George Sakulias

Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were staying at the Cape Royale for 5 nights and had every intention of eating out and about all of the time. We were pretty tired on the first night so decided to eat in the 1800 degrees restaurant in the hotel. Suffice to say, we ate there almost every night! All kinds of steak, each in 3 different sizes, with loads of different sauces, different "rubs" for the meat and different side orders! All in all, hundreds of combinations, cooked just how you like them (and every steak arrived cooked perfectly based on our requests). The staff are lovely, very knowledgeable about the food and wine and so great to ask advice if you are overwhelmed by the menu. The wine we were recommended was fabulous, perfect for the meat and a really good price for such a fab drink. All in all, can't fault it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George S, Manager at Bistro 1800, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Good Evening

Thank you for taking the time to rate our restaurant. I'm glad we met your expectations. We strive to give our guests a memorable experience and always strive to improve our standards on a daily basis

Hope to welcome you back soon

Regards

George Sakulias

Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

we were staying in the cape royale and were too lazy to go out, and boy wish we had gone in earlier in our stay.

opted for the 400g fillet steak and was sorry as i got a sauce as the steak didnt need it, enjoyed all three courses and if you go definately try the chocolate fondant, best of the three i ate in SA

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George S, Manager at Bistro 1800, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear PRodgers

Thank you very much for the kind words in your review of our restaurant. We take pride in giving our guests a memorable experience and I hope we met your expectations. Comments like the one you sent us makes us strive to even higher heights in guest satisfaction

Regards

George Sakulias

F & B Manager
Bistro 1800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 1800 also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing