We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The big eat”

The Woodlands Eatery
Ranked #292 of 1,148 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
pietermaritzburg
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The big eat”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is place for the rambunctious and hungry, a throw-back to our days of careless eating and drinking, and never mind the consequences. It's also very popular, certainly judging by the procession of cars idling and for the passenger to run in and collect a bespoken take-away. The guys settled on some Lakeside pale ales, the girls chose a more demure Shiraz as we awaited our order of four pizzas - lamb, chicken and coriander, venison camembert and calamari and chorizo. The wait was more than worth it, and let it be known that the pizzas are humongous, so big that all four of us left with hearty left-over tucked under our arms. It's the kind of place where you share, and a perfect inter-generational venue that offers good value, generous servings, loud music and lots of laughter.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank derekalberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    63
    16
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Woodland Wonder”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

This charming eatery is a breath of fresh air. Their thin-based pizza is a delight, and their specials menu offers changing options for frequent diners (like myself). Service Is efficient and unpretentious. Booking is imperative as they are always full!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ManuelF0075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of our favourutes in the CBD area.”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We love the Woodlands Eatery! Its a great value for money restaurant, with a fairly extensive menu, created by owner/chef Larry and staff. You get the feel right away that this place is owned and run by someone who put his heart and soul in it. Funky eclectic mix of decor, tables and chairs. Dog friendly ( big bonus for us!) Ideal as a evening venue or on those typical windy CPT days. Pasta portions are huge, pizzas aren't round and mussles are fresh, tasy and picked by the owner himself.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blueduiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
270 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great Vibe and Wonderful Peri Peri prawns!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

After a winter meal here I thought the coziness might not be right for a hot summer night. But, I want to show this place off to my Joburg friends, so booked a table for 4, on a balmy evening. The wind was quite bad, but once inside it is OK. But, the noise level was incredibly high. We shouted over the table, trying to make ourselves heard. Literally. The patrons were mainly 25 to 35 young guns. Most of them were indulging in wine too, contributing to the already deafening racket. The food made up for loss of hearing though - the pizza that came with my peri peri prawns (normally a nan bread) was so crusty and thin I ate almost all of it. The juicy prawns in the shell could have been a disaster for a white shirt, but I made sure I peel them gently and the reward was sensational. My friend's prawn curry is perhaps a better choice in terms of non-messiness. He loves it. If you are in the wrong mood this could be hell! You must create your own party and enjoy the vibe and the lovely food. Prices are reasonable too. For us, it was between heaven and earth.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sang F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Superb food and a good selection of craft beers. I had The Big Gus pizza, which was something different and delicious! We had big table of 10, everyone was happy with their meals and our waitress kept everyone's drinks full! Thank you Woodlands.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MattJohn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Woodlands Eatery also viewed

Vredehoek, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Woodlands Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing