We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-rate accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Comfort Guest Lodge
Ranked #66 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is a beautifully-run guesthouse in a convenient and quiet part of Cape Town. The facilities are very modern and well-kept and the owners take a great deal of trouble to make one feel welcome. It's possible to walk to some of the main attractions of this wonderful city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Host-SouthernComfort, Owner at Southern Comfort Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you very much. Your wonderful review is challenge for us to keep on ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 87 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

Southern Comfort is just that - clean, comfortable, hospitable, convenient accommodation.
Really this is a 'boutique hotel' in standards.
Everything you need is here from pool to internet.
Our hosts were really helpful, organised a great breakfast every day and even drove us up to Table Mountain themselves when our taxi didn't turn up - thank you!
Its a pleasant walk down hill to central cape town shops, markets, etc and one day we even made it on foot as far as the V&A waterfront before catching a taxi back. So much to see in the area.
There are plenty of good eating places within walking distance, but also parking outside if needed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deskjet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Host-SouthernComfort, Owner at Southern Comfort Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

All the best to you ! Your great review makes us proud and we will try hard to further improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

New, clean, large rooms, luxurious and located in a great area of Cape Town. Moreover, the owners are always willing to provide useful advice. The driver organizes great transfers and tours at affordable prices. I only fear it might be fully booked next time I want to go ;-)

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank beograd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The guest lodge is very clean, well designed, pleasent atmosphere, big and comfortable room, good breakfast, very nice and helpful hospitality.
Definitely will come back.
Thank you Hans-Juergen.
Lilach and Sharon, Israel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with the best shower head in the world- small things! Lovely place, well looked after, very clean. The owner picked me up at the airport and was very helpful throughout my stay. It takes around 40 mins to walk to the V @A waterfront but its a nice enough walk. I felt safe the whole time- perhaps naively?!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarzania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at Southern Comfort Guest Lodge as our final destination of our family's adventure on our driving journey across southern Africa before returning to Australia. We cannot rate the accommodation highly enough. We were thoroughly spoilt by Lindiwe's breakfasts each morning and Lourens took time to ensure we knew the best places to go to dine and see the sites of Cape Town. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The owners, Michael and Hans-Juergen, were overseas for most of our four night stay, when we did meet them they were very welcoming. Our rooms were spacious, clean, all appliances worked, we had access to a kitchen near our bedrooms to store food and drinks and were encouraged to make use of the guest lounge upstairs, which is a large, colourfully and tastefully decorated room. Our laundry was completed in a timely manner and in a professional way. The location of the guest lodge was very special, in Oranjezicht on the foothills of Table Mountain and the lodge has spectacular views from the rooftop. We would not stay anywhere else if we returned to Cape Town as we were very spoilt and we could not have asked for a better end to our six months in southern Africa.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, there is no wrong choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill-Out-of-Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Host-SouthernComfort, Owner at Southern Comfort Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Jill,
thank you very much for this wonderful review and your time. We are very much pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our home in this South African winter. Yes, our lounge is a plus for all our guests and when the weather starts getting better again you may also use the different terraces, balconies, our top view deck and our pool area. Please come back !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

...I stayed at "Southern Guest Lodge" during the 2 last weeks of march. A friend told me to visit that place once being in Cape Town. I found a house with 5-6 bedrooms modern in style but sometimes also using african elements all arranged to the best of taste. The view from the roof-deck is tramendous: Table Mountain, Lion Head, downtown Cape Town ...and an ideal place to take your sundowner. Breakfast was taken in a light room with windows all around. A good place to exchange travel recommendations. Besides that Michael & Hans-Juergen (the managers) are 2 communicative guys always friendly and supportiv. Finally I almost forgot the eggs Windy prepares for each guest individually. All together a great stay and I am glad that I got this recommendation.
Reiner from Munich

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reiner0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Anchor Bay Guest House
#47 of 156 in Cape Town Central
97 reviews
City Bowl
Kloof Nek Suites
Kloof Nek Suites
#83 of 156 in Cape Town Central
38 reviews
Purple House Bed & Breakfast
#48 of 156 in Cape Town Central
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wish U Were Here
#68 of 156 in Cape Town Central
136 reviews
Cape Standard
#13 of 156 in Cape Town Central
593 reviews
The Villa Rosa
#34 of 156 in Cape Town Central
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Comfort Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Comfort Guest Lodge

Address: 27 Belmont Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $74 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Comfort Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Comfort Guest Lodge is located in the prestigious suburb of Oranjezicht just 5 min. off Kloof Street bustling with shops and restaurants. The central location of the Guest Lodge is perfect to reach Cape Town Highways, close to Camps Bay and its Beaches, City Centre and V & A Waterfront, University of Cape Town and Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens. Will's Deli serves the locals all year round. Southern Comfort Guest Lodge is positioned in an area of Cape Heritage Sites with tree lined streets and parks for joggers. The Guest Lodge is dominated by Table Mountain, Lion's Head, Signal Hill and Devil's Peak. A perfect panoramic view is unsurpassed from our roof-top viewing deck where Guests can enjoy sundowners at their leisure observing the moving cable-car, setting of the sun, the scintillating moon rising and a sky full of stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Southern Comfort Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Comfort Guest Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing