We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greasy, soggy and horrible onion rings”
Review of Fisherman's Choice

Fisherman's Choice
Ranked #672 of 1,324 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 7, 2019

This food outlet is located in the food court of the shopping mall. My husband and I both ordered hake and chips for 80 ZAR each (£1 = 18 ZAR approx) . The food comes in a cardboard box and there is seating located in the mall foodcourt where you can dine in. The fish was not too bad, the chips were mediochre but they also serve a scoop of onion rings on top of the fish and chips. It mentioned nothing about this on the order board and I only ordered hake and chips. The onion rings were disgusting - so soggy, greasy, tasteless and slimy. We took the food back and said we hadn't ordered calarami rings and they were disgusting and tasteless only to be told they were onion rings . We would never have guessed - that's how bad they were. They did offer to replace our meal with freshly cooked food but we declined - we would rather go hungry than eat from this establishment. We put their food in the place best suited to it - the dustbin!!! We didn't think it fair to offer it to anyone living on the street as if we weren't prepared to eat it, why should we impose it on anyone else?

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank CathyGri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 43 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2018

This is just a take away shop in the food court at the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront, but it still managed some of the best seafood we had on our visit to South Africa.

My wife wasn't sure about what to order, and the staff were very friendly and helpful in suggesting a local fish from the menu.

Sitting outside in the glorious Autumn weather we enjoying the view of the bustling waterfront and the amazing children's playground.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank QaPla78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2018

The service and food were both exceptional. The local fish and lobster thermidore were perfect. Service excellent and the local wines, perfect.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank jonentone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2018

Had a meal there last week. Tried the fish and chips + onions ring. Got value for money and food was nice.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IronMuZz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2017

This fast food outlet is one of a number on the V&A centre ground floor entrance area - left or right you have numerous options. This was left far end and I chose the fish (Hake) and chips. Took about a 7mins wait so at least you know it's freshly cooked. The box meal included a few thin fried onion rings and slice of lemon - the batter was nice and thin so you can tell there's a reasonable amount of fish. The fish itself was flaky and had a good texture. We ate at one of the many tables dotted along the window area. Overall I was more than pleasantly surprised by this excellent fast food meal - and the price was a reasonable R75. This is not gourmet dining but I doubt you'd get a better piece of fish at twice the price in a proper restaurant.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nnmercman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Choice also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Fisherman's Choice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing