We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oily Bad Quality Food” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fisherman's Choice

Fisherman's Choice
Ranked #756 of 1,135 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Oily Bad Quality Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Had lunch on a Rainy Cape Town day. One order HaKe and Chips another Calamari and Chips. Both meals had horribly oily chips. HaKe was extremely oily and not fresh. Calamari not unpleasant but you expect more. Will not see me again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JaacoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“cheap, mediocre fare”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

As others have stated, the service is quick and food is inexpensive. I've eaten here a few times in the past and I recall the quality on those occasions being reasonably good. This time, however, the house wine was decent, the fish was palatable, the calamari stale and limp, the chips abominable - oily, obviously fried ages ago. I should have known - the food arrived at my table before I had even settled down.
Positives? The price of a starter at adjacent restaurants will get you the warm meal described above.
I was thoroughly disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jozisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“meh!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We ate here one night and ordered the fish and chips which was cheap. However, the cahsier asked which one and told me one has bone the other does not. the no bone fish and chips were more costly. So we had 2 orders of no bone fish and chips and drinks and price was not that much lower than if we went to a restaurant with better ambience. This restaurant did not seem quite clean enough and it is a shame the dining experience isn't better as it is right on the waterfront.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moretravelpleasenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Have your fish and chips and eat it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Located on the V & A waterfront. Nice location. Quick service and for the location was a good price. Fish was very nice but chips were a bit soggy. Room for improvement overall but would eat here again without too much thought.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SFayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We ate here twice on our two week holiday. First yime was for lunch when we had the meal for two. This arrives on 2 pl;ates, each with completely different stuff on. It would have been much better if they served this one one large plate and gave two empty plates so you can take stuff off the platter. This meal was nice enough, but nothing to rave about.

We went back for the breakfast of eggs benedict. This was lovely, the poached eggs were perfect, and the hollandaise sauce was delicious. Also very good value at 60 rand for a double portion.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CrazyAngel1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Choice also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Fisherman's Choice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing