We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood”
Review of Ocean Basket

Ocean Basket
Ranked #421 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Bayside, Tableview the best franchise ever!
Try their Calamari steaks grilled with rice & have the garlic mussel starter/top up with main meal. Calamari steak should not be too well done as gets to tough to chew.....

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Razia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    133
    51
    62
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
145 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Only if you want eat mass produced franchise food”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had lunch at this restaurant, and well, going there is just convenient. Food with big portions which most people end up taking away, and mediocre food. The oysters were not that fresh, and the other food was just so-so. I went there with my family on our first day in Cape Town, and we didn't go back since. Service is quite bad, as we had to wait very long for our drinks and when I asked for water, that took even longer. The worst part is when we only tipped less that 10% because of the mediocre service, the staff had the cheek to suggest that top up the tip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dine like a King!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We love ocean basket. The amount of fantastic seafood and fish you get for the price you pay is out of this world! The combo deals are the best! Great for large groups and the staff are always fantastic!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sktibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great eveyday restaurant”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I loved this restaurant (chain) because, it is good food, rich variety, fast and cheap. Light atmosphere and friendly staff makes you feel comfortable. It's not the best sea food ever, or it's not the best restaurant ever or anything like that, but i could come here almost everyday. If you find your self hungry and you just want to have something good and move on, this is the place. You can always find a table, all sorts of sea food dishes are available you can also choose the cooking method like fried, grilled and such and there is also a sushi menu, which is not bad at all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ozgur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umtentweni
Level Contributor
117 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Awesome - the best Ocean Basket”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We eat at Ocean Basket quite regularly. I would say that this is one of the best ones I have eaten at. The specials were very good. We ordered one of the platters that was on a specials flyer and it was the best seafood platter I have had at an Ocean Basket and the best value. I will be back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug4235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Basket also viewed

Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Ocean Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing