We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great walking tour with lots of historical info.”

Wanderlust - Cape Town on Foot Walking Tour
Ranked #50 of 331 Tours in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy a living, noisy and intriguing city as we manoeuvre through its busy streets. History, culture and architecture are woven into our story. We find our way to the colourful Bo-Kaap, the country's oldest Muslim area, (it is recommended that ladies carry a scarf to cover the shoulders, in the event that we enter a mosque), step into St. George's Anglican Cathedral and enjoy a stroll through the Company's Gardens where we pass Parliament, the National Library and Tuynhuis, the President's official town residence. We enter Groote Kerk, the country's oldest church and allow the story of slavery to unfold as we pass the former Slave Lodge and look at the Slave Memorial on Church Square. The walk then leads to the Grand Parade, lined by the City Hall where Mandela gave his first speech as a free man, and the Castle built on the city's original shoreline. The story of District Six is told, historic murals and grand art deco buildings are discovered. The walk ends on bustling Greenmarket Square, dominated by the Methodist Church and Old Townhouse. The walks last about 2.5 hours and can be handled by anybody, there is no steep uphill except for a gentle rise towards Bo-Kaap. The tour takes place on Monday, Wednesday and Friday, starting at 11h00 and are conducted in English and/or German, depending on the composition of the group. No prior booking is necessary during the summer season, although in the winter months from May to end September it is advisable to book. Just come to meeting venue in 66 Loop Street/ cnr Hout Street to purchase your ticket. The fee for adults is R 250.00 per person (cash only). Accompanied children under 14 walk free. N.B. It is advisable you come by taxi. Cape Town's streets are heavily congested and parking is extremely difficult to find.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
“Great walking tour with lots of historical info.”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Had a great time on this walking tour! Wolfgang (pretty sure that was his name?) was a fantastic guide, would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Cape Town.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capetownonfoot, Owner at Wanderlust - Cape Town on Foot Walking Tour, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
thank you for having joined the Cape Town on Foot walk. We are very pleased that you enjoyed it and that you took the trouble to write about the walk. The feedback of our guests is very important to us.
All the best and hopefully, this was not your last visit to the Mother City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    6
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic way to really discover Cape Town”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We are big fans of walking tours to explore and understand cities and have done most of London Walks tours (60+) and tours in a number of European cities, and we must say that Ursula's tour was one of the best if not the best we have done. It was like walking with a very knowledgeable family friend that would gladly cover any topics we had questions on - from history, politics, day to day living, architecture, etc. Personal insights combined with a great source of knowledge made the 3 hours go by in a flash and left us with a much better appreciation and understanding of Cape Town.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Isabelle39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capetownonfoot, Owner at Wanderlust - Cape Town on Foot Walking Tour, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
What a wonderful way to start a day - thank you for your review of our city walking tour. It gives us great encouragement to know that our guests have enjoyed the walk with us. Thank you and come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cape Town step by step”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Ursula Stevens' walking tour of Cape Town is not to be missed. Her knowledgeable and humorous take on the city she loves takes the better part of three hours but is worth every minute. While her mother was born in Namibia, Ursula was born in Germany - yet she regards herself not as German but as South African. And that shows. Walk with Ursula and you see Cape Town not through foreign eyes but through the eyes of a native. Architecture is among her passions, particularly anything art deco. Though Ursula is no spring chicken, she has the energy of a much younger person. Walk with her. You won't regret it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capetownonfoot, Owner at Wanderlust - Cape Town on Foot Walking Tour, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Well, it was fun to sow you our vibrant city and I thank you for having taken the time to write about the walk. Since December 1,Table Mountain is officially one of the seven natral wonders of the world - so please come back!Since you participated life got a bit more hectic in the centre - Christmas shopping, summer holidays, so my warning "Pedestrians have no rights" is even more important to remember for our visitors!
Have a wonderful festive season and a happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A really fine introduction to Cape Town”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

On our first day in Cape Town, we decided to take the 11 AM walking tour starting at the downtown tourist office. We're so glad we did.
Ursula is so very knowledgeable. What's also fascinating is that as an older (but very energetic!) person, she adds so many personal insights into the changes that she's seen in the physical and cultural make up of the city over past decades. She may also share some of her family history, going back to her grandparents arrival in the region a century ago.
All along the walk, Ursula stops briefly to say hello to so many different people--she's someone who not only loves the history of the city, but who also loves the ethnic diversity of its people and cultures and who talks of them all with such a sense of respect.
You're not just taking a tour with Ursula; you're getting to see the city and its people through her eyes.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capetownonfoot, Owner at Wanderlust - Cape Town on Foot Walking Tour, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you very much for the compliment! Yes, a walking tour is energising, thanks to the people who join. My guests' contribution adds enormously to the vibe of a tour - their interests, their willingness to occasionally interact with the locals and of course, to listen to the stories told. Thank you once again for having walked with me. Best wishes from a busy Cape Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cape Town Walking Tour and so much more”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Having arrived in Cape Town only the night before, I headed straight into town for Ursula's amazing walking tour. I knew very little of Cape Town, but after 2 1/2 hours under Ursula's wing, it seemed like a treasure chest had been opened. Not only did we go to all the major sites in town, but the development of Cape Town from its early beginnings to the vibrant melting pot it is today was skilfully unveiled by Ursula. Her knowledge of history, both local and big-picture history, seems endless and I felt truly prepared to venture out on my own after Ursula's introduction to this beautiful town. Thank you, Ursula!
Ilke Brueckner-Klein, Brisbane & Melbourne, Australia

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capetownonfoot, Owner at Wanderlust - Cape Town on Foot Walking Tour, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thanks for your encouraging words. I appreciate the time you took to comment on the walking tour. I am glad that I successfully opened a treasure chest for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wanderlust - Cape Town on Foot Walking Tour also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Wanderlust - Cape Town on Foot Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing