We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond Works”

Cape Town Diamond Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Cape Town Diamond Museum pays tribute to the world's most precious gem, the diamond. Discover a 3 billion year old story unfold from a diamond's formation to the final polished stone. The Cape Town Diamond Museum also pays homage to the most famous South African diamonds and showcases specimens of Kimberlite rock dating billions of years old. Situated in the bustling heart of the Clock Tower precinct at the V&A Waterfront, the Cape Town Diamond Museum is a must-see for any visitor to Cape Town. Book in advance recommended.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Diamond Works”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Beautiful for all Stone attracted fanatics...the tour you are guided on about the stones in store. they will educate you on how the stones are being cut,shined, polished etc...theres a lot of variety available at an affordable price.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gavin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTDiamondMuseum, Owner at Cape Town Diamond Museum, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Gavin D, thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your tour of the Cape Town Diamond Museum and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
The Cape Town Diamond Museum Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    88
    36
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic - The highlight of Cape Town & A Must See”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We received a warm welcome from the girls on the desk then introduced to Marko Botes who took us through the museum. If ever there was a man passionate about his job and diamonds it is certainly Marko. I was thrilled to have the whole history explained in detail, shown different replica's of the diamonds, was able to see the diamond cutters at work right through to the finish. We then had the thrill of looking at all the diamonds and the beautiful jewellery, which was stunning. You could see how proud Marko was to be showing us around the museum. The tour was meant to be half an hour but because of my love for diamonds I was asking so many questions which Marko was more than happy to spend the time answering, we must have been there for at least an hour and a half. There was no hard sell at all. Even when looking at all the finished diamonds and jewellery we did not at any time feel that we were being lined up for the hard sell. Marko was more interested in giving us the education. This is a must see of Cape Town. Marko thank you so much for all the time you gave us. This has been the highlight for me of Cape Town. You may recall that we mentioned that there is a DVD out called "Rhodes". When we get home (11 June) we will send it to you as am sure you will watching it. Please tell Mr Shimansky "Well Done" for putting the Museum together it is excellent. With best wishes, Michael & Vivien, Perth, Australia.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank VivienJones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTDiamondMuseum, Owner at Cape Town Diamond Museum, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Michael and Vivien, thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We strive to offer an exceptional diamond experience and we're pleased that your tour of the Cape Town Diamond Museum was the highlight of your visit to Cape Town! It was a pleasure sharing our passion for diamonds with you and we certainly hope you'll visit us again on your next trip to Cape Town, South Africa.

Kind regards
The Cape Town Diamond Museum Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very friendly Guide”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyable tour. Liked it
Shaheema is very kind.. Story about Formation of Diamond. Techniques of cutting and polishing of the stones.
Greets

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveller9999991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTDiamondMuseum, Owner at Cape Town Diamond Museum, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Traveller9999991, thank you for your review of the Cape Town Diamond Museum. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you back to the Museum on your next visit.

Regards
The Cape Town Diamond Museum Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“By far the most fascinating Museum I've visited”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

THANK YOU ERIKA for having us explained so much exciting stuff about diamonds! Such a passionating world... We loved every seconds of it and the whole story from A to Z was very well explained.
It was by far the most interesting museum I've been into!!!! Thanks again for your time and answers! Keep going!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabella1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTDiamondMuseum, Owner at Cape Town Diamond Museum, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Isabella1985, thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your experience. We are so pleased you found the Museum fascinating and will certainly pass your feedback onto Erika. Please do visit us again on your next visit to Cape Town, South Africa.

Kind regards,
The Cape Town Diamond Museum Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grobming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wunderful place to learn more about South Africa diamonds”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Miss Shaheema Styger not only guided us through the very beautiful done exhibition but she did also show as some of the working places in their cutting and polishing process workplaces. It was really fascinating to see raw diamonds come to real brilliants. This is not only a really informative exhibition but also a zing to eye and mind.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeremias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTDiamondMuseum, Owner at Cape Town Diamond Museum, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Jeremias K, thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Cape Town Diamond Museum. We'll certainly pass your review onto Shaheema. Please do visit us again in the near future for more zing.

Kind regards
The Cape Town Diamond Museum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Town Diamond Museum also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape Town Diamond Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing