We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting little tour for diamond lovers”

Cape Town Diamond Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Cape Town Diamond Museum pays tribute to the world's most precious gem, the diamond. Discover a 3 billion year old story unfold from a diamond's formation to the final polished stone. The Cape Town Diamond Museum also pays homage to the most famous South African diamonds and showcases specimens of Kimberlite rock dating billions of years old. Situated in the bustling heart of the Clock Tower precinct at the V&A Waterfront, the Cape Town Diamond Museum is a must-see for any visitor to Cape Town. Book in advance recommended.
Reading, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting little tour for diamond lovers”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The museum itself is very small and compact but it is still an enjoyable and interesting experience which gives a fascinating insight into how this industry began. I particularly enjoyed the replicas of famous diamonds through the years. If you love diamonds, have 30-45 minutes to spare and would like a breather from the heat outside then I would recommend a visit. The tour guide was also very friendly and knowledgeable.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hayley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTDiamondMuseum, Owner at Cape Town Diamond Museum, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Hayley, thank you for your review of the Cape Town Diamond Museum. We are pleased you enjoyed the famous diamond replicas and that you found the tour enjoyable. We certainly hope you'll visit again in the near future.

Regards
The Cape Town Diamond Museum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    89
    37
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Want to know more about Diamonds then dont miss this place”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Fascinating images of the early days and replicas (lovely in themselves) of some of the largest diamonds found to date- want to understand why they are cut the way they are, then go visit this place. Had an extremely courteous guide telling us al about it - we were the only ones in there - see them cutting, grinding, setting and polishing the gems (for real) this is real manufacturing place with a showroom / shop at the end - wow - need to sell my mother and more - but very educational. This is not a gift shop place this is if you want to see real gems and also have the opportunity to acquire them and other precious stones

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicktet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTDiamondMuseum, Owner at Cape Town Diamond Museum, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Nicktet, thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Cape Town Diamond Museum. We're pleased you found the tour to be very educational and enjoyed the experience.

Kind regards,
The Cape Town Diamond Museum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Interesting tour for those who like diamonds”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

You'd almost have to know it was here in order to find it. We took a private tour lasting about half hour learning about the history of diamonds and mining in ZA. We went after hours and the factory was already closed but the docent/guide explained the machines and how they worked and invited us back to observe during work hours. He also stayed with us as I browsed the entire store even though it was quite obvious we were not in the market for an impulse buy that may cost us a small fortune. There was no fee for the tour.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank moretravelpleasenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTDiamondMuseum, Owner at Cape Town Diamond Museum, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear moretravelpleasenyc, thank you for your review. It is greatly appreciated. We certainly hope you'll visit the Cape Town Diamond Museum again in the near future.

Kind regards
The Cape Town Diamond Museum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
2 reviews
“An enlightening experience”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Did not expect to really see or learn much but to our surprise we did actually get quite a bit out of this tour! Our tourguide was friendly and answered all our questions and added to the experience. All the staff were very friendly and kind. Enjoyed the experience very much. Highly recommend it whether you just want to know more about diamonds or share the experience with your loved one.- Monz

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Montipython
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTDiamondMuseum, Owner at Cape Town Diamond Museum, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Montipython, thank you for your review and feedback, it is much appreciated. We’re very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience at the Cape Town Diamond Museum and found it to be insightful and interesting. We hope to welcome you back soon again on your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind regards,
The Cape Town Diamond Museum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Grand Tour of Flagship tour”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

To whomever it may concern

I would like to thank the lady Shameema Styger for the professional manner that she conducted herself at my last visit to your store. Her product knowledge was flawless, and a absolute enlighting experience was had by me and my friend. It is indeed very rare to get such brilliant service and wonderful personality as Mrs Styger portrayed at my visit. A trip that will linger in my memories for years to come :-)
Kind Regards
Johnny Snyman

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stunningjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTDiamondMuseum, Owner at Cape Town Diamond Museum, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear StunningJohnny, we’d like to thank you for this wonderful feedback and we’re delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable experience at the Cape Town Diamond Museum. We will pass on your kind words to Shameema, and hope to welcome you back to again soon!

Kind regards,
The Cape Town Diamond Museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Town Diamond Museum also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape Town Diamond Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing