We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Grand Tour of Flagship tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Town Diamond Museum

Cape Town Diamond Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Cape Town Diamond Museum pays tribute to the world's most precious gem, the diamond. Discover a 3 billion year old story unfold from a diamond's formation to the final polished stone. The Cape Town Diamond Museum also pays homage to the most famous South African diamonds and showcases specimens of Kimberlite rock dating billions of years old. Situated in the bustling heart of the Clock Tower precinct at the V&A Waterfront, the Cape Town Diamond Museum is a must-see for any visitor to Cape Town. Book in advance recommended.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Grand Tour of Flagship tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

To whomever it may concern

I would like to thank the lady Shameema Styger for the professional manner that she conducted herself at my last visit to your store. Her product knowledge was flawless, and a absolute enlighting experience was had by me and my friend. It is indeed very rare to get such brilliant service and wonderful personality as Mrs Styger portrayed at my visit. A trip that will linger in my memories for years to come :-)
Kind Regards
Johnny Snyman

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stunningjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTDiamondMuseum, Owner at Cape Town Diamond Museum, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear StunningJohnny, we’d like to thank you for this wonderful feedback and we’re delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable experience at the Cape Town Diamond Museum. We will pass on your kind words to Shameema, and hope to welcome you back to again soon!

Kind regards,
The Cape Town Diamond Museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    74
    29
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking and interesting experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were walking around and saw the Diamond Museum. We didn't expect such an interesting tour. Our guide was polite and made everyone of us want to become diamond enthusiasts... Amazing experience. Very interesting and fun

Helpful?
Thank collme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTDiamondMuseum, Owner at Cape Town Diamond Museum, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Collme, thank you for taking the time to post your review on your visit to the Cape Town Diamond Museum. We’re glad to hear you found the tour very interesting and had an enjoyable experience.

Kind regards,
The Cape Town Diamond Museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Look hard and long”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Every positive review is from someone in Capetown. Trip Advisor : wake up! The "museum" is 100 square meters, the size of a large apartment. The photos are lovely, but this is nothing more than a sales pitch. I count on TripAdvisors to weed this sort of stuff out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JAnneBNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTDiamondMuseum, Owner at Cape Town Diamond Museum, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear JennyHB

The Cape Town Diamond Museum prides itself in offering an authentic diamond experience. The core of the Museum is 100 square meters offering extensive information on diamonds, showcasing original artifacts (some dating billions of years old) and we encourage our guests to look hard and long. The Museum forms part of the Diamond Experience spanning 800 square meters where guests witness first-hand as rough diamonds are cut and polished by hand, transforming them into dazzling creations of fire and brilliance.

The personally guided tour is certainly not a sales pitch. Our diamond experts are encouraged to share their passion on diamonds with you, taking you through the formation of diamonds billions of years ago to the history of diamonds in South Africa, showcasing replicas of some of the world's most famous diamonds to finally educating you on how diamonds are cut, polished and graded. At no point are you obligated to purchase, in fact Trip Advisors who have posted to our page have said so themselves. In only 100 square meters, we offer a unique opportunity to dress as a diamond miner and relive the days of the great Kimberley Diamond Rush.

We also take pride in the authenticity of the reviews posted by our guests to our Trip Advisor page. To date we have received 29 Excellent / Very Good reviews with the majority, 69%, coming from international travelers. The Museum
is based in Cape Town and naturally we welcome local travelers to the Museum and value their feedback, in addition to yours.

We do endeavor to offer an exceptional diamond experience tour to each and every guest, and regret that your visit did not meet your expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We just wanted to look, and now we're engaged!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

To all the guys... keep your girls out. To all the girls... it is a must.
I just wanted to learn a bit more about diamonds and see what would suit me and maybe start getting my boyfriend used to the prices ;). Everything came together in Shimaskys very professional and comfortable atmosphere. The service was great, we were treated with great kindness, no "pushyness" at all. The ring was made on time with an engravement, as our flight left the next day, time was of the essense. He poped the official question very traditionaly with the box in his hand right then and there. Thanks Shimansky for mylove!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank franknstei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTDiamondMuseum, Owner at Cape Town Diamond Museum, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Franknstei, Congratulations! An engagement ring is the most meaning gift a woman will receive and man will give, and we’re absolutely thrilled we could be a part of this special moment. We wish you all the best and many years of happiness together.

Kind regards,
The Cape Town Diamond Museum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Short And Sweet but very nice and informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

A lovely private guided small museum. The staff are from the attached jewellery shop and have an excellent knowledge and passion for what they do. The museum leads to the workshops and then to a showroom with no obligation to buy but to see or try some marvelous pieces and maybe enjoy a coffee as well.
Still, having said that, they are fantastic sales persons.

Helpful?
1 Thank Fernweh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTDiamondMuseum, Owner at Cape Town Diamond Museum, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Fernweh13, thank you for this valued feedback and we’re very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience at the Cape Town Diamond Museum. We hope to welcome you back for another visit again soon.

Kind regards,
The Cape Town Diamond Museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Town Diamond Museum also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape Town Diamond Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing