We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant dining”

Harbour House V&A Waterfront
Ranked #42 of 1,142 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
279 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Elegant dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

beautiful restaurant tastefully decorated. It is always busy, especially terrace tables. You need to book even during the week (at least in the summer months) or be prepared to wait or be turned down. Staff is friendly but service seemed quite slow to me. Large selection of food with additional line-fish and "additions" menus that are presented to you on boards... that is nice. It is a touristic place because of its location and it is therefore quite pricy but food quality is excellent (go there for fish and shush rather than for steak obviously) and overall atmosphere very pleasant. The bar on the upper floor is also lovely for an afternoon drink or even for sushi; comfortable seating and beautiful views.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VBNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,119
    825
    229
    101
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking
Level Contributor
218 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“You will have to book this one”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Having tried on two occasions to dine at The Harbour House in Cape Town we almost gave up. We even tried booking but didn't give enough notice and were fobbed off with unsuitable times. As it happens we chanced upon it one day with a few spare tables and opted for a brunch before visiting Robben island. For this reason my review cannot be a full one, we had a couple of starters as a tapas style meal. Even so we could not get an outside table in our preferred area overlooking the water and in the shade. For what we had it was delightful and the service, although very slow, was friendly and helpful once it arrived. When we pointed out we were booked on a timed excursion they did make an effort to help us with service a little faster. Based on what we had I'm not sure I would make the effort to book an evening meal - the ideal would be a late and long lunch on the waterside in the shade! Maybe one day this seemingly unattainable treat will be afforded us.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magglington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best choice in V&A Waterfront”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We foolishly didn't make reservations in February, but Harbour House was able to squeeze us in at last minute. Very glad that they were able to because the food was fantastic. We both had line fish prepared different ways, and also had the Gazpacho.

I'm on a strict gluten-free diet, and the waiter and kitchen staff understood and were able to work around it perfectly. Made me very confident eating!

The only reason why it's not getting a 5 star review is that there was water flowing from the ceiling while we were there (not on us thankfully). The staff were great during the incident, but they reacted with a speed and accuracy that indicated that this is a regular occurance! Aside from that extremely great dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KirkWylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Lunch in style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

What a light lunch; prawns, chenin blanc and a back drop of a working harbour. All served by excellent staff. Once again the V&A Waterfront has a gem.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“EXQUISITE DINNER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Harbour House Restaurant at the V&A Waterfront is an ABSOLUTE gem as a dining experience in Cape Town. The food, service & setting is EXCEPTIONAL! My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed a 3-course dinner. The sea-food platter for 1 was over enough for 2 people. Thank you to our very charming waiter, David, who warned us of this in advance. Very often places will not tell you this so that the bill could be higher, so we really valued this aspect of honesty. A true 5 star experience ito quality of food and ambience of the venue overall. Thank you too to Michelle Kazaka, the venue's Event Manager, for her consistent friendliness, professionalism & willingness to please the customer.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pnel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour House V&A Waterfront also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Harbour House V&A Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing