We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great break for the weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aquila Private Game Reserve
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“great break for the weekend”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

we had a weekend planned away at Aquila. Once again we read a few trip advisor reviews after we booked the trip and were surprised to find a particularly negative review about the trip (rats, boring safari, boring food etc) but we decided to go there with an open mind and this is what we found:

Pros:
1.only 2 hours away from cape town
2.very very friendly staff (dont expect 5 star luxury but very helpful friendly people)
3.gorgeous views from the property
4.excellent selection of fresh buffet meals
5.clean, spacious rooms depending on which option you choose
6.interactive safari drives in evening and morning
7.Big 5 upclose and personal

Cons:
1.2 safaris in a matter of 12 hours seems tedious, but i can understand why they have it as you are not guaranteed to spot the big 5 on your first drive
2.even though food is freshly prepared and of very good quality, it tastes a little bland (i am guessing because they have to cater to people from many countries, many palates so it is easier to add seasonings depending on personal preference)
3.advertised as full board but drinks are not included
4. I personally do not think you can spend more than 2 days here as you can only see so many safaris :)

Highlights of our stay:
1. On our first safari, we saw all the big 5 upclose and personal!All the rhinos came out to play, all the lions were sitting around our ranger vehicle (even had a faceoff with the dominant male who refused to get off the road)
2. When we returned from the evening safari, it was very very cold (4 degrees) and it was such a pleasant surprise to walk into our rooms and the sheets had been adjusted, the Aircon was set to a warm 28 degrees and 2 hot water bottles were on our bed ready and waiting!
3. While having our breakfast (their lodge has expansive rooms of the property), we could see a lot of animals coming and drinking from the watering hole (close to the dine area),so it was literally like dining in the wild and with the animals!
4. During the night, you can hear the animals in the background and the sky is full of stars , something you dont really see in the city!

there are other things like quad bikes etc, but we didnt really make use of it!

Room Tip: definitely choose the rooms facing the pools or the luxury chalets as they have un-obstructive views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amarshallsaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    91
    51
    32
    27
See reviews for
87
128
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Nice cozy place, the rooms were clean, people are nice and the game drives are also nice. A pace for family who dont want to rough it out as the animals are limited. The game drives will provide hot water bottle for cold days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Aquila in July. It was great, the staff was fantastic, the room was beautiful, the food was delicious and the trips through the reserve were amazing. Aquila is a private game reserve, so don't think it's the same as Kruger, it's not... but if you take it for what it is, you will have a fantastic time. The animals were wonderful and the rangers were very interactive and knowledgable. You want ALVIN as your ranger... he was just great, knowledgable, funny... you get a feeling that he's a good guy. The GM, Neil was a pleasure to meet and spend some time with.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissyJ768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The weather was wonderfully bright and sunny, but chilly. The Lodge is organised and we felt VERY welcome.. we were expected and greeted warmly. We went straight into lunch which was buffet and plentiful followed by a game drive. Our ranger was informative and we saw lots of game including hippo out of the water. We returned for fireside cappuccinos and a brief rest before dinner where we were entertained by a marimba female trio.. very good ! Buffet dinner was fine. Accommodation standard... breakfast BUSY ! followed by horseriding - 6 ladies who can't ride was quite funny ! we experienced a tiff between an elephant and a rhino which was a bit disturbing once we realised why they were fighting.( the male elephant wanted to mount the rhino female.) .. I foresee a problem here... anyway, it was a good experience all round and we enjoyed ourselves. !

Room Tip: I think the cottages are probably cosier for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have just returned from 10 days in Cape Town. We wanted to go on a safari as we had been to Kenya twice and loved the early drives and the looking out for animals.
We got picked up from our hotel on time and were greeted with a drink and a lovely setting . The first thing I spotted as I walked to the front of the lodge were 2 elephants strolling across the vista . Fantastic . We had a lovely lunch in a great lodge .We then went on a game drive on a Quad bike .and saw a Giraffe , Hippos , 2 buffalos ,Zebras , Springbox , and wildebeast. We had a game drive in the evening and the next morning but only saw the same animals . They only have 1 giraffe and 2 elephants . I hated seeing the lions in large penned areas ; They were fat and don't hunt so are just given carcasses. Our room was lovely but all overpriced for what is just a wander around a small area to see the same animals . 1 game drive would have been enough to see the animals as they seem to be in the same place and the food was very samey . No trees so we were not sure how the animals will survive in that environment . A nice day out as we were only in cape town but we wouldn't go again .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rugby2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upington, Northern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Arriving back home after spending the on safari with the Aquila-team, I can look back on a day that was absolute therapy and pure bliss!

I knew the day was going to be good when the driver turned up exactly on time for the arranged pick up. The drive to the reserve was pleasant and on arrival, on a freezing cold morning, we were welcomed with a nice sherry and a warm towel to break some of the cold.

After a delicious breakfast we got onto the vehicle for the game drive. While settling into our seats trying to shiver off the bite in the air, along came a gentleman, handing out a blanket and hot water bottle for each guest! We all agree that this was undoubtably the cherry on this amazing day!

The game drive was so much fun as our guide, Daniel, is clearly quite well informed and likes what he does. He shared some very interesting facts in a very quirky way. Ten out of ten to you Daniel, keep it up!

After the game drive and a visit to Animal Rescue Centre, we were treated to a very tasty, warm lunch and a quick tour of the facilities, before our driver, Chris, drove us back to Cape Town leaving us with a warm and relaxed feeling.

I will surely visit Aquila again gladly. A big thumbs up to the management and team of this gem in our tourism industry. And trust me that blanket and hot water bottle will not be forgotten!

Well done guys!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

What a wonderful adventure we had! The breakfast and lunch were splendid, served on a large wooden table, with an exotic decoration, so many different plates and desserts I lost the count, it was a feast for the eye and palate!
The pool and little villas where comfortable with standard rooms, the main attraction was the view and the Safari, we had such a great time watching all those free animals in their native environment. The tour guide was excellent and the experience worth the trip that included champagne. Cheers for the big five!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that face the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARIA LORRAINE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Karoo 1 - Hotel Village
#1 of 1 in De Doorns
48 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
955 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,689 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,242 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#41 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquila Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquila Private Game Reserve

Property: Aquila Private Game Reserve
Address: Route 46, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquila Private Game Reserve and Spa is a family-friendly, Big 5 safari destination just 2 hours' drive from Cape Town. Experience luxurious African hospitality with world-class facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your Aquila Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquila Private Game Reserve Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing