We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aquila Private Game Reserve
Reviewed June 15, 2013

It is a very good setting but totally over priced. The standard rooms are standard nothing more but you pay for 5 star. For what I paid I thought the staff would go the extra mile but at the end it was just average.

The buffet is the same every day. You get the feeling that they just wants to make money with as little effort as possible.

The game drive was good and herw they tried to make it comfortable for you with hot water bottles and blankets but being to other reserves in SA this was again a tourist trap to see the Big 5.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YourPartnerInTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 347 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

I choose to do a 1 day visit to Aquila because I was short on time. I am glad I did. It was great. I am unclear as to why other reviewers referred to it as a big zoo. Yes it's contained, but it's quite large and the animals roam freely. The lions are kept away from the other animals and across the road they have a enclosure for sick animals.
I would recommend it if you are short on time and would like to do safari. The guide was great. When I return to South Africa, I would probably do a longer trip though. It was quite fascinating and word really can't describe it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank windycityf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was, by far, the best adventure we had in Cape Town. We took a 1 day safari here and were able to see and interact with all of the Big 5 and more. Our bit of excitement was having our truck rammed by a Water Buffalo. Our guide Daniel was informative and fun. The stop in the middle for a glass of champagne was a great added touch. I would highly recommend this tour for everyone. We did not stay here. We stayed at the Waterfront.

Room Tip: The buffet could have been better quality. It would have been nice not to have to fight the birds fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank rositala1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Myself and my wife went away to Aquila for our 5 th wedding Anniversary to Aquila Private Game reserve, Wow what an amazing experience. From the front desk , the Rangers , the GM, the waitering staff and all involved it was amazing . Noyhing was too much to ask for the flowers they arranged for my wife , The Belguim Chocolates and Champagne That Mandi arranged , the special proteas they brought from Worcester for my wife, all of it with a smile . Thank You to Chef Wil Greyling and all the Catering staff for the Amazing food. The Crusted Lamb rack, the Buffet and the Salmon all amazing some of the best food I have had in a while , all in all an amazing experience THANK YOU TO ALL THE STAFF AT AQUILA PRIVATE GAME RESERVE.
Chris Cloete Project Manager Masterchef SA season 2

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KOOS38601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at Aquila, during a typical Cape cold front. We missed a couple of game drives due to the e clement weather but did get to see the rehabilitation centre in the pouring rain. The guide was very knowledgable and had established an uncanny relationship with a fully grown male leopard. All the cats where in good condition and are well cared for, hopefully they can be reintroduced to the park or to where they came from in good time. Our final day was clear and we did do a game drive, contrary to what I had read on this site by some other visitors, we found the experience entertaining and the guide very knowledgable. The park was full of Chinese nationals who do spend long periods hunting out wildlife, so the 7 thousand hectares was ample for them to see the wildlife and close range and photograph. Even in the rain the vans were equipped with plastic ponchos and blankets. The accommodation was five star as we stayed in a Chalet on the ridge and a fire was made for us each day. The restaurant was efficient and the food superb and varied. I found the service excellent without being noticeable, hovering around tables etc. All in all I would recommend to locals and foreigners alike.

Room Tip: Spend. Little extra and stay in one of the 6 Chalets available they are well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We – a family of 4 (2 adults + 2 children) – stayed at Aquila in April for 1 night.
The cottages: We had a family cottage, which was spacious and clean but with rather basic interior. The bathroom had a bath tub and an external shower; the latter may be nice in summer, but not in the cooler autumn months. Free wifi is available.
F&B: Breakfast, lunch and dinner are buffet style. The choices and quality were not spectacular, but acceptable for a one night stay.
Facilities: The pool was extremely cold and we saw no one using it. There is also a small (basic) play ground with a kind of jungle gym, which the children enjoyed.
The “safari”: I agree with previous reviews: It is not the wild and it is not a safari. Nevertheless, the children enjoyed the fact that they could see and got relatively close to the animals (especially the lions). We were a bit unfortunate with the weather as it was rainy and cold.
Staff: All staff was very friendly; nothing to complain here.
Overall verdict: If one looks for the true African safari experience, one will be very very (!) disappointed. If one, however, like us wants to show the children the big five in a safe, convenient and at least for the children more existing environment than going to a regular zoo, then it is absolutely okay. On the other hand, it is fairly pricy; and in my view too expensive for what is being offered.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dora_Boots_Swiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Ok so you are within a couple of miles of the main road through SA, but that makes absolutely no difference to the fantastic time you are about to have.
We were welcomed with champagne and shown to our chalet. Had a quick dip in the pool before our afternoon safari.
Our guide Daniel was fab, he was very knowledgeable and was happy to answer any questions we may have had. We manage to see all of the 'big 5' during our overnight stay plus so much more including the 'hospital' sanctuary over the road.
Overall great food, great service, amazing experience

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
95.5 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
95.0 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,285 reviews
95.2 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#24 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
96.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#82 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,016 reviews
95.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,565 reviews
95.8 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquila Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquila Private Game Reserve

Address: Route 46, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $157 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquila Private Game Reserve and Spa is a family-friendly, Big 5 safari destination just 2 hours' drive from Cape Town. Experience luxurious African hospitality with world-class facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aquila Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquila Private Game Reserve Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing