We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aquila Private Game Reserve
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We had an overnight stay at Aquila in Feb 2011. Unfortunately the advertising was way off what was provided and we found out later that the locals call it the 'tourist trap' and avoid it completely. The rooms were clean and tidy. The meals were provided via a buffet/canteen affair and there was no sign of the evening braai. the 'rangers' were not very communicative and just drove about pointing. Fantastically expensive and I would recommend that folks interested in visiting a game reserve should take a look at Londolozi or Phinda at a similar rate.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBr0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 355 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2011

I had a truly amazing time. Incredible animals, friendly staff this is an absolute gem. Would recommend it to any one looking for an enchanting walk on the wild side.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernest G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We spent two days with an overnight stay at Aquila in early December 2011. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the accommodation neat and clean, but I thought all in all it was very pricey. As one of only a very few places in close proximity to Cape Town (about 140 km) where the Big 5 can be seen outside of a zoo, this is worth a trip if you have no other similar opportunities. On the other hand, it does feel more like driving around on a friend’s farm than in a game reserve. Maybe I am sub- consciously comparing it to Etosha or Umfolozi, both of which are vast and wild and I have visited in the past.

The room we had was neat and clean, but the lack of aircon in 35 plus degrees is a bad idea. The fan added only cosmetic value! I think we had a “Standard” room. 4 Star establishment?

Game drives were pleasant and staff helpful, but we noticed inconsistency in the duration of drives and the information provided. Some were longer and more was seen, though I realise this is always to some degree dependent on the wildlife and not only ranger efforts. Cutting the 2 hour drive down to one and a half hours does however put you back in camp for 30 minutes while something may have been seen outside still. We did find the package, even with discounts, on the expensive side.

The dining room and 3 buffet meals a day are about as good as it gets. Plenty of variety and of a good standard I thought. All included in the package. All extras were very expensive (R15 for a can of Coke or bottled water!). There is a lovely and very welcome pool to cool off in and a pool bar close at hand. A bit disappointing was the offer of a Coke when asking for a cooler – I had a Hooch or Smirnoff Spin in mind.

The pleasant horseback trip through the reserve is worthwhile. The horses are very tame and tend to follow the leader without much rider intervention. Unless you are John Wayne, leave your camera in the room! Horseback photography is not a good idea.

All in all we had a great relaxing time in very pleasant surroundings, but the cost was really exorbitant if you ask me.

Room Tip: I noticed some rooms have a view from their verandas across the game fence which gives a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterSB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank baretmanue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquilaSafari, Public Relations Manager at Aquila Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Standart Cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Guenter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquilaSafari, Public Relations Manager at Aquila Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Johan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquila2016, Public Relations Manager at Aquila Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yvonnef683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquila2016, Public Relations Manager at Aquila Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
95.5 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,659 reviews
95.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,781 reviews
95.8 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
96.4 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#54 of 110 in Cape Town Central
376 reviews
95.0 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aquila Private Game Reserve
Aquila Private Game Reserve
#1 of 5 in Touwsrivier
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquila Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquila Private Game Reserve

Address: R46, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $152 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquila Private Game Reserve and Spa is a family-friendly, Big 5 safari destination just 2 hours' drive from Cape Town. Experience luxurious African hospitality with world-class facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aquila Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquila Private Game Reserve Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing